$3 Surcharge to enter RWS

hoho....the milking begun [:p][:p]

VISITORS to Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) will have to pay a premium to take a taxi from the integrated resort when it opens next week.

Four taxi companies have confirmed that they will impose a $3 surcharge for trips that begin at the IR.

Premier Taxis will be the first - it will start charging on Jan 18 - followed by SMRT on Jan 20 and Prime Taxis on Jan 28.

Trans-Cab will follow suit, but has not confirmed a start date. Smart Cabs said it will join in, if most of the other companies impose the surcharge.

The lone exception: ComfortDelgro, which is far and away the largest taxi company in Singapore.

The companies that are imposing the surcharge say they are doing it to ensure taxi drivers will find it worth their while to cross into Sentosa.

As if Resort World is located right in the northern tip of Sentosa....

From Vivo City to Resort World...not even more than a KM....or the most 1.5KM.

Sibeh crap excuse.

VISITORS to Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) will have to pay a premium to take a taxi from the integrated resort when it opens next week.

Four taxi companies have confirmed that they will impose a $3 surcharge for trips that begin at the IR.

Premier Taxis will be the first - it will start charging on Jan 18 - followed by SMRT on Jan 20 and Prime Taxis on Jan 28.

Trans-Cab will follow suit, but has not confirmed a start date. Smart Cabs said it will join in, if most of the other companies impose the surcharge.

The lone exception: ComfortDelgro, which is far and away the largest taxi company in Singapore.

The companies that are imposing the surcharge say they are doing it to ensure taxi drivers will find it worth their while to cross into Sentosa.

those who play/ won in casino, what is $3??

Turf club also have surcharge leh.

Very soon they will pick u up/drop u off at the main roads. Otherwise, they will impose surcharge if you insist that taxi goes into your housing estate. GREED GREED GREED!

As if Resort World is located right in the northern tip of Sentosa....

From Vivo City to Resort World...not even more than a KM....or the most 1.5KM.

Sibeh crap excuse.

Yeah, totally unreasonable! Unless they have to pay upfront to enter the island in the first place? [confused]

I guess if you want to save money, in the first place don't take a cab, or if you want to save $3, you can take the "free train" for 1 station to Vivocity taxi stand for a cab.

Obviously the taxi companies are targetting people who do not mind spending $3 more, why gripe? You all have a choice right?

Taxi go into Sentosa dun need to pay if got fare....passengers pay for the entry fee only.

Aiyah...nothing new lah. Singapore always like to overprice stuff and then shoot themselve in the foot.

I say local should get some sort of discount so that we can be repeated customers....tourist give so much also no use....chances they come again is lower than locals.

In M'sia...some places you go they produce their NRIC they get lower rates. In SG, the time when you need your NRIC is

1) Police spot check

2) borrow money from Ah Long.... :D :D :D

Old Turf Club at Bukiit Timah cos it jams bad on race day. New at Kranji is outta place....other than the race course, you have to drive all the way back to Bukit Panjang or Woodlands then might have fare....surcharge ok lah.

If you take fares to say Sentosa hotel near underwater world...a surcharge understand...but Resort World is like walk from Vivo also will reach !!

$3 surcharge is only from the casino or the whole island?

anyways, its a RESORT.... nobody is FORCED to go... they happen to charge $10 surcharge also everybody LL... its not like a place ppl NEED to go... $3 surcharge is NOTHING to have to even discuss about... [sleeping][sleeping][sleeping]

Old Turf Club at Bukiit Timah cos it jams bad on race day. New at Kranji is outta place....other than the race course, you have to drive all the way back to Bukit Panjang or Woodlands then might have fare....surcharge ok lah.

If you take fares to say Sentosa hotel near underwater world...a surcharge understand...but Resort World is like walk from Vivo also will reach !!

I still get pissed abt surcharge for booking even after 10 years...last time if call to book cab you get DISCOUNT, not whacked by extra charge...cabby all want your business. Here is [hur] must pay cabby for giving business? Not enough cabs just license more one what......