Do You think Bus Lanes are Some places Are a Joke?

Mini-itx2010

Just talking about bus lanes. Sometimes, I think some bus lanes at certain places are a joke and more of a nuisance than anything else.

Eg. the bus lane at CTE exit to Braddel. You will notice the yellow dotted line. However, there is no solid line for the bus lane at all. Its just yellow dotted line all the way and I think it ends after entrance to Toa Payoh. Might as well don't put.

Then certain places have bus lanes that goes like 10-20m (solid line one) and then dotted lines all the way end of bus lane. There is one at alexandra road. At the junction of Depot road. There is dotted line then solid line for a very short distance (20-30m at most?), then dotted line all the way till end of the road at pasir panjang junction.

Queensway has another. It you turn from commonwealth to Queensway, you will notice a very short stretch of bus lane of around 10-15m. then end of bus lane. Because of that, cars entering queensway has to cut to center lane then back to left again (esp. for those going to queensway and not the AYE, they have to keep left). Thus its quite bo liao.

There are several more places.... I just wonder who decide on all these short stretches of bus lanes or all dotte lines w/o any solid lines?

bus lanes are fine..

but can they at least demarcate longer dotted lines for cars exiting into the slip roads.. -_-

ANYWAYS, whats the point of having bus lanes on a crowded road when cars NEED TO QUEUE ON THE BUS LANE to TURN LEFT?? <_<

I just wonder who decide on all these short stretches of bus lanes or all dotte lines w/o any solid lines?

The same bunch of idiots who decide about raising ERP and fooling around with COE quotas. [blush]

Serangoon Road towards Upper Serangoon Road/Potong Pasir. The changes between solid and dotted lines are so frequent (each solid/dotted line extremely short) that anyone caught/seen can always claim he was just turning out from small road or about to turn into small road. That bus lane is an absolute joke and I'd be surprised if anyone has been caught using it.

Orchard road all day bus lane...

Even buses dun wanna travel in it, WTF!!!

Yes, I have seen that also. Got bus lanes for buses but some buses not travelling in bus lanes......

Worse are when those buses swing out of their bus lanes to overtake some other slow moving bus in the bus lane...almost kena hit on the left by a bus on Saturday on Orchard road...missed it by possibly a few seconds...that bus came swinging out without even a signal and I had to let my horn blast for a good 30 seconds before cooling down and moving on! Haiz...driving is no more pleasurable in Singapore...

Just talking about bus lanes. Sometimes, I think some bus lanes at certain places are a joke and more of a nuisance than anything else.

Eg. the bus lane at CTE exit to Braddel. You will notice the yellow dotted line. However, there is no solid line for the bus lane at all. Its just yellow dotted line all the way and I think it ends after entrance to Toa Payoh. Might as well don't put.

Then certain places have bus lanes that goes like 10-20m (solid line one) and then dotted lines all the way end of bus lane. There is one at alexandra road. At the junction of Depot road. There is dotted line then solid line for a very short distance (20-30m at most?), then dotted line all the way till end of the road at pasir panjang junction.

Queensway has another. It you turn from commonwealth to Queensway, you will notice a very short stretch of bus lane of around 10-15m. then end of bus lane. Because of that, cars entering queensway has to cut to center lane then back to left again (esp. for those going to queensway and not the AYE, they have to keep left). Thus its quite bo liao.

There are several more places.... I just wonder who decide on all these short stretches of bus lanes or all dotte lines w/o any solid lines?

Good observation. I believe many/most of the bus lanes are marked so that the other drivers could hardly have time to give ample signal before filtering/turning. Accidents promotion technique?