Aimnfire 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 so what is the rate? anybody want to make a guess? $0.01/$0.10 km? average car travelling per year is about 30,000km ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 so what is the rate? anybody want to make a guess? $0.01/$0.10 km? average car travelling per year is about 30,000km will have peak and non peak charge too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 i guess with the current road tax structure base on the cc of vehicles i guess rates will varies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 good discussion pointers Summary (Pros) 1) Track ur position, if people steal your car, can easily track >>Thief can cut/jam the GPS unit 2) Track ur road usage n tax u accordingly (fairer system...u use more, u pay more) 3) Track ur parking (if illegal can issue E-summon) and charge per unit time...cannot argue somemore... (no more cheaters or fake appeal) >>How you know it's park and not waiting or car broke down for some cases? Open area only. 4) Track your speed (if speeding can issue E-summon).... no more Chao Ah Beng chiongsters >>GPS speed may not be accurate. Even when I am not moving I can have <10kmh speed shown at times 5) If got accidents between two or more GPS installed car, no need to argue who right or wrong...playback the cars initial location and final position w their location and speed....no argument anymore....can reduce insurance premium I hope....no more dishonest drivers... >>It's accurate the meters not cm. so can only 'witness' the 2 car are near each other. But not how it was involved. I don't think this is even possible given that GPS data can't tell if you touch the other entity. w.g. Side swipe case can't settle. Summary (Cons) 1) No privacy....no issue since you have no bad intention right? >>Privacy isn't about having bad intent. If you don't value privacy, why not install cam in your house to make sure you must have sex after oral sex. You didn't break the law, does that mean you must surrender your privacy? 2) Enourmous setup costs....charge to whose account? >>Not as expensive as gantry. 3) Occasional software bugs/glitches......any contingency plan? might issue wrong E-summon? >>this can happen. I still wonder how they get pass the CBD GPS haywire positioning? 4) Hackers!!!! Hack what? 5) Tampering of GPS id/sys to cheat or even disable it..... >>Buy GPS jammer now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 yes GPS signal blocker is easily available another issue is the accuracy of GPS around tall buildings. as the signal gets reflected and bounced off the buildings before being received by the unit, the distances are therefore not accurate and thus cannot accurately pin point each cars exact location. until we have the technology to allow GPS that is accurate to the nearest meter/(or maybe even centimeter) at all locations, i do not foresee it happening. I totally agree. Good example is CBD area. GPS goes awry. Unless CBD area they zone it traditional ERP gantry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) oh no!!!! you mean we are going to put our own setaliites up too Ah Gong must LEARN from WorldCup 2010 lesson. Otherwise hor, all Sillyporean drivers boycott how? No car on the road, no good le. http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=1178...2683&v=wall Edited July 1, 2010 by Jp66 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) until we have the technology to allow GPS that is accurate to the nearest meter/(or maybe even centimeter) at all locations, i do not foresee it happening. have to be very precise up to 'centimete' because lane 1 is $1, lane 2 $0.50, lane 3 and above $0.10. If you drive between lane 1 & 2, $1.50. overtake from lane 2 to lane 1 also $1.5 :D Edited July 1, 2010 by Jp66 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia0042 2nd Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 have to be very precise up to 'centimete' because lane 1 is $1, lane 2 $0.50, lane 3 and above $0.10. If you drive between lane 1 & 2, $1.50. overtake from lane 2 to lane 1 also $1.5 :D Don't under estimate a gps system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Don't under estimate a gps system. I dare not, bcos we have a 'Yes We Can' ah gong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 like this one? http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.35827 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 F***. Not only privacy, no freedom also. Singapore is now the only 'first-world' country where simply driving is not allowed. Must be controlled. Might as well give us all robot-controlled vehicles and be done with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Yep. In fact, my car video cam power cable does screw GPS signal somewhat to the extend i need to put em a distance apart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 F***. Not only privacy, no freedom also. Singapore is now the only 'first-world' country where simply driving is not allowed. Must be controlled. Might as well give us all robot-controlled vehicles and be done with it. if you don't know what you're saying, don't say.... cos motorists in Britain are also quite telok.... speed cameras and speed trap everywhere.... as long as go above the speed limit, sure will kenna summon.... we're still not that bad.... for the rich people, please buy private helicopters and don't jam up the roads with your E-Class or S-Class.... i believe your time will be worth much more money than ours right??? please go all out to buy your private helicopter. thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 with LTA implementing the pay-per-distance-travelled formula for public transport from 3rd July (this Saturday), i won't be surprise that cars will fall under this category too.... bring it on.... and the best thing is the gahmen will be "upgrading" the ERP system, so road tax will still come in place.... what a brilliant system don't you all think??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinlex Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 It seems that GPS ERP is to penalize those living far away from city. For those frequently drives into CBD may pay less under the new schema as there is no more ERP gantry which is originally designed to charge to CBD drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 it depends on how much you travel.... pay-per-use scheme.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 It seems that GPS ERP is to penalize those living far away from city. For those frequently drives into CBD may pay less under the new schema as there is no more ERP gantry which is originally designed to charge to CBD drivers. look at it prospectively. They already pay for their life time ERP when they buy their overly inflated flat price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 all these congestion can be solved by merging office areas with residential areas for example, they say they are building ponggol and sengkang like some signature heartland town. they should inculde offices in hearltand ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...