If Ever Your Accelerator Jammed

Vidz

Its a tragic accident but could be avoided if the driver knows what to do.......

But then I will put the blame on car manufacturer instead cause such things should never happened....

if a trained highway patrol police officer cannot control the car, thats really a scary thought... [:|][sweatdrop]

Yes, actually I do expect a state trooper to be able to stay calm and know what to do. But then, ssuch things don't happened regularly.

May they RIP.....

but for older cars without rev cut, the surge may blow out the engine, right??

then again, life more important... ^_^

Yes, the engine may blow but rev limiter is present even on 20yr old cars so it should not happen.

Look on the bright side; if u drive a Toyota and kena TP speed cam, can always write appeal letter saying that ur gas pedal was stuck! [:p]

quite interesting... [laugh] [laugh]

Good one ...

I'm sure you got 90% chance of winning the case.

If lose than ask Toyota to compensate you lor. [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Melvinwcc

Read a tragic accident resulted from a jammed accelerator. Toyota/Lexus probably in deep trouble now...

http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story...205-196840.html

If ever your accelerator jammed:

- slammed on your brakes (there will be alot of smoke)

- stay calm

- put gear into Neutral (RPM will surge)

- turn off ignition

drive safe... [drivingcar]

after seeing this really very scary...

need to inform all the toyota driver i know...

most people may not know how to react in such situation. it all happens too fast and first time some more.

I agree. It's only natural that most people will panic when they're in such situation for the 1st time.

I actually am not sure if cutting the ignition off will help when the car is travelling at such speed and on a relatively busy road. A lot of things don't work when w engine is turned off eg. Brakes, ABS, steering, etc.

The best way should be depress ur brake pedal but not too hard.. put to neutral... Move to the side then switch off ignition.. The engine rev 4 a while nvm one.. Treat it as clear carbon lor...

Edited by Detion

Not a problem? my small car 2nd gear at rpm 6k aldy ~90km/hr.. Ur FD2 probably >100km/hr liao

Enough to be v dangerous in any road lo.....

rpm surge in neutral lah bro..the whole idea is when your accel pedal is stuck, put in neutral mah..

btw, my fd2 rev cuts at about 6500-7000rpm when engaged in gear.. when in neutral, it max out at 5000rpm..

Edited by Shull

I think the guy's brakes alreadi failed when he tried to go against the acceleration by breaking.. maybe overheated or sth..

Really scary if neutral doesnt work. pull handbreak nth happen.. step on breaks nth happen.. and no manual ignition..

I will be scared to death..

May they RIP..

I better go check my driver's side floor mat and make sure it is totally below the accelerator.

But... I never fully depress my accelerator paddle when driving so I should not worry too much [:p]

Read a tragic accident resulted from a jammed accelerator. Toyota/Lexus probably in deep trouble now...

http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story...205-196840.html

If ever your accelerator jammed:

- slammed on your brakes (there will be alot of smoke)

- stay calm

- put gear into Neutral (RPM will surge)

- turn off ignition

drive safe... [drivingcar]

They sound really calm on the tape