Vulcann 6th Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 According to the old uncle who did the repair on my punctured tyre recently, how the penetration by the foreign object onto the tyre would determine if the patch job would hold: if at the flat part of the tyre then it would probably hold till the day you change to new ones; if however the foreign object is stuck slightly to the side (like my case), then it would probably be wise to change to new ones. Actual experience shows he is right in my case-I need to pump that particular tyre more often as it leaked slowly through the damaged part. Need to change the tyre soon... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 I had puntures before. Drove a tyre with 2 repairs, no problem using it all the way till worn. Keep a 12V compressor in the car. So in this situation you cant pump up and go to wrkshop. that is easier then changing it yourself. If you need something better or to be able to handle 2 puntures, get the Conti pump with sealant. LESSON 1 : LOOSEN BEFORE YOU JACK- LESSON 2 : CHOKE WHEELS Just to share a joke on the road. I saw a new driver trying to replace a punctured front tyre. He had parked on a gentle slope. OFantastic, this guy gain experience fast, he had jacked up his car, and and and.. was trying very hard to loosen the nuts. He even stand on the wrench........ very strong man. Moments later, the car looked strange, ALAMAK, the car was lowered all the way down. ..... Car shifted and jack collapsed... this time die already, how to get it up again. Another moment later, tow truck came.. use tow trucks fork to lift it up.. to change tyre... The end obviously, this guy is not from any engineering industry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 This time he sure to remember for life. Luckily I only kapok from distance, if not he will have to call excavator to dig a hole for him to hide his face lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzzzz Clutched August 16, 2010 Author Share August 16, 2010 According to the old uncle who did the repair on my punctured tyre recently, how the penetration by the foreign object onto the tyre would determine if the patch job would hold: if at the flat part of the tyre then it would probably hold till the day you change to new ones; if however the foreign object is stuck slightly to the side (like my case), then it would probably be wise to change to new ones. Actual experience shows he is right in my case-I need to pump that particular tyre more often as it leaked slowly through the damaged part. Need to change the tyre soon... agreed with you. i was talking to some guys at some wkshop before, those in the tyre middle can fit, but those nails close to the tyre edge, they didnt want to touch it as its risky and not safe to just patch, said its better to change. I guess its true if you would have notice the danger of it based on the nail's location on the tyre when it is rotating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 I like to share my recent experience of an almost flat tyre. One fine morning, my tyre pressure monitoring meter kept beeping indicating very low pressure for my rear tyre. On closer look, I saw a rod stuck into the side wall of my rear tyre. I quickly manually pump the air into the tyre and then drive slowly to workshop. At the workshop, I was recommended to change the tyre. Cost me $200+ (as well changed the other rear tyre as it is over 30K mileage). sigh,. this is part of the price one has to pay for driving. anyway the lesson taught me that a tyre pressure monitoring gadget bought one year ago is essential at times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benni_chana Neutral Newbie August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 Happen to me once too. Went to d Caltex opp bishan park to fix. Uncle there took out tyre and after removing the nail, stuff some gluey thing into the hole. Dunno how long it can tahan but after travelling 10k, still feels alrite. Btw, damage for the fix then was only 6 bucks... So no comprains.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 Wow, Mine also allen key the long side go through the whole tyre, still wondering whether it is because I drove through Defu lane or act of mischeif. whats with the defu lane??? i used to work there... YOU KNOW WHO PUNCTURED MY TYRE???????????? #@*&%%##@??????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 While TPMS is a useful tool for detecting tyre problems, drivers should be sensitive to abnormal tyre pressure loss where handling is affected. However, it'll take time and experience to come to that stage where you can feel changes in the handling of the car. I like to share my recent experience of an almost flat tyre. One fine morning, my tyre pressure monitoring meter kept beeping indicating very low pressure for my rear tyre. On closer look, I saw a rod stuck into the side wall of my rear tyre. I quickly manually pump the air into the tyre and then drive slowly to workshop. At the workshop, I was recommended to change the tyre. Cost me $200+ (as well changed the other rear tyre as it is over 30K mileage). sigh,. this is part of the price one has to pay for driving. anyway the lesson taught me that a tyre pressure monitoring gadget bought one year ago is essential at times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 While TPMS is a useful tool for detecting tyre problems, drivers should be sensitive to abnormal tyre pressure loss where handling is affected. However, it'll take time and experience to come to that stage where you can feel changes in the handling of the car. yeah. i agree. One thing TPMS cannot do is the sudden burst of tyre. However, for my case, the TPMS sounded the alarm when the pressure was below certain preset level and prompt me to check the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 While TPMS is a useful tool for detecting tyre problems, drivers should be sensitive to abnormal tyre pressure loss where handling is affected. However, it'll take time and experience to come to that stage where you can feel changes in the handling of the car. Fully agreed. Some months ago, I saw one of my front tyres look a bit funny. Not inflated but somehow not round. I thought I was too tired but nevertheless, drove down to tyre shop for my regular tyre check and nitro pump. Got the tyre guy to check and realize that the tyre was punctured and a pin was right inside that tyre. Tyre guy managed to retrieve the nail out skilfully without doing any further damage to that tyre. He also replaced the valve (which was old) and I paid minimally a reasonable sum for all the efforts. As for handling of the car, I felt the car is more stable after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 yeah. i agree. One thing TPMS cannot do is the sudden burst of tyre. However, for my case, the TPMS sounded the alarm when the pressure was below certain preset level and prompt me to check the problem. Where do we get the TPMS? How much does it cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 I had puntures before. Drove a tyre with 2 repairs, no problem using it all the way till worn. Keep a 12V compressor in the car. So in this situation you cant pump up and go to wrkshop. that is easier then changing it yourself. If you need something better or to be able to handle 2 puntures, get the Conti pump with sealant. LESSON 1 : LOOSEN BEFORE YOU JACK- LESSON 2 : CHOKE WHEELS Just to share a joke on the road. I saw a new driver trying to replace a punctured front tyre. He had parked on a gentle slope. OFantastic, this guy gain experience fast, he had jacked up his car, and and and.. was trying very hard to loosen the nuts. He even stand on the wrench........ very strong man. Moments later, the car looked strange, ALAMAK, the car was lowered all the way down. ..... Car shifted and jack collapsed... this time die already, how to get it up again. Another moment later, tow truck came.. use tow trucks fork to lift it up.. to change tyre... The end Pretty scary..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 What a sunday.. Early morning realised one front tyre totally flat and caused by one thick nail (abt 2cm long) on the tyre. Must be the last night drive near constr site. Wanted to change to spare tyre, but realised that the nuts to the wheel are too tight to be removed, not even slight loosen. Already tried whole body weight on it but didn't work. After considering the car is in the open carpark surrounded by other cars and space constraint, decided to call for outdoor tyre service(recom by Mr Soh Tyre). The uncle cme shortly and said no problem, small matter. He uses the generator from his lorry to pump up the flat tyre, then took out the nail and fix the hole. He said no need to change the tyre as it is still use-able and it is common for such. Glad that issue is over, paid him 40 as agreed earlier. Was wondering, is the nuts to the wheels supposed to be so 'super tight'? like that if on the road and need to chge, cfm cannot make it. is it really safe to drive after fixing the hole like tt? any possible side effect? is the charge of $30 for labour and $10 for fixing expensive or norm? if to call AD (toyota) for tow service, how much does it cost? not sure any bros can share on their related experience. thanks. I agree with some bros that it is a reasonable sum that you had paid considering that it is a Sunday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Leong Seng used to carry Orange TPMS but it is no longer on their website, you might want to call them to confirm. However, I've heard of valve breakage during high speed driving, this is some thing that puts me off from installing it. Where do we get the TPMS? How much does it cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Was wondering, is the nuts to the wheels supposed to be so 'super tight'? like that if on the road and need to chge, cfm cannot make it. Yep. It is supposed to be tight. Learn to use your leg and foot to loosen the nut. I use 4-way lug wrench. Easier to loosen lug nuts with this type of wrench as you can hold one side using hand (pull), and push the other side using your foot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Try Yap brothers at Ubi for the band type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 next time, if you encounter the same problem again, 1) get a can of WD40... or.. 2) get a fat guy to use his weight to open for u Your problem is common... many of those stupid tyreshop buy big airgun for lorry so that they can use for both comercial vehicle and private vechicle. Problem will arise where they may over tighten using those big airgun... Just recall back where u change/rotate/balance your tyre and go back to the shop again to F*ck the boss.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Leong Seng used to carry Orange TPMS but it is no longer on their website, you might want to call them to confirm. However, I've heard of valve breakage during high speed driving, this is some thing that puts me off from installing it. They still have. I saw quite a number of units behind their counter but dun know how much. Saw them when I went to change battery. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...