Sony 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 yea definitely not ignorance i do not deny that its a very simple case and it can be that way. however, is BM going the extra mile to help its customers with a middle solution? Arent they just hiding behind their T&Cs? but how do you know that they didn't? frankly, it's the same few or maybe 1-2 internet hero here stating their unhappiness.. but you do see BM registering cars, so they are still doing their sales, and out of these, how many are those which are not within their extra mile or those which they have suffer loses.. is there real story that they didn't go the extra mile? to be fair, there's hardly any facts to back up that they are high hand. Topping up for COE is a common practise even before the quota is cut. I'm surprised that you can go as far as US to do comparison. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Basically the point we are trying to make it simply that BM took in more orders than it could fulfill....BM knew about the quota cuts but chose to keep on taking in orders....this is very unethical.... The CNY promotion was essentially a gimmick to draw in customers...they had no intention of fulfilling ALL the contracts..proof? Look at the number of dis-satisfied customers.... They took in order which they tot they can fullfil. but the change in COE quota cause them not able to execute what they want. since you said it's a gimmick, then you fall for it? now that you are one of the few that didn't gain out of it, you slam them upside down. so how many have been fulfil? number of dissatified customers? you ask me, there's only that few of you.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 yea definitely not ignorance i do not deny that its a very simple case and it can be that way. however, is BM going the extra mile to help its customers with a middle solution? Arent they just hiding behind their T&Cs? why should they ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Agree with Sling, I am a first timer on this forum and kenna a lot of flaming and insults and angry remarks thrown at me......but I realise this comes from a small minority.... Now I understand why nobody uses their real names like I have....*sigh* Flamers and insults comes from every Forum you join. Don't take it serious. Afterall, we all want to have some Altered EGO to become someone we are not in the real world. Have been driving since 1989 and changed so many cars, good and bad, met so many AD/PIs, good and bad too. You just have to be Prudent. I have followed this episode and find all the explanations our MCF brudders are justified though they are a tad too much in hurling the insults at you. But like I said, its a forum... Making this Thread with the most posts - I think 70% insults 25% Ke Lian you 5% suppork you. Therefore, I think you'd better go to your lawyer to see whether you can fight for your justice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 unfortunately for us consumers, who drafts the contracts what did CASE boss say about contracts ? but you can chose not to sign, get your own COE and buy the car without their COE package.. but then, people want the package to take the 6k discount.. want cheap, want good. It's the same with any promo, there's also T&C, you don't want it, you can go elsewhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 are you part of fedup-camry or camry-fedup? ok, now guess the next nic.. would it be fed-fed, up-up or fedup-fedup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewlai Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 Hi Tigerwoods, From your reply I can see you are a reasonable and nice guy. My question is this how come the complaints are mainly against Borneo? Are Borneo Motors customers being particularly unreasonable? How come there are no complaints against Tan Cheong or Komoco? Yes we agree that non-guarateed means non-guaranteed...but if 50% of customers are not able to get their cars...I think something is seriously wrong with the way Borneo is doing business....and also shameful...Borneo is supposed to have a good reputation... Yes we are indeed the vocal minority...most people just accept it and move on...perhaps we are expecting too much of the dealer.... Thanks for your support Bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewlai Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 No lah...70% insult is too much more like 10%...but this small number is enough to hurt my feelings already.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 About doing your homework............ Yes you are right that the car buyer needs to do homework. The homework the average car buyer does is to shop around different brands. Look at the different prices, specs etc Most un-suspecting car buyers will not come into MCF to read about the possible loopholes in Sales Contracts especially when they are buying from an AD. There hasn't even been much talk on MCF on this topic until now. The amount and the ferocity of the flaming of disgruntled customers surprise me. It's probably a bit too much to be a co-incidence. I wonder about the hidden agenda of some of the people here. Such is the danger of an internet forum such is the marvel of internet forum that people like you start coming in to flame your own agenda and that the usual people here that congregate to talk about cars start getting labelled by people with hidden agenda to be SEs or related to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 No lah...70% insult is too much more like 10%...but this small number is enough to hurt my feelings already.... I'm glad that they, or maybe WE have hurt you enough for you to learn well. if that is really the case there's still plenty that come and read and don't bother to lift a finger to type and explain things.. you want to sue the passerby as well coz they are also giggling behind their monitor frankly, everyone started with good intention but your selective attitude turn the goodwill into a joke for the thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 About doing your homework............ Yes you are right that the car buyer needs to do homework. The homework the average car buyer does is to shop around different brands. Look at the different prices, specs etc Most un-suspecting car buyers will not come into MCF to read about the possible loopholes in Sales Contracts especially when they are buying from an AD. There hasn't even been much talk on MCF on this topic until now. The amount and the ferocity of the flaming of disgruntled customers surprise me. It's probably a bit too much to be a co-incidence. I wonder about the hidden agenda of some of the people here. Such is the danger of an internet forum Erm, what loopholes are you talking about? It's clear as day that you chose to gamble on a non-guaranteed COE package... And when things don't go your way, you cry foul about loopholes and hidden agendas Anyway, I think a lot of people got golden mouth - maybe these people want to act smart hence they keep quiet when they come across things that they don't understand... In the end, who loses out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 such is the marvel of internet forum that people like you start coming in to flame your own agenda and that the usual people here that congregate to talk about cars start getting labelled by people with hidden agenda to be SEs or related to them. Amen...hahahah Who's the one with an agenda? And to them, it's "either you are with me, or you are SE" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 I see people making insulting remarks at disgruntled customers etc. I have yet to see anyone calling Tan Chong Motors stupid for doing a "charitable business" If your numbers are accurate, TCM deserves praise for delivering their cars with COE's priced at 28K & taking the loss. They are honourable business men indeed Because it is part of a marketing strategy called "market share grab" but in all likelihood, it is just opportunistic move and cannot be sustained... Why don't you bring your sob story to TCM and see if they would sympathesize with you and give you a free car or not? Our critics can curse at us all they want about non-guaranteed packages, whether SE's promises are reliable, whether we are unreasonable etc but it's pointless relying on those same old tired arguments. It's too obvious that BM could have done things differently, could have done things better. Life is never fair - sometimes we do get lemons... But are we going to be bitter about it? Nope, the more optimistic ones would use them to make lemonades... If I read the situation correctly... We did sympathesize with you guys at first but the tirade has become so tedious that it has turned us - the neutrals - into thinking and feeling that you guys are nothing but sore losers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yawjuan Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Hi Andrew, We spoke in our last thread about this and I know where you are coming from as I had exactly the same experience with Mazda in 2002. Honestly, you just have to move on nothing you do in this thread or take legal means can get you the car at that promotional price. On hindsight, it is always easier to say "if only I have topped up another $1,000 to guarantee my COE" but what's done cannot be undone. Being Singaporeans we are faced with constant changes and every big ticket item we need to be very savvy remember there is no free lunch. By doing our homework we are less likely to end up in an undesirable situation. Bear in mind, cars in Singapore has a paper lifespan of 10 years so be it a Japanese, Korean or Contintental made, the car in theory don't belong to you after 10 years unless you renew COE again. Move on and who knows what will happen in the next few bids. Every dog has its day just matter of timing. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 I got my car at a price I am satisy with, not as low as compare to if I have got it half a year ago but good enough, as I know thee will be a further cut in COE in Apr, as it was already annouced. In fact from when I get the car to Dec, the AD keep having promotion and the price of the model of my car is cheaper by a few K with higher COE value. Yes agree. The smarter and/or more street-smart ones would have done their homework, read the LTA websites and newspapers and would have fully comprehended (as early as in 2H 2009) the imminent impact of COE quota cuts by 2Q 2010 and its associated ramifications. If there was any need to buy a car, or trade-up their existing one(s), these people would already have done that by year-end 2009. Those that miss the boat should not have any reason to KPKB here. They have the whole of 2H 2009 to read, understand and react, but did not. Too bad, I say. I bought a new car and also traded in my then-current car for a second new car, both in 4Q 2009. Now I can choose to sell one at a tidy profit and revert back to just one car (my wife drives her own car, our third). Its all about situational awareness. You don't have it in business, or in the real world, you will keep on losing big time in life! Why start banging tables only in hind sight? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Hi Tigerwoods, From your reply I can see you are a reasonable and nice guy. My question is this how come the complaints are mainly against Borneo? Are Borneo Motors customers being particularly unreasonable? How come there are no complaints against Tan Cheong or Komoco? Yes we agree that non-guarateed means non-guaranteed...but if 50% of customers are not able to get their cars...I think something is seriously wrong with the way Borneo is doing business....and also shameful...Borneo is supposed to have a good reputation... Yes we are indeed the vocal minority...most people just accept it and move on...perhaps we are expecting too much of the dealer.... Thanks for your support Bro! Andrew, Eventually what do you want to achieve from this forum ? You got my sympathy. I can only judge that BM being the biggest AD in Spore, might have Bitten Off More then he could Chew (BOMTHCC) Look at the facts : 1. Toyota got alot of flak from recent recalls. 2. BM, gave discounts to draw back customers. 3. The deal worked too well = they have BOMTHCC. 4. Probably at the rate the COE goes up (which they cannot control by the way) they could not deliver a car to everyone who booked 5. The 1st in line are buyers like you - Non-Guaranteed COE. If I were to make a biz decision - this is it too. 6. With so many orders - they probably don't have enough $$ to bid for every car in every single BID exercise. 7. I think this round BM suffered some degree of $ damage... Other AD - their Nos. are smaller than BM - they can absorb the loss $ for a few cars. This scenario is not exclusive to Car agents but EVERY Industry. My industry - same problems too. So Andrew - it does not matter anymore - go book with a reputable AD/PI. Hope you learn a lesson in buying a Car. I have Never, Ever signed a car deal that says Non-G. It only shows you can't afford it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 That's right Cerano......that's the point I'm trying to make.....how come people still don't get it? 2. However, did BM fulfil its duty as a respected AD? contractually speaking yes but ethically speaking? NO. I don't know the internal working of BM. But if their SOP is they will wait till your car is arriving then bid kind of AD, ie skip first few bidding. last few then bid becos your car is arriving, then its normal. Can't say they are unethical. But if they do it this way for those 6k discount cars, then unethical. But through reading MCF before buying, I learn 1 thing many years ago. COE can fluctuate wildly, don't commit to a car with long waiting time w/o some sort of guaranteed to protect your ($$) interest (rebates or guaranteed). MCF members provided enough info on what to expect and helped me in my process of buying cars. i went for non guaranteed knowingly that i may not get a car So, sometimes I do feel fed up with all the whining. We are all adults who are smart enough to earn $$ to buy a car. then we should be very wary about the contracts we sign and how each AD approach the COE bidding. We should the very least owe it to our self to understand this business dealing we are doing. especiall knn, the deal is in Ks not hundereds. e.g. Just the other day, some1 though AD pay for COE the amt they bid and not and the COE price. some may say AD should be more customer oriented. Wake Up! Stop being naive. Business is not charity. my tone maybe condescending to some. But i expected more from PMETs to do their own DD. which is why i started the thread after the 1st wave of whiners. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&...t&p=3093694 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 but how do you know that they didn't? frankly, it's the same few or maybe 1-2 internet hero here stating their unhappiness.. but you do see BM registering cars, so they are still doing their sales, and out of these, how many are those which are not within their extra mile or those which they have suffer loses.. is there real story that they didn't go the extra mile? to be fair, there's hardly any facts to back up that they are high hand. Topping up for COE is a common practise even before the quota is cut. I'm surprised that you can go as far as US to do comparison. Going by their story then definitely BM did not go the extra mile but merely tried to satisfy its contractual obligations. its a well-known fact that Singapore lags behind developed nations in customer rights and service. The top-up is not a compromise. Its more of a "take it or leave it" kind of thing. I may not agree with Sling and Andrew entirely on their arguements but I am firmly against the idea of companies with this kind of #&$&ed up attitude. after all, who's paying? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...