Tomika Auto Air Con

Fcw75

My aircon experienced whirling rattling sound coming from engine bay when it is turn on. Went to tomika UBI today at 0930hrs, a young guy and a old man checked and said it was Radiator Fan motor spoilt, causing the rattling sound. Damaged is 3hrs and $310 included gst. Warrenty is 1 mth. Oh, and 1 skinny uncle said he topped up aircon gas also, foc. Overall attitude still okay, but price wise not sure if it's steep anot.

Kim aircon is just a few shops down. Could have get another quote before repair.

Anyway,it's done up already so don't bother oready.

Kim aircon is just a few shops down. Could have get another quote before repair.

Anyway,it's done up already so don't bother oready.

yup, Kim's not bad. I just sent my ride in and they simply did some checks and tighten the belts....all these FOC.

I tried both Tomikas before too....but I will prefer to send my ride to Kim is all I have to say.

the pricing is abit steep

i had my raditator fan replaced at 100 bucks including labour...

I never read the earlier post on Kim. [mad]

Although the rattling sound is gone, but now my aircon panel will have "shh shh shh" sound coming out. Even i OFF the aircon it still have this sound. Think i have to go back Tomika to check again.

cost diff could be due to diff car / quailty / workmanship

Update:

Well, drove down to Tomika at Ubi...spoke to Mr Lee (or Mr Li) about my problem with the problematic relay..and I got my refund back for that relay.

Although he did mention that my car was the first to have a reported a fault on a brand new relay....oh well, my luck I guess...

Paid additional $$ to rectify a problem that was supposed to be fixed...sheesh!

On a fair note, there was no fuss in the refund procedure...gentleman talk to identify the problem and he did say that the faulty Denso Relay will be sent back for checks. Ultimately, you just want a 100% working car...

A terrible experience, not with Tomika, but with the suey-ness, but I learnt alot about car components...lol!!

Good luck!

Reading tru some posts....seems like a lot of funny things happen at toy mika. [pirate]

I doubt i wil b going there fr any repairs. [:/]

Got back $25.. For the relay...everything else were unchanged... My latch still needed to change...well, could have gotten back some GST or even labour, since less one item....

But nah...wanna close the chapter fast... Lol

Hahaha. Money not well spent i think? [:/]

Ya last time my hyundai change ac fan also abt $100 only....incl labour.

And 1time get 2nd hand fm scrapyard fr toyota abt $40 incl labour.

How much time you think they will need to service my aircon? Aircon was cold initially and then coldness gone and come back again which keep repeating.

If u go tomiko, be prepared to leave your car there for at least 4-5 hrs as they are always packed...

Hi peeps,

I sent my car to Tomika for change of Air-con filter recently.

Prior to that, I sent to the authorised agent of Nissan, Tan Chong as my air-con was not cold. Tan Chong told me they would charge me SGD$80 for just a diagnosis on the condition without any repairs done. It might be just pumping additional gas but I would need to pay the $80. I was very angry and was asking around for help. A friend recommended me to Tomika.

The mechanic advised me to change the entire filter, telling me my filter was very old and worn out (been driving the car for the past 5 years). The filter brought from Japan and helped to keep the air in the car clean so kids will not fall sick easily. I was very impressed with the mechanic who would patiently explained the details and weighed the pros and cons for me, especially a lady who was not so well-versed in such technicalities.

The entire change, with the additional air-gas cost us about $700, excluding GST. Downtime was half a day.

I have been recommending friends to the shop and all of them emerged as Happy Customers.

Do try them out.

Happy Customer:-)

Hi peeps,

Prior to that, I sent to the authorised agent of Nissan, Tan Chong as my air-con was not cold. Tan Chong told me they would charge me SGD$80 for just a diagnosis on the condition without any repairs done. It might be just pumping additional gas but I would need to pay the $80. I was very angry and was asking around for help. A friend recommended me to Tomika.

The mechanic advised me to change the entire filter, telling me my filter was very old and worn out (been driving the car for the past 5 years). The filter brought from Japan and helped to keep the air in the car clean so kids will not fall sick easily. I was very impressed with the mechanic who would patiently explained the details and weighed the pros and cons for me, especially a lady who was not so well-versed in such technicalities.

The entire change, with the additional air-gas cost us about $700, excluding GST. Downtime was half a day.

I have been recommending friends to the shop and all of them emerged as Happy Customers.

Do try them out.

Typo error? $700 spent for aircon filter and gas is crazy.lol

Anyway, half a day just to change air con filter and topping aircon gas is quite a long wait.

I would recommend markcool, ah huat. Cheaper, faster and friendly:D

Edited by Sky_79

wah the aircon filter and gas made of what? $700??? kena carrot big time. I believe is type. maybe she dunno how to express the part just say air con filter.

Do you mean cooling coil ? But cooling coil usually takes more than half a day to replace, if it is inside the dashboard....

[confused]

Hi peeps,

New user first post recommend workshop liao. Not credible at all. [thumbsdown]