Question for the Commandos

Cootie-Monster

Haha, his post is truly nonsense.

Looks like you are one of the rare few in this thread who knows some stuff but my guess is you didnt/dont jump?

1. yes the rig opens less than 2 seconds upon exiting once the ripcord (attached to a line which doesnt move) gets taut

2. yes, it is called a static line

3. yes, a slap on the back and off you go, (simple stuff, high school kids can do)

4. yes , reserve is easy to deploy, problem is there is no time for reserve chute to open for most if not all military Basic Airborne course (becos of the low altitude)

so having a reserve is just additional weight in a BAC.

5. yes, no idiot will jump after some with a malfunction for BAC. Butler Lopo systems specialised rig? now you are talking a bit of nonsense

bascially the instructors will use a parachute which is commonly known as a sport parachute.

usually 9 cell or 7 cell (for deployment speed) if they are truly experienced.

6. yes, ankle brace would be a bit ridiculous. maybe he meant ankle guard which is possible just like any other sport

dear sir..i hap to b a rigger..i cant be wrong...incl point 5 above.. [:)]

and reserve chute is very impt....not jus extra weight...

anyw i din do static line cos downgraded, only 1 tandem jump experience at 10,000ft.. [laugh]

dear sir..i hap to b a rigger..i cant be wrong...incl point 5 above.. [:)]

and reserve chute is very impt....not jus extra weight...

anyw i din do static line cos downgraded, only 1 tandem jump experience at 10,000ft.. [laugh]

Yah, I knew you have some knowledge as mentioned. and i was right you didnt /dont jump. tandem no count.

but thats rigger knowledge not jumper knowledge so it's pretty limited to the ground and hear-say

Yes perhaps the instructors may be using the butler rig, i dont know, but it's still a normal round canopy. not specialised in that sense, thats what i meant

When i say the instructors use a sport parachute, i meant not for static line but free fall.

Respect you for packing the rigs and ensuring that lives are not lost.

Edited by Throttle2

1. I believe SAF uses MC-1 series chute for SL jumps . We never use what LOPO or what specialised chute for SL jumps. I still remember my lecture on the model number [:p]

2. Also for BAC , it's compulsory for jumpers to wear ankle brace for jump. Long ago , no requirement. But now it's a mandatory item to have on top of your helmet.

3. For SL, off Chinook, it takes 3 sec to deploy the canopy, C130 - 5 secs to deploy the canopy . Reason is should be due to different slipstream from diff airplane iirc

4. It's possible to back out of a SL jump. You have the right not to jump if you're ready. But then seldom it happens. I've never seen people backing out yet. But my jumpmaster mentioned before they have to lookout for people who are not ready to jump as these people can be a hazard and bump off the entire sortie / flight

All these info are what i know. Feel free to correct me if i'm wrong for learning purposes. My bro just attended BAC last year so i think all info are still valid

ya bro...the LOPO is used by the jumpmasters...the jumpers are still MC1...a old old chute by design...in car terms, prob renew coe two rounds liao haha [:p]

1. I believe SAF uses MC-1 series chute for SL jumps . We never use what LOPO or what specialised chute for SL jumps. I still remember my lecture on the model number [:p]

2. Also for BAC , it's compulsory for jumpers to wear ankle brace for jump. Long ago , no requirement. But now it's a mandatory item to have on top of your helmet.

3. For SL, off Chinook, it takes 3 sec to deploy the canopy, C130 - 5 secs to deploy the canopy . Reason is should be due to different slipstream from diff airplane iirc

4. It's possible to back out of a SL jump. You have the right not to jump if you're ready. But then seldom it happens. I've never seen people backing out yet. But my jumpmaster mentioned before they have to lookout for people who are not ready to jump as these people can be a hazard and bump off the entire sortie / flight

All these info are what i know. Feel free to correct me if i'm wrong for learning purposes. My bro just attended BAC last year so i think all info are still valid

I dont know about what model no etc... just too technical for me.

but you sound more like you know what you are saying compared to others here. hahah

In fact I've NEVER done a static line jump although I did some theory and practical.

Yah, I knew you have some knowledge as mentioned. and i was right you didnt /dont jump. tandem no count.

but thats rigger knowledge not jumper knowledge so it's pretty limited to the ground and hear-say

Yes perhaps the instructors may be using the butler rig, i dont know, but it's still a normal round canopy. not specialised in that sense, thats what i meant

When i say the instructors use a sport parachute, i meant not for static line but free fall.

Respect you for packing the rigs and ensuring that lives are not lost.

act riggers jump with their own chutes so rigger knowledge is def not jus limited to the ground...i dun wan the full fledged riggers to [knife] me when i go back for reservist...haha

That was my understanding too but you just sounded like you didnt have jump experience. heh heh

I do apologise to the actual riggers with jump experience.

Edited by Throttle2

yeah i never said i did... [wave]

Yeah Yeah, Already said you are one of the more knowledgeable and correct ones here.

by the way , before anyone accusess me for being TPS again ................better state some credentials.

I did my freefall training and jumps in Australia 10 yrs ago and wind tunnel body flights in Switzerland in 2001.

Skydived using 9 cell ram air sport parachute .

Exit altitudes are generally between 11,000 ft to 15,000 ft (i think about 4 - 5 times higher than BAC?)

Free falling up to almost a min. and pulling ripcord at about 4500ft.

My two personal instructors were Steve Finch (i think thats his name) part of the British champion team in formation skydiving, and Brad Turner part of the world champ team in formation skydiving in the early to mid 90s. Now he is CEO of Australian Parachute Federation

One of the most unforgettable things I've done in my life.

Unfortunately or fortunately, I stopped all my dangerous adventures (including but not limited to abseiling, race track motorcycling etc...) when I got married in 2003.

Edited by Throttle2

Of coz i rem.. u the only person know my unit (vocation)

My unit still going on leh. Where got last batch? I just rtn back from ICT not long ago. lol

My unit 's company are separated in SG. Only 1 coy from my Battalion is in Seletar. Larc V, the rubba duck you guys see on the rd, or during CNB Open house, they have free trial on that.

The remaining are just side by side in 2 different camps. Anyway, the entire camps have to move out due to development by Gharment.

Nothing to hide. Located at Portsdown Road. I wonder will it be another Atas place or business central.

Josho,

I'm from 7th Batch... moved from Gillman to Glouchester. Was under Chelliah and Gopal then..

It'll be interesting to see how he can free himself if he is hanging like a swing with vehicles passing by below and shocked/curious onlookers.

I remember one of Michael Hui's movies where both brothers jumped using parachutes and were blown off to the racecourse with both landing on the horses. Imagine one commando landing on a lorry ferrying full of FWs. *laugh*

real war must do liddat mah u nvr see band of brothers is it? [laugh]

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAH, your JC teacher blowing smoke or you?

squeeze limbs for chute to open?????? muayhahaahahah. it is the contrary lah.

we pull the ripcord in boxman position, limbs all apart and bent at the joints, belly to ground, after giving 1 safety wave.

Even if your JC teacher is a senior master parachutist in the military or a sport parachutist, his cause of injury being the line entangling his arm is

1 in 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

in other words, bullcrap man , these JC teachers..erm or is it you? hahaah

hmmm i meant kiap both knees as tight together as possible so that your knees can hold a $2 note that. Did i mean limbs? my bad.

legs are also limbs. putting the knees together means your legs (limbs) will have to also be together.

lets not argue further on this

Fact is your JC teacher bluffed you big time, ok?

Newer models came out as well. Anyone, one will last you a very long time, both

mine are already so many years old liow.

WTF price went up. nb Euro down now price still up? lucky mine still strong. considering another one soon [:p]

Squeeze too hard, when landing, due to impact and squeezing, balls end up in the throat. [laugh] [laugh]

legs are also limbs. putting the knees together means your legs (limbs) will have to also be together.

lets not argue further on this

Fact is your JC teacher bluffed you big time, ok?