Buzzzz Clutched October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 recently went over causeway and forgot to top up petrol, fall below half and near to 1/4. kana $100 fine as first timer. any bro kana before? feel damn sian. after jam n toll smemore. any idea when do they normally will check? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 i went in so many times but never been check before. i normally go in during weekend around 6 am. what time u got checked? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 (edited) i went in many times with 3/4 tank never kana check, only once i really forgot and they checked. kana fined and drive back to pump b4 they allow u to enter malaysia. pure luck... Edited October 24, 2010 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzzzz Clutched October 24, 2010 Author Share October 24, 2010 went in 10plus in the evening.. really unlucky. normally will maintain at least btwn half and 3/4 tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzzzz Clutched October 24, 2010 Author Share October 24, 2010 i went in many times with 3/4 tank never kana check, only once i really forgot and they checked. kana fined and drive back to pump b4 they allow u to enter malaysia. pure luck... you are right man. its all abt luck. really unlucky on that night i must say. thats y the lousy feeling abt it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 i do notice they focus on certain category of cars thou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iamying Neutral Newbie October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 (edited) oh come on. this 3/4 ruling has been going on for years already. you can remember to bring your passport but not top up your petrol? haha plus, there's warning signs of the 3/4 rule before u reach the causeway.. Edited October 24, 2010 by Iamying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Like which kind? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzzzz Clutched October 24, 2010 Author Share October 24, 2010 I thought its quite random.. asking cars to unwind and peak inside. maybe not true but at least from what I notice that nite.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Usually they don't check during peak period. Like morning 6-10am and evening 3-7pm. The reason it can cause backlog and huge traffic jam. At night 10pm to 2am they usually check for the simple reason most cars that go in during that time their main aim is to top up petrol. But But But, once in a while they check all the car whether during peak, non peak, morning evening night whatever. The word is deterence..... It is like ciggie.... u can smuggle and don't caught for 5 years but suay kena 100 percent check and get caught..... Not worth it..... I thought its quite random.. asking cars to unwind and peak inside. maybe not true but at least from what I notice that nite.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Have been checked i think 4 times so far, every time they check EVERY car at the choke point just past passport control. so don't think they target certain cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Batlim 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Checking nowadays are random, so u still hv to top-up b4 entering MY. But if yr gauge is too low like 1/4 tank then they will fine u lor. Anyway, I always put in some petrol if it is too low, no point getting fine. I remember my first time kena was s$50 fine, but quite a while back leow.... tt time i really forgot to topup...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevee5 Neutral Newbie October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 There is a monitor placed on the desk of the custom officer. What do you think it is for? To check the number of times a car goes in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 u lucky u only get $100 fine.. i think the fine was $500... heard from ppl in transport line, they say the X-ray machine was also able to see the level of oil in the tank.. but that is for those big lorry/container... not sure whether they had a miniture version install next to the checking point or not..if yes... i think all those modification are useless in front of those x-ray machine. as for the monitor... nvr see what is the detail on the screen.. but expected is some sort of blacklist... maybe they had recently raid a workshop who do fuel tank modification.. they probably got all the vehicle who had visit the workshop in the blacklist.. so for me.. i dont try to push my luck... even $10 petrol.. i will also go and pump before going in so as to make the needle stay above the 3/4 tank mark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 u lucky u only get $100 fine.. i think the fine was $500... heard from ppl in transport line, they say the X-ray machine was also able to see the level of oil in the tank.. but that is for those big lorry/container... not sure whether they had a miniture version install next to the checking point or not..if yes... i think all those modification are useless in front of those x-ray machine. as for the monitor... nvr see what is the detail on the screen.. but expected is some sort of blacklist... maybe they had recently raid a workshop who do fuel tank modification.. they probably got all the vehicle who had visit the workshop in the blacklist.. so for me.. i dont try to push my luck... even $10 petrol.. i will also go and pump before going in so as to make the needle stay above the 3/4 tank mark. i think second time is 500 or even heavier sentence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 ... not sure whether they had a miniture version install next to the checking point or not..if yes... i think all those modification are useless in front of those x-ray machine. Wouldn't think so, if they really had this think how many people would have been caught. You would be reading in the papers every day about another case... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Same old thread..with same old nagging of the 3/4 tank. Try search for the other thread on tampering with fuel gauge and u will ton of info from there. bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 mod yr needles to 3/4 then ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...