Come on in if you are into cheap engine oils...

Ken4555

1st... go to car bibles... tons of info for you...

2nd... syn or mineral oil refers to Engine oil...

at a petrol kiosk you are pumping fuel=petrol.... nothing to do with ur engine oil... if you are driving a jazz, you can pump any grade in any petrol station in SG (except diesel)

have fun reading..

Can share with us what are car bibles? (something new to me)

May I suggest to minimise wear:-

If brake fluid colour turned dark (replenish), not wait for 2nd New Year Day first

If power steering fluid colour turned dark (driving in city) replenish power steering fluid

bro, replenish as in top up or change?

I assume you meant change once the color darken. [angel]

bro... 1st thanks for saying i make sense i'm very happy... cause usually i dont make much sense... my wife tells me that all the time... [laugh]

but seriously, on my previuos car, i backside itchy change that cheap magnet oil plug... in no time my threads gone... so the mech even used white tape... anyways so for a few oil changes i used the pump to suck the EO up from the dip stick.... no problems then till i scraped the car...

but i read that the hose inserted in will be impossible to drain everything out... i guess different cars with different makes have different results but maybe you wanna do more research 1st?

so when you proposed to her that time make sense to her or not? [sweatdrop]

actually i did some study on the pump thing, so far think sld be OK lah, because same as clean fish tank, the pump will suck out almost all the liquid, maybe left like 2-3%, but that i think is OK. because if the oil is hot, all the dirt will be in the oil and not at the base of the tank.

the oil plug way may not remove all the used oil also, depending on the way the tank is position. But I think most cars cannot remove 100% old oil.

so, to me I think same same.

when I changed my oil 2 days back, the WS used the pump method but his is motor type, so I guess the suction is stronger. manage to take out 3.5L, (because I refill 3.5L), but the last time I change oil, only fill in 3L, and later I fill in another maybe 200ml, total 3.2L.

so I guess this pump can take out more than unscrewing the plug.

anyway unless the car is jack up one side sloping towards the hole, otherwise difficult to drain out all the oil also.

i try 1st see how. [:)]

1st... go to car bibles... tons of info for you...

2nd... syn or mineral oil refers to Engine oil...

at a petrol kiosk you are pumping fuel=petrol.... nothing to do with ur engine oil... if you are driving a jazz, you can pump any grade in any petrol station in SG (except diesel)

have fun reading..

Hi Ken4555,

1. You referring to http://www.carbibles.com/ ? I just saw the website earlier on my phone, started reading and couldn't stop. If this is the website you were referring to, then I am addicted to reading it haha. Thanks!

2. Noted on the engine oil. Thanks for clarifying.

3. Noted on the diesel part as well. Appreciate that.

every 10k just go back kah motors

petrol station just pump 95 full tank once u reach 1/4 tank

Haha, noted =) thanks Furrynadz.

cannot lah bro...

new car must go back 1k... then 5k....

and if listen to you just every 10k go back Kah Motor then what if he those type travel abt 500km a month type how?

or even if normal mileage then by the time 10k the tyres would have soften liao...

haha reminds me of this frd.. she does NOTHING to the car except drive and pump petrol (attendant pump one)... not even washing... she clocks super low mileage cause her hm to work is like 5km...

poor car...

anyways bro dont mind me i damn bo liao talking c--k...

Haha, ok, so how should I go about it?

I think my car will most likely be travelling to work and back home.

High chance my usage will be, daily sending my partner to work before i continue driving to work. Weekend my drive to go out a bit or drive to meet clients. Thats about it.

I don't intend to speed, more of a safety driver this days. I stress more on soothing and smooth driving. Not hasty.

So what do you think for a driver of my type in terms of maintenance?

(Super Big Sorry to thread starter - once I get 10 post required for starting thread, I won't post out of topic posts in this thread =X )

Don't think too much. Enjoy your driving first.

Don't mind me asking.....Is this your first car? [:p]

Yes, its my first car. Jazz 1.3(A) LX. Getting it in a couple of weeks time. Will be enjoying it, but just want to make sure my starting usage and other important stuff goes right.

So tons of things in mind since I did a lot of reading. But since I also have no experience in run ins (which i read) other maintenance area etc, I felt the need to get more information from any where I could.

Cause to me, I would like to maintain the car in tip top condition as far as I can. Not intending to modify/add any mods. Just a simple car for day to day use. I think you guys refer this to "stock" model or something like this?

Yes, its my first car. Jazz 1.3(A) LX. Getting it in a couple of weeks time. Will be enjoying it, but just want to make sure my starting usage and other important stuff goes right.

So tons of things in mind since I did a lot of reading. But since I also have no experience in run ins (which i read) other maintenance area etc, I felt the need to get more information from any where I could.

Cause to me, I would like to maintain the car in tip top condition as far as I can. Not intending to modify/add any mods. Just a simple car for day to day use. I think you guys refer this to "stock" model or something like this?

well bro... sometimes some things must learn the hard way (breakdowns or wear and tear items)....

Jazz so must be from Kah motor... unless u dont want any warranty you WILL need to follow their service schedule... follow it... listen to them and ask bros here in MCF if you are in doubt... dont believe everything you read... but most are real experiences...

my advice to you, never pour anything into your engine oil urself.. (unless you too much $) never add anything except petrol into your fuel tank (unless you too much $)... chck your tyres weekly at least, (pressure recommended will be stated somewhere drivers sidewhen you open your door)

this will ensure you a 'stock' car...

another golden rule....anything you wanna add or fix extra for your Jazz, believe anyone except the person trying to sell it to you...

good luck and happy driving... [drivingcar]

Don't think too much. Enjoy your driving first.

Don't mind me asking.....Is this your first car? [:p]

why would he mind you asking?... i'llbet my $ it is... [laugh]

reminds me when i got my 1st car... then it was IMPOSSIBLE to get a new car... i remember a corolla like almost 100k... faints....

anyways with a new car comes a new learning experience... keke

oh yah one more thing...

1st thing you do when you get your car is to actually read the manual... most ppl dont... and get info on the car solely from hearsay...

not a good idea... unless the other party drive the same model AND variant...

all the best!

why would he mind you asking?... i'llbet my $ it is... [laugh]

reminds me when i got my 1st car... then it was IMPOSSIBLE to get a new car... i remember a corolla like almost 100k... faints....

anyways with a new car comes a new learning experience... keke

yea, new experience in taking care of it. Agree fully.

oh yah one more thing...

1st thing you do when you get your car is to actually read the manual... most ppl dont... and get info on the car solely from hearsay...

not a good idea... unless the other party drive the same model AND variant...

all the best!

Yup, intend to sit there and read it up whenever I can spare time to do it. I know friends who drive fit and jazz, but the model is slightly older, so I ain't going to take chances, better read than sorry for this instance. =)

and yes, Bro Tianmo gave you the right link... save my trouble... haha... [laugh]

Yea, cool link. Love it.

bro if you replied every of my post one by one, you'd have clocked more than 10 post liao... haha...

good nite and see you around.... ^_^

Modern engine have a min run-in period but important thing is to do the 1000km servicing, that is to get raid of any manufacturing and bedding in debris. I would advice same goes to engine and transmission fluid, if that's done, your engine and transmission will enjoy a long service life.

I fully agree.

Do a proper running in of the engine.

Do a proper run-in of your engine for the first 1000 km.

There are some good information in this forum on running in of the engine. Do a search.