Why do YOU think C@rlube is lousy? i mean seriously...

Ken4555

Just came back from AMK Hub NTUC. The C@rlube 5w30 is on offer now. One litre $8.90 per bottle and Five litre $40+ per bottle. Although the five liter per liter is cheaper, I got 3 x 1litre bottle instead cos each oil change I only need 3 litre. Was surprise that despite 5w30 it is ACEA A3. I guess this mean the HTHS for this 30 weight oil should be quite high to qualify for A3.

bro, u sure? is it the light blue label with the word GM on it? if this one, I go buy liao.

But today I went to Giant at the horse city, no offer leh! [:(]

male or female....................my guess is female, just my guess hor! [grin]

but 1 thing i sure, that is she is the person behind this C@rlube oil lor,. [idea]

you want to friend her, ask me no use what, you must ask her mah. [:p]

chey!... gal anot not confirm ah... wah lau... yuck...

btw seems you got good lobang find cheap stuff... where you recommend i go get my oil filters and air-con filter?

chey!... gal anot not confirm ah... wah lau... yuck...

btw seems you got good lobang find cheap stuff... where you recommend i go get my oil filters and air-con filter?

Wah lau yeh..................i also never see her how to confirm, since when bao marry got bao sure give birth to son one!!! :angry:

no lah, I also don't have many lobang for cheap stuff, but check here learn there, see can save or not lor......................

your sunny oil filter, you know who is the stockist or not?

Check with this Bro Vroomtattat, I think he also driving sunny, read somewhere he got his oil filter for $5 only. I also think there is a nissan stockist in Pioneer road north, because last week i ask my WS to get for me NGK BKR6E spark plug, he got it for me from somewhere near by and it is pack in nissan boxes.

Air-con filter I got it from the same source as Bro Yuan, the guy at jalan teck whye, mine is $15, I think your sunny sld be less than $15.

I think very cheap liao, any cheaper maybe ownself make by using those filter for the fish tank. [laugh] ( I know someone doing that).

The 0W-30 was S$53.50 for the 5Litres bottle, but I thought the best around now is SPC SYNACE MAX 0W-30 (better than Mobil 1 or AMSOIL?) I believe cheaper to use best engine oil you can buy and the use cheapest petrol compatible. Anyone with some better information to share?

You mean this SPC Synace Max 0w30?

http://www.spc.com.sg/ourbusiness/lube_gas...e_synacemax.asp

The specification looks kind of weak. <_<

- ILSAC GF-3

- ACEA A1

I don't need the best engine oil, just something above average with affordable pricing and can reach 10k km usage will be good enough for me.

bro, u sure? is it the light blue label with the word GM on it? if this one, I go buy liao.

But today I went to Giant at the horse city, no offer leh! [:(]

Yes, affirmative. At NUTC in AMK hub, not Giant.

But do note that despite 5w30 weight looks good for fuel economy, but I doubt it will be as its a ACEA A3 oil. Its not an energy conserving oil.

Yes, affirmative. At NUTC in AMK hub, not Giant.

But do note that despite 5w30 weight looks good for fuel economy, but I doubt it will be as its a ACEA A3 oil. Its not an energy conserving oil.

than I think it is at NTUC AMK Hub only, NTUC Xtra at jurong point don't have, I just check, I stay in the west so bo pian.

anyway, I just want to try that's all about it.

You mean this SPC Synace Max 0w30?

http://www.spc.com.sg/ourbusiness/lube_gas...e_synacemax.asp

The specification looks kind of weak. <_<

- ILSAC GF-3

- ACEA A1

I don't need the best engine oil, just something above average with affordable pricing and can reach 10k km usage will be good enough for me.

The idea is to fully utilise the oil ilfter service life (the more critical issue) for FC. Example: if eingine oil filter not choked, can drive many more thousands kilometres before next oil change without affecting FC. Savings in FC can sponsor the oil filter/engine oil change, too

Calculation: assumption: all other factors being the same, with FC improved by 1km/l, and 1 full tank of 40litres = 40km free of fuel cost or @SGD1.77/L (@20km/L = SGD1.77 X 2 =SGD3.54 FC savings). For long distances, can be one plate of chicken rice for free meal with every tank of petrol

20,000km @ 20km/L =1000L of petrol @SGD1.77/L = SGD1770/-

20,000km @ 21km/L =952.4L of petrol @SGD1.77/L = SGD1685.75 (oil filter and engine oil free)

That is right aim for 20,000km oil change interval with free oil filter end engine oil (just buy petrol)

Anyone with better ideas to share?

The idea is to fully utilise the oil ilfter service life (the more critical issue) for FC. Example: if eingine oil filter not choked, can drive many more thousands kilometres before next oil change without affecting FC. Savings in FC can sponsor the oil filter/engine oil change, too

Calculation: assumption: all other factors being the same, with FC improved by 1km/l, and 1 full tank of 40litres = 40km free of fuel cost or @SGD1.77/L (@20km/L = SGD1.77 X 2 =SGD3.54 FC savings). For long distances, can be one plate of chicken rice for free meal with every tank of petrol

20,000km @ 21km/L =952.4L of petrol @SGD1.77/L = SGD1685.75 (oil filter and engine oil free)

That is right aim for 20,000km oil change interval with free oil filter end engine oil (just buy petrol)

:blink:

seriously... i would try what you suggested... sounds good... provided its not my car....

i believe the high cost of a car in SG will have most of its drivers to at least follow the recommended service intervals...

Not all cars are design for extended oil change interval. My car sump capacity only 3 litre, I feel 10k km is the maximium I would go. Typical fresh engine oil for the initial few km usage will shear a bit and thin down, but as mileage increase the viscosity will thicken up again as it become saturated with contaminent. If car do not have a big sump capacity and/or oil filter bypass, extended oil change interval might result in worse fuel consumption later on or cause other problem.

:blink:

seriously... i would try what you suggested... sounds good... provided its not my car....

i believe the high cost of a car in SG will have most of its drivers to at least follow the recommended service intervals...

No venture, no gain?

Not all cars are design for extended oil change interval. My car sump capacity only 3 litre, I feel 10k km is the maximium I would go. Typical fresh engine oil for the initial few km usage will shear a bit and thin down, but as mileage increase the viscosity will thicken up again as it become saturated with contaminent. If car do not have a big sump capacity and/or oil filter bypass, extended oil change interval might result in worse fuel consumption later on or cause other problem.

No venture, no gain? Not applicable for Hyundai/Kia cars (stick to that 10,000km, or the oil filter would be choked)

Hey, you saying me? [smash][laugh]

no lah, I no saying about you lah. you 猪哥meh? [laugh]

but hor, there is a saying:

十个香蕉8个翘,十个男人8个猪哥。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。1个不翘,1个爱同性 :wacko:

so I admit I 猪哥lor [:p]

That is very true and which is why I am always present at the workshop where my car is being serviced. I am entitled to see what they are doing to my car since I am paying for it.

=========

I heard 1 time u go ws n e new mech try to give u cheap eo n charge u fr ex eo n your bg took him to e back of t ws n shot him in e leg. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I think most WS will charge between 15 - 20 bucks for labour excluding the oil filter. They are also resellers for various brands of oils so it's understandable they'll try get you to use the ones they sell and tell you the stuff you use is not as good or crap especially if it's cheap.

=======

Very likely ty buy in bulk, so ty get stuff at very low prices compared to what we pay so their profit is good.

Also e quality n source/country of origin of their stuff is questionable too. In jb most use very low quality or imitation parts even.

forgot to add... any WS give you attitude, fcuk them... i mean just dont go back ever...

soooooooooooooooooooo many ws to choose from...

for me i try to make it a point to buy oil filter from them...

my next try will be in JB... have not done oil change there before with my own oil... c how the experience...

=======

Careful of e parts u get in jb. quality usually very low. Maybe imitation even.

I tok tru bad experiences. [mad]