Nimm12 Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 (edited) things like these made me feel i need to apologise to my kids for having them born here. papa is sorry, kids. like the rest of your peers, you probably have to slog for the rest of your life to stay afloat on this plastic island. forgive papa for not considering better alternatives when mama was pregnant with you. dont blame yourself, just migrate elsewhere Edited March 25, 2010 by Nimm12 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 does anyone think this is just a supply shock and things will die down after the period of 'adjustment' is over, and the system is fully engaged in the new formula based on actual deregs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 hmmm..if we took a loan on a used car a year ago now can mark up selling price to cover our interest losses ah..haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 yes, a 2.0L CRV selling for asking price 68k, price cut to 66k asking... now asking72k Kewl - I happy happy like pig in mud! Maybe now I not so far underwater Anyway, just to be an arsewipe - I doubt I will buy another car, by the time my COE expire I will be ready to fly the coop...and buy a REAL car back home.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 Highest COE ever for car was $110,500 in Nov 1994. i think is $110k in 1994. correct me if i'm wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 does anyone think this is just a supply shock and things will die down after the period of 'adjustment' is over, and the system is fully engaged in the new formula based on actual deregs? if car prices are so high, there will be even fewer deregs as more people hang on to their cars = even tighter COE supplies = car price even higher = even few deregs = even tigher COE supplies = car price even higher = = = [crazy] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 if car prices are so high, there will be even fewer deregs as more people hang on to their cars = even tighter COE supplies = car price even higher = even few deregs = even tigher COE supplies = car price even higher = = = [crazy] Then 2nd hand dealers will cry "Ah Gong, pls help us. We have no car to sell. We are so stupid and short sighted to ask u to cut COE during last year's crisis. Ah gong wan xui" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobydoo Neutral Newbie March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 Used car dealers are definately the 2nd biggest winners, after Gov of course. AD, especially those sellling bread & buttur cars, must be sian half way now. AD like Hong Seh shouldn't be losing sleep though. Why Hong Seh won't lose sleep? Maserati and Spyker not that hot-selling anyway, even if COE doesn't affect this level of cars that much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 based on the 90s experience... toyota corona 1.6 @ $120k also got ppl buy... so if COE still back to the $45k peak again... still gt demand one... That depends on stock market performance too. I remember when the stockmarket crashed badly in 1997/8, a lot of cars suddenly disappeared from my carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 Yep, already in the papers front page today! Dealers will up their prices by $5k - $7k on their existing stock of cars. It's a sellers' market now, so those planning to sell can hold out for mo money from the buyer The papers also reported that if you bought a Toyota Wish in '07 for $62k, you can sell it today for $62k...NO depreciation! Really meh?? If the owner can sell at 50k can already laugh until teeth drop liao. I believed only the 2nd hand car dealer is greedy enough to do that but they buy their 2nd hand '07 Wish at below 40k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accord2LJDM Neutral Newbie March 29, 2010 Share March 29, 2010 Anyone interested to buy/rent a 2007 Honda accord? Rent looking at 1500/month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 you sell high you buy high... same for properties too... to some people, not worth the change, to others having more than 2 cars at home, or don't see the need for their cars now, they will choose to sell their cars now for profit lor... haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manu27 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 nice one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermes_1 Neutral Newbie August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Hey bros & sis, Sorry to dig up an old thread. I'm confused as now the Coe is so high, the AD are telling me the resale value of my new car will also be high in the future due to high parf and Coe. Is this true? If that's the case, let's say in the next 4-5yrs, the Coe drops to rock bottom. Which 2nd hand dealer will be so dumb to buy my high Coe car and gives me at a higher price compare to market? Pls advice. Thks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galliano Neutral Newbie August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 (edited) Hey bros & sis, Sorry to dig up an old thread. I'm confused as now the Coe is so high, the AD are telling me the resale value of my new car will also be high in the future due to high parf and Coe. Is this true? If that's the case, let's say in the next 4-5yrs, the Coe drops to rock bottom. Which 2nd hand dealer will be so dumb to buy my high Coe car and gives me at a higher price compare to market? Pls advice. Thks! Was in the same dilemma as you last month (before i eventually setled for a 6yr old E200). 1. During these period, buy a car only if you need it. Car prices (new/used) is high now due to the COE. And honestly speaking, nobody knows for sure if COE is gonna mantain or increase further. I doubt if it'll go back to the $20-30K zone for Cat A. Its a cycle. You just need to ride the wave at the right time. 2. COE is just a peice of paper. If you buy it high, means your depreciation drops more each year. It reduces slowly to $0 after 10 years. I believe it would be very hard to sell your car in 4-5yrs time IF the COE dips back to $20-30k zones. 3. What is valuable to a car is the OMV and this figure is dependant on when you buy the car. Buy cars with high OMV in order to reduce the depreciation. My 6yr old Merc has an OMV of $57k whereas a new Merc is $37k. I hope I'm right to comment this way. Edited August 18, 2011 by Galliano Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Hey bros & sis, Sorry to dig up an old thread. I'm confused as now the Coe is so high, the AD are telling me the resale value of my new car will also be high in the future due to high parf and Coe. Is this true? If that's the case, let's say in the next 4-5yrs, the Coe drops to rock bottom. Which 2nd hand dealer will be so dumb to buy my high Coe car and gives me at a higher price compare to market? Pls advice. Thks! If you buy the car now, say COE for a 1.6L car at $45k, and COE in 4-5yrs time drops to rock bottom, say $15-20k or even lower, used car sales will take a toll, for people buying a car would rather go the brand new route. High COE's only contribute to the higher deregister values. Whether or not the car will have the actual resale value in the future, really depends on the COE market then. =) Hope it answers your queries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Was in the same dilemma as you last month (before i eventually setled for a 6yr old E200). 1. During these period, buy a car only if you need it. Car prices (new/used) is high now due to the COE. And honestly speaking, nobody knows for sure if COE is gonna mantain or increase further. I doubt if it'll go back to the $20-30K zone for Cat A. Its a cycle. You just need to ride the wave at the right time. 2. COE is just a peice of paper. If you buy it high, means your depreciation drops more each year. It reduces slowly to $0 after 10 years. I believe it would be very hard to sell your car in 4-5yrs time IF the COE dips back to $20-30k zones. 3. What is valuable to a car is the OMV and this figure is dependant on when you buy the car. Buy cars with high OMV in order to reduce the depreciation. My 6yr old Merc has an OMV of $57k whereas a new Merc is $37k. I hope I'm right to comment this way. Higher OMV is good only if you are looking at 2 cars priced similar with differing OMV values. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galliano Neutral Newbie August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Higher OMV is good only if you are looking at 2 cars priced similar with differing OMV values. Agree, but for a buyer who is does not mind a 2nd hand car, the original price of the car back then does not matter to him. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...