SUV vs Mini Van - The outcome

Mean76

Oh yes ... once in a while need to rant. But it's a harmless rant,

Then again thanks to this incident, came to realise how much I have really changed.

Stopped at the red traffic light at a junction turning right towards SLE(BKE) from YCK Road.

Beside me is a red Mini-Van who initially, has already given my CO a bad impression with the sudden brake

after he realised he couldn't beat the red light and braked hard besides her.

(Actually I already stopped at least 5 sec beforehand so I don't know why he can be thinking he can still beat the red light for the right turn.)

When the traffic light turns green to move but not our 'right-turn' light. The Van again mistook it and tried to sped. It jam-braked suddenly again when he realised that. I can already sensed that 2F2F mood in him. Our lanes of Toyotas, Nissans, Mitsubishis are destined to be this Van's follower it seems.

Waited for our turn and when the light turns green in our favour. Off we went. As I moved out first, then van sped up quickly to fill up the gap behind.

As the road begans to merge in front. The red mini van shows no signs of slowing down even though I was pretty much in front.

It came to a point where both our vehicles are close enough to crash side by side but I can see, he's not slowing down despite behind my vehicle.

Any further dash, I think both of us can eat the grass besides the pavement liao.

Sensing such ungentlemanly act, I slowed down a bit, just enough for the driver to squeeze past me before the road merge till too narrow for 2 vehicle.

I was faced with 2 scenerio:-

i) I can pick up my pace and 'cut' him into pieces at the main E'way.

ii) I suck thumb, let humble takes over me.

Need not say more, I chose the latter.

As I watched the red van mercilessly destroyed to pieces by other fast moving vehicle on the main E'way. I just couldn't stop smiling.

My CO sensed what I am thinking and blurt out loud, ... "aiya ... don't be a kid lah .... wana race for wat" .... :wub:

She is very right.

And I think I have grown up finally. Welcome to MCF uncles!!! [rolleyes]

i encountered the same situation as you last week, on the merging lane part. Crazy ass Getz just came at me from behind, I nearly mounted kerb just to avoid the a-----e.

if i were u, just need to throttle abit more, confirm ahead of that van in merging lane. there will be no way for that van to be side by side for some reason. once out in the eway, no need to race the van also smell smoke lah [smash]

Your post is very inspiring bro. [thumbsup]

I must learn to be more patient like you and I'm 10 years older than you (I guess).

My weakness is I'm an impatient driver although on the safe side but seriously I hate driving behind hoggers like vans, lorries, buses and those CMI drivers.

I want to take it slow and steady from now after reading your post.

Thanks for sharing!

actually, from what you describ.......its sounds to me that u should just press a little more, and be firmly infront of him, since u say u are already in front of him.

Its not childish or mature kind of thoughts here. As the driver, u should be able to access the situation. If u be firmly in front of him, then there is no way, he can even try to squeeze to near to u forcing u to mount curb by coming from the back.

What if u mis-judge his speed, or that u could not slow down fast enough for him to cut in?

I mean i am not present, but from what u describe, I would have just step a little harder and be firmly in front of him. Once into OPEN E way, he can speed all he wants and overtake u.

uncles live longer to tell their uncle tales and enjoy the fruits of their uncle labour. all the so called young hot "heroes" died years ago or have became uncles before their initial expiry date.

Kudos for helping our insurance stay at current levels.

As I age, I find myself less and less willing to chiong with these ppl (be it youngsters in their 'sports cars' or diesel turbo taxis) although I can probably do it. But reason for not doing it is simply should something happen, you r looking at:

1) Loss points/$/license if there is a white ant ard.

2) If there is an accident, you are probably looking at a couple of thousand easily? Not to mention loss of NCB, loss in value of ur car and in serious cases loss of life.

3) These ppl r obviously not using their brains, y u bother going down to their level.

In short, that few seconds of humble pie can save you hours of downtime, thousands of dollars and god knows how much heartache (u know when ppl start changing their stories to favour themselves).

And oh, you will probably see him again 1 traffic light down :D

But this is not a msg to encouage roadhogging! No matter wad speed you r going, if there is a faster car, give way!

So cheers and drive safe!

if i were u, just need to throttle abit more, confirm ahead of that van in merging lane. there will be no way for that van to be side by side for some reason. once out in the eway, no need to race the van also smell smoke lah [smash]

Hmm ... you have a point but it is not so fast for my vehicle to suddenly pick up pace. Terios is known to be slow in that. Bo pian. Furthermore, it's a gentle slope up. I am pretty surprised at the strength of the van as it matchs my pace in an instant.

Your post is very inspiring bro. [thumbsup]

Thanks Bro,

Credit must go to our COs, they made us realise that and I am still amazed why women can calm us down despite

most of us being the main bread+butter supplier. (So naturally we talk big words) but we men can be so 'little men'

when it comes to such stuffs. hahahaha ... anyway she is very right as I mentioned.

Well you see bro.

It's a merging lane so there are 2 lanes beforehand. He can cut in very much faster than I could maintain the pace.

I have to make a decision ... either I make the whole thing look ugly by picking up my pace, I am indirectly inviting him to have a race with me, which is not my intention. I probably won't go much faster than he will in open Eway anyway.

If I can ensure that the merging lane is within my calculation, I'll let him go first. No big deal and no love will be lost.

What's so difficult in beating a van?? But somehow I just stopped thinking that way. :D

Thanks Bro,

Credit must go to our COs, they made us realise that and I am still amazed why women can calm us down despite

most of us being the main bread+butter supplier. (So naturally we talk big words) but we men can be so 'little men'

when it comes to such stuffs. hahahaha ... anyway she is very right as I mentioned.

Well done bro...and welsome to the world of UNCLES [laugh][laugh]

Many times I can kui turbo but naaaah/.....i rather smell the flowers....no glory in winning such 'potential tree wrappers'

and yes, our COs have alwes been there to guide us and stop us from acting rashly [drivingcar]

Oh yes ... once in a while need to rant. But it's a harmless rant,

Then again thanks to this incident, came to realise how much I have really changed.

Stopped at the red traffic light at a junction turning right towards SLE(BKE) from YCK Road.

Beside me is a red Mini-Van who initially, has already given my CO a bad impression with the sudden brake

after he realised he couldn't beat the red light and braked hard besides her.

(Actually I already stopped at least 5 sec beforehand so I don't know why he can be thinking he can still beat the red light for the right turn.)

When the traffic light turns green to move but not our 'right-turn' light. The Van again mistook it and tried to sped. It jam-braked suddenly again when he realised that. I can already sensed that 2F2F mood in him. Our lanes of Toyotas, Nissans, Mitsubishis are destined to be this Van's follower it seems.

Waited for our turn and when the light turns green in our favour. Off we went. As I moved out first, then van sped up quickly to fill up the gap behind.

As the road begans to merge in front. The red mini van shows no signs of slowing down even though I was pretty much in front.

It came to a point where both our vehicles are close enough to crash side by side but I can see, he's not slowing down despite behind my vehicle.

Any further dash, I think both of us can eat the grass besides the pavement liao.

Sensing such ungentlemanly act, I slowed down a bit, just enough for the driver to squeeze past me before the road merge till too narrow for 2 vehicle.

I was faced with 2 scenerio:-

i) I can pick up my pace and 'cut' him into pieces at the main E'way.

ii) I suck thumb, let humble takes over me.

Need not say more, I chose the latter.

As I watched the red van mercilessly destroyed to pieces by other fast moving vehicle on the main E'way. I just couldn't stop smiling.

My CO sensed what I am thinking and blurt out loud, ... "aiya ... don't be a kid lah .... wana race for wat" .... :wub:

She is very right.

And I think I have grown up finally. Welcome to MCF uncles!!! [rolleyes]

Thanks for sharing. Very encouraging and inspiring. [thumbsup] In fact, I have been giving way and gracious on the roads as I grow older each year since a few years ago.

Can also clear some carbon along the way..... [drivingcar][sweatdrop]