Having a Prison Record

Ahtong

Hearsay from those clerks during NS that those who had declared 302 will not be eligible to apply or enjoy certain benefits when back to civilian life .

Anyone here declared to be 302 can clarify ? [:p]

need to ask krado..maybe he got declare... [laugh]

no lah..

For a person with criminal record, it depends on the company he is going. On certain employment forms, you will be asked if you had been charged in any court of law. If they ask, you will have to declare accordingly. If never ask, you are not obliged to say.

But so far all the companies i went to interview for, all had a section on criminal charges leh. Unless apply as kopitiam server maybe dun have ba. lol

I think only one place requires you to have prison record...

Ah Long Pte Ltd....if you dun have, you get terminated [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

I started this thread because I suspect that being "marked" due to prison record is more urban legend than actual truth. If one avoids the civil service and has a good excuse for the gap in employment, most likely they don't even have to worry about all the yellow ribbon stuff. Sometimes these urban legends are left un-debunked because their fear factor can make people behave.

Speaking of making people behave, my CSM bluffed me last time, saying that a good SAF service record will help me in civillian life. In reality, it is worth even less than toilet paper. At least toilet paper can be used to wipe the backside.

quite true what. Maybe he said "good SAF record" means so long nv get charged to DB will be alright when back to civilian.

i got a firend who beat up army officer and went to db

he declared it when he entered civil service, he got employed leh :mellow:

maybe interviewer also wanted to do the same...and this bugger did for him??? [laugh] [laugh]

I think only one place requires you to have prison record...

Ah Long Pte Ltd....if you dun have, you get terminated [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

this must have qualification from NAFA or lasalle...

If your conviction is minor, it will be gone after 5 years.

Know of someone who has a prison record and also got into Civil Service.

But gotta declared upfront.

For banks, the hiring process requires World Check or similar services for a background check, so they'll find out before they give the offer letter.

Let's say someone has been to jail before. Will there really be a visible record on his IC to distingush him from other people? Will companies actually know they are employing someone with a record if the person never declare so? I guess the civil service might have you blacklisted but private companies should be none the wiser right? The only tell tale sign would probably be an awkward gap in employment history?

Similiarly, what about people who declare gay during NS? Do they actually have a "record"? What's there to stop kengsters from declaring gay now only to be "cured" some years down the road?

the record will always be there, unless is those petty crime, IC never show anything, not like last time, which start with a 9 i think. if you are applying for senior post in big company they will check, but if those sales executive then usually bo check la. Big MNC will check la. once tio record then bo bian liao, got to try your luck to bluff thru and perform in company la, if you can perform who care u got record bo, in other company some bank usually look for those crook that cheat super well to work for them in the company, as this is the people that generate the most money due to their creative mind, but in singapore..u can go n jia sai..hehehehe...George bush also got record in texas for what i have read, but he still president ley

Hearsay from those clerks during NS that those who had declared 302 will not be eligible to apply or enjoy certain benefits when back to civilian life .

Anyone here declared to be 302 can clarify ? [:p]

i think if declare gay also subject to mediacl checkup right?

during our pre-enlistee check-up where they grade you according to pes A/B/C etc, i remember one of the check-up, there were 5 of us told to strip to our underwear and wait outside a room, once inside the room, we were told to pull our underwear down to our knees level and the MO ask us if any of us gay, there were a few other medics standing there looking at our manhood. The five of us started laughing/giggling, apparently, they wanted to see if any of us get a hard-on(suspected gay) during this check. knn, anybody kanna this check also? in the end, still got a bloody pes A and kanna infantry.

Edited by Kiario

i think if declare gay also subject to mediacl checkup right?

during our pre-enlistee check-up where they grade you according to pes A/B/C etc, i remember one of the check-up, there were 5 of us told to strip to our underwear and wait outside a room, once inside the room, we were told to pull our underwear down to our knees level and the MO ask us if any of us gay, there were a few other medics standing there looking at our manhood. The five of us started laughing/giggling, apparently, they wanted to see if any of us get a hard-on(suspected gay) during this check. knn, anybody kanna this check also? in the end, still got a bloody pes A and kanna infantry.

Wah, so happening ah. [:p]