Ultramega 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Some people really go out of their way to act important. These are some I have witnessed and recounted here for your amusement. - At an official dinner, someone is called up on stage. On his way to stage, the guy stops at every other table to say hi to someone and indulge in small chit chat. - During a friend gathering, someone casually places his BMW key on the table. - Someone tells me this restaurant serves great food. I say "Oh really?". The guy says "Yah, I went there with [name of big shot] the other day." Anyone have other tales to share? Few years ago I was given a task to look into a problem at a customer's office. But when I reached there the security guard downstairs did not allow me into the building bcos I had no clearance. So he referred me to his manager to assist me. The manager came to me and without even hearing me out, told me to call my customer to send the clearance form. But the fact is I HAD clearance. I was even cc-ed in the mail that my customer sent to this security manager. So i told the manager to check his email. He did not want to check even though the computer was right in front of him, and told me "I am the security manager. I say u cannot enter means cannot enter!" This is clearly a case of acting important. KNN.... well, in the end i managed to gain entry when my customer came down with a printed copy of the email which i threw onto his table. Apparently that idiot security manager did not do his job well. Manager my a--! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 I know the moderators of this forum .... !!! ... but I think they don't know me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 I know LHL personally.... I know LKY leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Every morning I jog behind the president ok!! You all can suck on a rock. :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 i also know he eats hum to be specify...he eat Mee siam with hum..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 I know LKY leh. you mean Harry?....what LKY.....don't think you know him so well like me....I call him Hairy..opps Harry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 I know the moderators of this forum .... !!! ... but I think they don't know me... Oh....nooooo..... They know you more than you think....so be careful wat you post hor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 I know the moderators of this forum .... !!! ... but I think they don't know me... u mean u know who the moderators are right!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 when i was in ns i got to know this old uncle who was once a driver for ministers. very humble fella, soft spoken, down to earth. his hobbies are cycling, golf (picked up since his caddying days) and spending time with grandchildren. he introduced me to road cycling. one day i decided to play golf with him. he's a good player but patiently guided me along as a beginner. after playing we went to the clubhouse, the members looked us up and down like we don't belong there. we sat at a table and next table got a bunch of 'important' people, very loud and name dropping like nobody's business. the uncle just kept quiet. on the way out we heard someone calling out to him and two fellas RAN AFTER HIM. it was two ministers (not MP hor). They backslapped each other and chit chat like old friends for quite a long while, asked about kids etc. needless to say the questions turned from 'who the f is this guy' to 'this is sultan of which state?' i just hung aroung like some impatient prince :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 (edited) Aiya, it's just simple seeking of attention. I think it's normal for all. But of course, there are different ways of doing it. Some joke, some clown around, some talk loudly. Of course, some name drops. Edit: By the way, if I'm with close friends and I got a new car (BMW or not), I'd take out the keys and shake it in front of everyone else and say "HEY HEY HEY!" Edited May 13, 2010 by Chewbacca Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 Few years ago I was given a task to look into a problem at a customer's office. But when I reached there the security guard downstairs did not allow me into the building bcos I had no clearance. So he referred me to his manager to assist me. The manager came to me and without even hearing me out, told me to call my customer to send the clearance form. But the fact is I HAD clearance. I was even cc-ed in the mail that my customer sent to this security manager. So i told the manager to check his email. He did not want to check even though the computer was right in front of him, and told me "I am the security manager. I say u cannot enter means cannot enter!" This is clearly a case of acting important. KNN.... well, in the end i managed to gain entry when my customer came down with a printed copy of the email which i threw onto his table. Apparently that idiot security manager did not do his job well. Manager my a--! I'm sorry to say this but building security managers are mostly watchdogs. The manager title is but a working title. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 (edited) I'm sorry to say this but building security managers are mostly watchdogs. The manager title is but a working title. building watchdogs aka security manager can earn 4-6k..not bad liaoz lor nothing much to do also.. ah bo those SM in shipyards or O&G..with bonus..very gao gao sia.. i not talking about guards ah... Edited May 13, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 I'm sorry to say this but building security managers are mostly watchdogs. The manager title is but a working title. Yeah, yeah! Nowadays, the names and titles of people are getting more and more ridiculous! Looking through recruit the other day. Saw a company hiring nothing BUT directors. And the requirements are things like '3-5 years experience', 'degree or diploma'. And then, heard of the title 'Hygiene Manager'? That's a janitor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 (edited) I shook hands with Tonyi Iommi.. Really... This is as close as for a mere mortal gets to rubbing shoulder with the Gods. Edited May 13, 2010 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 i also know he eats hum You're wrong. He specifically says he don't order with hum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 (edited) I shook hands with Tommi Iommi.. Really... This is as close as for a mere mortal gets to rubbing shoulder with the Gods. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let me touch your hand! Let me lick your hand! Edited May 13, 2010 by Chewbacca Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 Acting important is just another way of seeking attention. Ppl with low self esteem and low self worth will do this. Very common. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 13, 2010 Share May 13, 2010 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let me touch your hand! Let me lick your hand! Sorry, it's in a cast since that day. Can't bear to crack it open, for the risk to losing that dried sweat.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...