Kia Picanto Reliability

Nicholassoong

Yup, i planning to get a check list ready. And wonder if there is any mechanic that i can bring the car to for a check before i buy it?

bring it to STA.

Hi guys,

im new here. currently sending my car to the scrapyard soon. been looking around.

realised that picanto and savvy both draw very positive reviews. However I've yet to find a direct side by side comparison.

both are in the same price range. reliability seems just as good too.

may i knnow which is cheaper to maintain and has better fc? also, which in general is more value for money. could say im a leisure type of driver. for work and school. Point A to Point B. Never above 100kph.

looking forward to some advice from all the bros and sis here.

Thanks! [:)]

Thinking of getting either a used Picato or a used Kelisa... I've been living in Seoul for 5 years now and I always liked the Picato (called Morning in Korea)... But the Kelisa looks funky.. I'm originally from California and we don't get to see these little cars in the US.. especially the Malaysian ones... I'm assuming that the Picato is prolly a better buy.. I heard it has the lowest depreciation in the UK and was voted as one of the most reliable.. but I figure the Kelisa is cheaper to buy and cheaper to maintain considering the proximity to Malaysia... Prolly not the best to ask this on the Korean car forums but just wondering what everyone thoguht

Vote: Picanto

Picato will be the right choice, I own one 2 years, extremely good fc up to 15km/l in urban driving, and zero defect in past 2 years even if I'm lazy to pay any extraa care except regular AD servicing, sometimes back itchy crossed strait to NSH and tried 150km/h also not floaty, but a bit noisy [:p]

btw, my rim 175/60/r14

My vote:

2k take home = pica.

Its just your 1st car... if u follow ppl go buy mij, then u will just go into the cycle of loan loan loan...

rather u get a 20k + pica and cash it. Nxt time drive something nicer.

Additional:

Also, if ur job got prob, now coe so high, just sell it and look for another job... ~clean slate~ Else u will go job hunting and still need to pay your car installments, even if u sell car also kena few k interest to bank..

Edited by Windchoco

Just curious before i sign the dotted line.. Kia Picanto - for 5 adults i know can sit comfortably because i tried the back seat before, quite spacious. But being 1.1(A) does it have the power even if we do step on e pedal. Will the engine roar like it is dying. Anyone tried driving 5 pax to genting before?

I sat in my friend's picanto before.

Yes it can tahan 5 adults,

But no power for pickup,

meaning slow when loaded 5 adults.

Yes it might roar depend on how you rev it.

Tried Spark?

Unless you want a more powerful car.

I think min. capacity for engine should be at least 1.3L and above.

The next few alternative is car good enough for power.

1.3L Fit(76900),

1.3L Siron(64800)

1.4L Rio (66999)

1.4L Aveo5 (64999)

with reference with sgcarmart price @ 2 aug 2010.

But at glance, you can tell Fit is overpriced.

I rather go for Aveo5 or Rio in this case.

Isn't spark lower CC than picanto?? Hhmm. I was thinking about MYVI / VIVA / PICANTO. Seems like PICANTO is more value for money. After CPF my take home is only around 2k+. So it is mainly just point A - point B. Most of the time is 1 pax only, once in a while is 2 pax, very seldom then might have 4-5 pax in the car. Company parking and home parking free. Outside parking and ERP can claim. So therefore cars like jazz / swifts / aveo are not in my budget.

I sat in my friend's picanto before.

Yes it can tahan 5 adults,

But no power for pickup,

meaning slow when loaded 5 adults.

Yes it might roar depend on how you rev it.

Tried Spark?

Unless you want a more powerful car.

I think min. capacity for engine should be at least 1.3L and above.

The next few alternative is car good enough for power.

1.3L Fit(76900),

1.3L Siron(64800)

1.4L Rio (66999)

1.4L Aveo5 (64999)

with reference with sgcarmart price @ 2 aug 2010.

But at glance, you can tell Fit is overpriced.

I rather go for Aveo5 or Rio in this case.

Sirion is the cheapest and MIJ and yet nobody wants. :D

Just pure luck that's all...

At least you got to walk out of the car alive...

Not everyone like you have the luck to walk out of the car alive in other make...

If you are really concern of your cheap car,

you can always pay more to get a volvo or something.

:P

very well said brother...

Alright!! Kia Picanto ftw~! Seems like MYVI/VIVA also not as nice and affordable as a Picanto.. Lol...

Perodua = KNS car.

Personally opinion.

Claim to share Dahaitsu's engine,

but the drive feel is bad,

I drive kia, imagine how bad it is.

But....

PICANTO GOT

NO AIR BAG!!!!

NO ABS!!!

I will not pick Perodua,

I will not pick Picanto either.

I recommend Lancer MR now.

Picanto 1.1A (62999) vs Lancer MR 1.6A (65988)

it is 3k more.

LancerMR

better performance,

better features,

better value for money concept,

more spacious,

more stylish,

have ABS,

have Air bag

have fullbodykit,

3k more only.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...;Submit=Replace

Forte EX1.6A too expensive now.

Avante 1.6A is also expensive.

You seriously got to consider LancerMR 1.6A,

I swear, LancerMR is the best deal now.

well, at least to me.

Edited by Sohboonguan

Isn't spark lower CC than picanto?? Hhmm. I was thinking about MYVI / VIVA / PICANTO. Seems like PICANTO is more value for money. After CPF my take home is only around 2k+. So it is mainly just point A - point B. Most of the time is 1 pax only, once in a while is 2 pax, very seldom then might have 4-5 pax in the car. Company parking and home parking free. Outside parking and ERP can claim. So therefore cars like jazz / swifts / aveo are not in my budget.

if u look at the vehicle details from lta, the max. laden weight is 1350kg. minus the 852kg of the car, it is ~500kg.

i think u can feel the weight (u have to step more) if it's more than 300kg, but it still can pick up reasonably.