Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 That is true also. We don't want to hit the wall like Japan, which is really having a problem with enough workforce to keep their economy going due to the aging population. Talking about Japan, an ex-colleague used to joke about Japan aging population. He was curious that despite of a fast greying population, Japan has no problem producing many pretty and young native AV Stars year after year. This industry is so vibrant and show no sign of aging at all ! Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 It is more like someone was so panic about the greying population and did so quickly to make up the number required and "efficiently" too . Regards, Actually, once they become a citizen, facing the same "operating conditions" as us locals, they are no longer "FTs" and should be accepted as one of us. The policies regarding new citizens and mercenary "FTs" are 2 totally different things. And really... neither issues have been properly debated, the govt is just going about it the way they want and ignoring the uncomfortable questions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 That is true also. We don't want to hit the wall like Japan, which is really having a problem with enough workforce to keep their economy going due to the aging population. Somehow, the mnajority of Sgeans are getting too xenophobic, and are not seeing the big peekture for the long term. Macro vision required here and it is going to be along journey to achieve that You see, perhaps you and I are better off (maybe), and thus we see the food chain effect from a higher angle, I may be wrong, but these ppl who are actually questioning, could be at the bottom of the food chain, and thus see FTs as taking away their rice bowl.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 You see, perhaps you and I are better off (maybe), and thus we see the food chain effect from a higher angle, I may be wrong, but these ppl who are actually questioning, could be at the bottom of the food chain, and thus see FTs as taking away their rice bowl.... Wah..your answer very elitest leh. The 600 peanut answer . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 You see, perhaps you and I are better off (maybe), and thus we see the food chain effect from a higher angle, I may be wrong, but these ppl who are actually questioning, could be at the bottom of the food chain, and thus see FTs as taking away their rice bowl.... u got it LOL. It's only a HDB flat, kaopei like it's a million-dollar mansion. It's only a car, a mere piece of machinery, have to struggle to own one. Cannot make it still want to blame others. Like what Throttle used to say, "Da zhong lian zhuang pang zi" (punch yourself swollen just to pass off as a fatty) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Wah..your answer very elitest leh. The 600 peanut answer . Regards, nb...i give balance ok unker....as you see, I may feel that my job might be taken away by the next FT that comes by, but I have myself to prove that I can do a better job, and even though I am more ex, I give VALUE...knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Talking about Japan, an ex-colleague used to joke about Japan aging population. He was curious that despite of a fast greying population, Japan has no problem producing many pretty and young native AV Stars year after year. This industry is so vibrant and show no sign of aging at all ! Regards, [laugh] that's why we love japan. "Quality Assured"! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 u got it LOL. It's only a HDB flat, kaopei like it's a million-dollar mansion. It's only a car, a mere piece of machinery, have to struggle to own one. Cannot make it still want to blame others. Like what Throttle used to say, "Da zhong lian zhuang pang zi" (punch yourself swollen just to pass off as a fatty) Sadly, when they are in a rut, they remain there...and thus it is a downward spiral all the way......All I can offer is, we have ourselves to blame and do not point the fiunger at others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Wah..your answer very elitest leh. The 600 peanut answer . Regards, eh unker...you hor...staying overseeas...guud life hor but seriously, SGeans should take stock of themselves and not look at gahmen for what they can offer to do themselves Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) nb...i give balance ok unker....as you see, I may feel that my job might be taken away by the next FT that comes by, but I have myself to prove that I can do a better job, and even though I am more ex, I give VALUE...knn I used to feel that way, until age catching up and I'm not a minister . Regards, Edited October 31, 2010 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Anyway, FT is here to stay, whether we like it or not. It's survival of the fittest. If you cannot make it, you are eliminated from the race. Simple as that. Can't get landed, go for condo. Then there is EM, EC, 5rm, 4rm, 3rm. Still can't make it, then 2rm or rent from EM services. One day singaporeans will have to rent from FT a room to stay in [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) it is funny that the adults are arguing the benefit of FT and how they contribute to the nation. But what drill deep into the mind of the young are in fact the complaint and ranting also by adults when we make remark of them in the society. So do not have double standard toward the FW or FT because the young cannot tell, if the dad/mum complaints about the FW in the neigbourhood, causing social problems, or the increase in prices (housing or etc.), the young can easily put the blame like their parents when they join the work force. There are obviously some bad impact on the FT policy, how to get the most benefits out from them is also part of the education to the young. I do support the policy but don't feel comfortable from SM comments. Edited October 31, 2010 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 it is funny that the adults are arguing the benefit of FT and how they contribute to the nation. But what drill deep into the mind of the young are in fact the complaint and ranting also by adults when we make remark of them in the society. So do not have double standard toward the FW or FT because the young cannot tell, if the dad/mum complaints about the FW in the neigbourhood, causing social problems, or the increase in prices (housing or etc.), the young can easily put the blame like their parents when they join the work force. There are obviously some bad impact on the FT policy, how to get the most benefits out from them is also part of the education to the young. I do support the policy but don't feel comfortable from MM comments. eh...SM lah...dun anyhow say...kena sue you balek kampung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 eh...SM lah...dun anyhow say...kena sue you balek kampung change liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 change liao MM oredi poor thing...you summore kacau him....wait he cum visit you hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 There are obviously some bad impact on the FT policy, how to get the most benefits out from them is also part of the education to the young. I do support the policy but don't feel comfortable from SM comments. Because SM also dunno how to answer that qns. He retired liao, this one too tough for him. furthermore, he cannot interfere in current policies. can only give advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Somehow, the mnajority of Sgeans are getting too xenophobic, and are not seeing the big peekture for the long term. Macro vision required here and it is going to be along journey to achieve that You see, perhaps you and I are better off (maybe), and thus we see the food chain effect from a higher angle, I may be wrong, but these ppl who are actually questioning, could be at the bottom of the food chain, and thus see FTs as taking away their rice bowl.... Many types of FTs The low paying sector.. talking construction and factory worker etc.. yes.. they are FTs too. The jobs they do are not jobs most locals want/can do. Its an unfortunate fact that locals will be priced out of that sector as our economy evolves... relatively few locals are effected. The really high paying FT ones that requires special skills are needed, they created jobs for many others. Again very few locals are in this sector.. its special skills after all. But the middle ground, thats the problem, they dont bring special skills locals dont have, they dont do work locals dont want to do. When local jobs in the say.. 3k and above region is being replaced by "FTs" on 2K, is it sustainable? The vast majority of workers fall in this category. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Life wasn't easier when we graduated 20 odd years ago. We had to save, give tuition to get through studies, put off buying a car etc. When I finally got a car on my own with full payment from savings, I opted for a 2nd hand Hyundai Excel and kept it for a long while. That's how we get by. Hearing from the younger generation, they seem to expect everything to be made available for them easily. They better think: If they cannot compete with FTs on our homeground, how can we as Singapore compete with FTs boosting the economy oif their homelands that are rich in size and resources in the global economy? Better to get FTs working in Singapore to sustain our edge in the global economy, than for Singapore to become irrelevant economically. So you expect the younger generration's early years same as yours? Like that Singapore got progress at all meh? Wa lao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...