static line

CLEAR and HOOKED UP!!!

when u gear up on the parachute...

freaking uncomfortable

ur back bone is hatched!

ur groin area is like being squeezed

then when they hang u up...

u never tied properly at ur leg straps...

ur balls sure kena squeezed!

then any one remember the see saw where u swing down from 2nd floor?

if instructor not happy...drop u mid way...u will come tumbling down if ur landing drill is not well versed...

ho say liao

freaking uncomfortable

ur back bone is hatched!

if instructor not happy...drop u mid way...u will come tumbling down if ur landing drill is not well versed...

ho say liao

yeah worse is training for full combat jump got to feed up and carry all barang barang climb up the airborne tower...that was shack...also the unwinding of twinding parachute, you got to kick in mid air in anti clockwise direction of the twinding....by the time my drill ends, i felt like vomitting...haha..those were the days...

freaking uncomfortable

ur back bone is hatched!

ho say liao

You must be refering to the lateral drift trainer where you suppose to land with the simulated motion of the wind blowing you from behind and high speed, machiam like flying fox style. and yes PJI will give you a good dressing if ur drill is not on par.

if i rem correctly, the air borne drill as follows

helmet

capwell

life jacket

chest strap

reserve snap

rip cork

leg strap

back tie

static line

CLEAR and HOOKED UP!!!

wah.. u still can remember the drill!!! [:p]

reminds me of the mass night jump where whole camp participated in tuas, even the co oso jump together...

very siong those days... [crazy]

if i rem correctly, the air borne drill as follows

helmet

capwell

life jacket

chest strap

reserve snap

rip cork

leg strap

back tie

static line

CLEAR and HOOKED UP!!!

Wa ..... I can only remember the neck ache every morning during airborne course and carrying the full eqpt and dummy wpn up the tower.

One sad accident is my platoon mate was paralysed when he landed on the tarmac taxiway on PLA. Investigation say he had a hard knock on his head.

Funny scene is see people fly out of PLA and land on Tampines Road (but at least they dont have to walk can take landrover)

Wa ..... I can only remember the neck ache every morning during airborne course and carrying the full eqpt and dummy wpn up the tower.

One sad accident is my platoon mate was paralysed when he landed on the tarmac taxiway on PLA. Investigation say he had a hard knock on his head.

Funny scene is see people fly out of PLA and land on Tampines Road (but at least they dont have to walk can take landrover)

Hmm ... Tampines Road is lined with trees on both sides, wondered if any of them had their parachutes entangled on a tree before?

Who will come to the rescue? SCDF or the instructors climb up the tree to free the trapped commando?

Hmm ... Tampines Road is lined with trees on both sides, wondered if any of them had their parachutes entangled on a tree before?

Who will come to the rescue? SCDF or the instructors climb up the tree to free the trapped commando?

To simulate real battlefield condition:

A Farmer with a Chungko and sawn-off shotgun. :D

During parachute jumping, has anyone froze at the door before? Do you pull him back in the plane or kick him out? Is it true commando reservist very senang one? Who has won more fist fights? Guards or Commandos? How did this rivalry come about?

All my mates including my batch jumped at first tap. And for me being a big sized guy always the first jumper lol

I remember clearly my first jump. I was at the ramp taking a Chinook. The jumpmaster told me to look at him, but i was looking at the red / green light. The moment it become green = hong kan liao. The next thing i knew is a tap "GO" and magically i was floating in the air. Woot love the experience :)

freaking uncomfortable

ur back bone is hatched!

ho say liao

My 3rd jump i too ghey zhua , my chest strap i loosen it in the chopper. BAD move. Almost suicidical , when i jump out the next think i know is the chest strap was near my chin and it prevented my from really looking down and see where am i landing .... Zzzz After that i always make sure everything is really tight and uncomfortable, as u're in the air it will be comfortable

Eyh, how's your watch keeping so far? :D :D

All my mates including my batch jumped at first tap. And for me being a big sized guy always the first jumper lol

I remember clearly my first jump. I was at the ramp taking a Chinook. The jumpmaster told me to look at him, but i was looking at the red / green light. The moment it become green = hong kan liao. The next thing i knew is a tap "GO" and magically i was floating in the air. Woot love the experience :)

To simulate real battlefield condition:

A Farmer with a Chungko and sawn-off shotgun. :D

knn. even our elite scout commandos scared of farmers with shotguns ok?

commando cannot escape himself? [laugh]

wats ur vocation? ur post is nonsense u know [wave]

1. the chute is self open

2. the rope is called static line

3. by the nature of such jumps, there is no way one can back out. its not freefall.

4. the reserve chute is not diff to deploy. the jumper is alr running out of altitude and they stil make it diff to deploy?

5. there is no way an instructor wil jump aft a malfunction chute. yes they hv specialised chute called LOPO and now called Butler.

6. no one wear ankle braces for a static line jump.

Haha, his post is truly nonsense.

Looks like you are one of the rare few in this thread who knows some stuff but my guess is you didnt/dont jump?

1. yes the rig opens less than 2 seconds upon exiting once the ripcord (attached to a line which doesnt move) gets taut

2. yes, it is called a static line

3. yes, a slap on the back and off you go, (simple stuff, high school kids can do)

4. yes , reserve is easy to deploy, problem is there is no time for reserve chute to open for most if not all military Basic Airborne course (becos of the low altitude)

so having a reserve is just additional weight in a BAC.

5. yes, no idiot will jump after some with a malfunction for BAC. Butler Lopo systems specialised rig? now you are talking a bit of nonsense

bascially the instructors will use a parachute which is commonly known as a sport parachute.

usually 9 cell or 7 cell (for deployment speed) if they are truly experienced.

6. yes, ankle brace would be a bit ridiculous. maybe he meant ankle guard which is possible just like any other sport

I 4th coy, nobody throw beds/cupboards downstairs leh...

Got standby bed in parade sqaure though..

ah hahaaha, which year?

My JC Chemistry teacher who is a former commando told us that prior to actually doing the para jump, they had to walk around with a $2 note held tight by squeezing their two knees as close as possible. No joke, you walk around like that too (or that was what i thought)

There was this guy who lived by the SAF no. 1 rule (do anything just dont get caught). He tried to feign doing this through the whole process. It was a foolhardy decision. This man died during the jump because his chute wouldn't open up properly.

I was told that by squeezing both lower limbs as close together, this will allow to direct sufficient air flow and vortex to force open the main chute.

My teacher had an ordeal not too nice as well. Not long after opening his main chute. The main riggings of the main chute got entangled in his right arm. It tore through his muscle and he had to have his right biceps surgically removed.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAH, your JC teacher blowing smoke or you?

squeeze limbs for chute to open?????? muayhahaahahah. it is the contrary lah.

we pull the ripcord in boxman position, limbs all apart and bent at the joints, belly to ground, after giving 1 safety wave.

Even if your JC teacher is a senior master parachutist in the military or a sport parachutist, his cause of injury being the line entangling his arm is

1 in 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

in other words, bullcrap man , these JC teachers..erm or is it you? hahaah

Edited by Throttle2

commando cannot escape himself? [laugh]

It'll be interesting to see how he can free himself if he is hanging like a swing with vehicles passing by below and shocked/curious onlookers.

I remember one of Michael Hui's movies where both brothers jumped using parachutes and were blown off to the racecourse with both landing on the horses. Imagine one commando landing on a lorry ferrying full of FWs. *laugh*