Ithunk 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 as above a car brand with so much prestige class and history ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 as above a car brand with so much prestige class and history first of all, you need a big landscape for this project. SG land is limited, need not to mention the rental, raw materials cost and etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 very difficult. think creative. i mean Creative, our sg comapny as compared to world market Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 SG cannot even make a Geely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 maybe start small. motorcycles. possible. smaller production footprint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 The garment has already achieved more than that - COE... No matter what luxury car you buy, you must buy COE as well.... It's more profitable than making a car..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 The garment has already achieved more than that - COE... No matter what luxury car you buy, you must buy COE as well.... It's more profitable than making a car..... exactly, why go into cars production when they can just sell papers which even exceeds the value of some geely/proton/kia/hyundai? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinablue Clutched September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 as above a car brand with so much prestige class and history sg gov will never go into car manufacturing, they are pro-public transport thus they will not be eating their own words. Anyway, even if the gov will go into car manufacturing, the brand will never match the prestige and heritage of brands like RR, Ferrari, etc. even lexus don't even come close(like their LS series), some may beg to differ for the latest offering Lexus LFA. but comparing performance & technology to heritage & prestige is a different thing altogether. the only time Lexus can reign supreme in prestige is when all the brands like MB,BMW,Aston Martin,RR,Bentley,JAGUAR,LAMBO,FERRARI..ETC closed shop. that's sad but true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 as above a car brand with so much prestige class and history wait singapore land as big as italy then can make ferrari, now?? a kancil also cannot la how siol?? foreign talent again??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 The garment has already achieved more than that - COE... No matter what luxury car you buy, you must buy COE as well.... It's more profitable than making a car..... ya lor from ERP u will earn more profit than making cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Wait long long. Singapore will NEVER make cars. NEVER. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iygnaug 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 How about investing in manufacturing plants in china to make China Cars with Singapore Tech (if any)? I guess the logo of that car will be a merlion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 How about investing in manufacturing plants in china to make China Cars with Singapore Tech (if any)? I guess the logo of that car will be a merlion the problem is the market is driven by demand, would singaporean want to buy a singapore car that its technology is backward?? making car require established branding, most of cars in singapore has a history of more than 20 years. the only thing can do is to buy the share of BMW or Audi why we should create our own when u can buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 How about investing in manufacturing plants in china to make China Cars with Singapore Tech (if any)? I guess the logo of that car will be a merlion then the car will have the Made in china label on it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 only when singaporeans start supporting local made goods 1st Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 only when singaporeans start supporting local made goods 1st support local women! dun take those from china when you go geylang ok!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Then why SG is making tanks and hand-guns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 that's why those bosses didn't even think of producing cars here..... so they've gone one step further, to make paper.... COE it's so much more profitable than making cars.... a good (negative) example would be across the causeway.... [lipsrsealed] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...