How do i know the actual RON fuel that i am pumping?

Actually TS has valid point to worry. We're too believe in supplier claim. If one day someone really do a lab test and state that 92 is only 91, 95 is only 94, how will drivers react?

somehow it just crossed my mind when i was refilling myself.

while waiting, i was thinking how do i know if i am pumping the real thing?

- you can't see the fuel going in, even if so, all petrol looks the same.

- you can't drink it and taste the difference(not like coke and pepsi above which both have their own distinctive taste)

You sure you can taste the difference between Coke and Pepsi?! [laugh]

On a more serious note, do you know that the Coke in different countries taste differently and also even within same country the different batches taste differently? [laugh]

Hell i dun even know what is the lowest grade my Sonata NF can drink.

i dont have the manual book and RON ratings is not indicating in the car.

So i just pump RON95. So far for 2 years the engine didnt die on me. So i think its ok bah. [laugh]

normally when pumping at petrol station, you will just see the label at the pump and just fill up.

so how do i know the RON98 that i am pumping is the actual RON 98 and not some lower grade fuel?

:D Thanks. Actually I am not trying to diss him off. What I am trying to say is life here is too stressful liao. This kind of kuching kurap thing don't have to worry so much. There are a thousand more important things to worry about.

As I said, best option is to pump 92 and who knows, they might have added 98 or 95 into the 92 storage tank! [:p]

And please don't smell the petrol, I hope the bro that said it is kidding. Can cause cancer.

No offence ,But I think you r the one who is too stress maybe work or family ? I dun know ,I dun care but what TS ask is not any stupid question

If this is a stressful question to you why bother to reply in the first place ?

And not everyone is stressful here .

A wise man ever said There is No Stupid question ,Only stupid answer .

I think you had reply TS with a very stupid answer .

Learn to relax la Bro ,reading post in forum with make u even stress if u r already very stress . [:p]

My car manual says 90 n above..

90,91,92,95,97,98...watever..so long 90 n above..tats ok..

actual RON pumping in ...Mmmmm never cross my mind..

i would more like worry abt the ever rising cost of petrol then

the RON itself....i think. :D

maybe you can send some RON95 and RON98 for lab experiment.

in fact, I have done it before, using a Fourier Transform Infra Red spectrometer to investigate the exhaust gas of different grades of petrol. Conditions were kept constant within the limits of experimental errors, should not bore all with the details here.

RON 92 seem to give the highest amount of carbon monoxide, and RON 98 the least.

Took me almost a year to gather all the data, and they seem to show the same results.

of course, my experimental procedure could still be flawed.

normally when pumping at petrol station, you will just see the label at the pump and just fill up.

so how do i know the RON98 that i am pumping is the actual RON 98 and not some lower grade fuel?

actually, we wont know man...just got to take their word for it.

unless like some bros suggest to take samples for lab test!

you should be able to feel the difference when driving too!

i remembered once when refilling shell v-power in JB. felt the car really lousy/sluggish/no power.

Actually this is a good question. Your car's engine will let you know whether it's premium or lower RON rating(it does not equate to lower in grade). If lower dan the required RON rating the engine will start to knock or ping. The higher the RON rating the slower the petrol burns in the combustion process in order to prevent pre-ignition or knocking. Probably that gives ppl the false impression that it's smoother and more "powerful".

Many ppl have the misconception premium fuel means better in terms of grade. If the recommended petrol is 95RON and when your engine is running on 95RON w/o experiencing pre-ignition or knocking, that means it's probably the correct petrol rating you had bought.

How to know whether it's actually 98RON? You would have to drive a car that requires at least that rating to know.

People in the industry will not try to cheat you cos they've already made a bundle from your purchase. So the incentive is almost nil.

What you probably do not know is that the Ministry of Trade and Industry (I stand corrected) takes samples from stations and run tests on the Pb and Ron (maybe Benzene too) for the fuel.

Companies that are found to be beyond the limit will be taken to task. Of course $$ to the govt pocket la.

So hopefully that reaasures you.

What you should be worried instead is that when you pump air into your tires, instead of air, they only supply you only 20.8% oxygen. :D

Edited by Gendut

[laugh] I know you are joking bro.

It's the other bro who said V-power of Malaysia smells like 92 of Singapore. How does he knows?? :huh:

My worker,put V-power in M'sia,i have a chance to smell it,it don't have the strong petrol smell of S'pore 98 or V-power.

What you should be worried instead is that when you pump air into your tires, instead of air, they only supply you only 20.8% oxygen. :D

isn't that normal? oh, joke ah? hee... [:p]

Errr, sorry lor. I have never mentioned once that TS is asking a stupid question. YOU DID. [:/] In fact, 3 times in 1 post.

Edited by Fcw75

Yep, an average joe will not be able to tell the difference.

On a hot sunny day, one walk into a bar/cafe and asked for a Coke. The fellow there actually brought you a Pepsi. How sure is one that out of 3 times, he/she can tell the difference all 3 times esp when one is thirsty.

My point is, dun fret over this kind of small small issue. What matters is that the drink quench your thirst and you feel good.

relax man everyone! just asking a question which crossed my mind when refilling. : )

peace!