Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Err.....bro, this sort of thing...no sharing one. One fish that size no need say you, I makan also not enough. Hahahhahaha..... I think we must each catch one then enough to eat, haha... Will be there for weeks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 I know, and I'm going that way, catching your own food cannot but be more fun! I did it years before, even during my survival courses. You only open mouth chek niah, BBQ sit there makan, dowan, I go fishing and cook my own fish. Basket Skunk, make me damn hungry for Grouper now. Can smell bbq grouper, man........ :D Move to the US lor and hunt for your own bison Or fish for monster carps and toman in the rivers there I never say don't want - I just say my fishing skill is very rusty liao - could end up fasting for days before I catch anything...hahah Then again, isn't fasting good for us as well? Steaming the grouper is better - put ginger and pork lard (I am half teochew after all)...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Don't be stupid, hunt for bison, you want to get killed by the American Indians is it? It's protected game, (quality meat and not the regulary shitty ones they call BISON meat) and they only kill a certain amount every year. If you get to eat it, you wouldn't want to touch beef if you had access to Bison. Same with Ostrich meat. Then you think my fishing skills not rusty also meh? Worse off cannot catch, go market buy one big one bring home and say you caught it lor. Yes, steaming with plain old lard and ginger, ok lah, I baba, add some thinly sliced chilli can? Wah! Heaven man! I think tonight after gym, I'll go see if I can buy 2 for dinner. Move to the US lor and hunt for your own bison Or fish for monster carps and toman in the rivers there I never say don't want - I just say my fishing skill is very rusty liao - could end up fasting for days before I catch anything...hahah Then again, isn't fasting good for us as well? Steaming the grouper is better - put ginger and pork lard (I am half teochew after all)...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Then you think my fishing skills not rusty also meh? Worse off cannot catch, go market buy one big one bring home and say you caught it lor. just sharing my opinion, even though not related to diet or exercise LOL Even in today's polluted and over-fished waters, my "hit rate" is 2 fishing trips out of 3 i get something. Not always big big one, but something big enough for a small meal at least. And i'm no professional fisherman, just an obsessed recreational angler, using line and hook only. Those using net maybe 100% catch rate LOL That's why i reject the theory that Paleolithic Man was often starving. That's rubbish. 1 million years ago, human population was at most 100,000 worldwide, animals were running amok all over the place. Yes, they had to go hungry occasionally, because in those days no fridge, 24 hour NTUC or hawker centres, but at most it was that 3 to 5 hours before they caught something, be it a fish, bird or antelope. the small small ones very cute LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Nothing wrong with sharing, specially when it has to do with food, and in this case, FISH! Hahahhaa! 2 out of 3 aren't bad, it's fantastic! Paleolithic man didn't starve, it's either they had food or they were the food! For myself, even on my 6 meals a day, I was still hungry, and even if I had 24hrs kopitiam, 7-11 near buy, I never went in either, so no difference to me. How small, it's still a catch..........and basket, everytime I see this thread with your fish picture, it's making things worse... getting hungry and mouth watering more and more, thinking how I will cook the fish. No wonder CBS chow. [laugh] just sharing my opinion, even though not related to diet or exercise LOL Even in today's polluted and over-fished waters, my "hit rate" is 2 fishing trips out of 3 i get something. Not always big big one, but something big enough for a small meal at least. And i'm no professional fisherman, just an obsessed recreational angler, using line and hook only. Those using net maybe 100% catch rate LOL That's why i reject the theory that Paleolithic Man was often starving. That's rubbish. 1 million years ago, human population was at most 100,000 worldwide, animals were running amok all over the place. Yes, they had to go hungry occasionally, because in those days no fridge, 24 hour NTUC or hawker centres, but at most it was that 3 to 5 hours before they caught something, be it a fish, bird or antelope. the small small ones very cute LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 tempt u with one more LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 CURSES! Cannot go wrong, Scotch and fish........ lethal combination. [laugh] tempt u with one more LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Don't be stupid, hunt for bison, you want to get killed by the American Indians is it? It's protected game, (quality meat and not the regulary shitty ones they call BISON meat) and they only kill a certain amount every year. If you get to eat it, you wouldn't want to touch beef if you had access to Bison. Same with Ostrich meat. Then you think my fishing skills not rusty also meh? Worse off cannot catch, go market buy one big one bring home and say you caught it lor. Yes, steaming with plain old lard and ginger, ok lah, I baba, add some thinly sliced chilli can? Wah! Heaven man! I think tonight after gym, I'll go see if I can buy 2 for dinner. I thought we Asians look close enough to pass for American Indians? hahah Okay, hunt deer then Hmm...like that sounds like got to stand by a cooler box of fish and other meats liao...hahah Fishing is also about luck as well - sometimes no matter what, the fish will not bite Earlier this year, I went to fish prawns at Jurong Reptile Park - I was there like 2 hours and I caught over 1kg of prawns while 2 guys opposite me have been there for some time and they didn't manage to catch anything during the time I was there Ops, let out the red cut chili - I am also quarter a baba you know...hahah Will be making roast chicken tonight - got to utilize my new turbo broiler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 CURSES! Cannot go wrong, Scotch and fish........ lethal combination. [laugh] The best experience for me was freshly caught sotong sashimi with soy sauce at one kelong off Sibu...damn sweet the flesh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Fishing is also about luck as well - sometimes no matter what, the fish will not bite those are the times where Paleo-man would be hunting land animals instead LOL....they are anatomically modern humans, and would have the brains to understand on certain moon phases and tides, which days would be good to get the sea animals. Interestingly, i've found that generally, the days when the tide for fishing is bad, it is good for catching crabs hehe. from Punggol River Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Nice...hahah I used to go for paid crab fishing at East Coast (that was when they converted the old lagoon into a commercial fishing pond)...crab net plus bait provided On a good outing, I can easily catch >3kg of crabs in about 2 - 3 hours (around S$10/hour) They loaded the catchment area with Sri Lankan crabs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 The best experience for me was freshly caught sotong sashimi with soy sauce at one kelong off Sibu...damn sweet the flesh the M'sians didn't look at u funny? I did the same and they were horrified LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 the M'sians didn't look at u funny? I did the same and they were horrified LOL Actually no cos the rest of the kelong anglers were Singaporeans - guess they are used to our crazy ways liao...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 No need to hunt deer when we have venison here already. Don't play play, Bison is sort of scared to them also. I had some supply here in Singapore years ago, and then like all good things, it ended. Same with the damn ostrich meat. I guess why you caught 2kg and those clowns didn't. was cos you didn't fart like them. (carbs lor) So little prawns not scared away by loud loud noises. Baba, teochew, I think you more ChapPaLang. (joking) Is that the Akira one you told me about? Still haven't tried it out? I thought we Asians look close enough to pass for American Indians? hahah Okay, hunt deer then Hmm...like that sounds like got to stand by a cooler box of fish and other meats liao...hahah Fishing is also about luck as well - sometimes no matter what, the fish will not bite Earlier this year, I went to fish prawns at Jurong Reptile Park - I was there like 2 hours and I caught over 1kg of prawns while 2 guys opposite me have been there for some time and they didn't manage to catch anything during the time I was there Ops, let out the red cut chili - I am also quarter a baba you know...hahah Will be making roast chicken tonight - got to utilize my new turbo broiler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Narr...squid is not for me, Octopus, aka TAKO fresh is awesome. The best experience for me was freshly caught sotong sashimi with soy sauce at one kelong off Sibu...damn sweet the flesh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Basket! Nose bleed liow lah! those are the times where Paleo-man would be hunting land animals instead LOL....they are anatomically modern humans, and would have the brains to understand on certain moon phases and tides, which days would be good to get the sea animals. Interestingly, i've found that generally, the days when the tide for fishing is bad, it is good for catching crabs hehe. from Punggol River Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Skunk, you are the most paleo out of all of us man! You take the lifestyle to a new level... Looking good by the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahleon Neutral Newbie October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Why not rent a bumper boat from changi village jetty n go out sea fishing 1 whole day? Are they still there? I did that like 10 yrs ago...beer, sun n fishing! Everyone have around 10 fishes to bring home. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...