LoverofCar 6th Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 In my opinion. This sales person is only using you as a stepping stone to know your company more lah...what makes you think that he want u to buy or have the authority to buy.....i'm in sales for 17 years and I can tell u....at time, the inside information are from those not related to the actual purchasing....so....I think the way u reply to him is just showing non professionalism on your part and you are degrading yourself....remember, at times, you learn from the sales person...too...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Dear Salesman I am available for Chilli crab at Jumbo and KTV (those more interactive kind and not the family kind) sessions at anytime. However I am not the purchasing person and do not have any authority to make POs. But I am buddy buddy with the temp Purchasing assistant aka as Poly industrial training intern and if the dinner and KTV are up to standard, I will be very happy to put in a good word for your company. Please understand this is no guarantee any purchase will be made of your product from you company. Regards XXX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 In my opinion. This sales person is only using you as a stepping stone to know your company more lah...what makes you think that he want u to buy or have the authority to buy.....i'm in sales for 17 years and I can tell u....at time, the inside information are from those not related to the actual purchasing....so....I think the way u reply to him is just showing non professionalism on your part and you are degrading yourself....remember, at times, you learn from the sales person...too...... I usually tell them..."Oh its interesting...tell me more.." And then i leave my hp on the table and attend to my other stuff....eventually they get sick of talking to the air and chances are they will not call again. I wonder why Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthkk Clutched November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 aiya they are just doing their job la... at least they have to let their boss know they have email you, tried their best and is rejected by you, and not that they are lazy and doing nothing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 In my opinion. This sales person is only using you as a stepping stone to know your company more lah...what makes you think that he want u to buy or have the authority to buy.....i'm in sales for 17 years and I can tell u....at time, the inside information are from those not related to the actual purchasing....so....I think the way u reply to him is just showing non professionalism on your part and you are degrading yourself....remember, at times, you learn from the sales person...too...... what goes around, comes around. one day, the "email" will haunt you, degrade you, belittle you & destroy you. The power of internet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Upsell more comms ma Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 recently a lady called and tell me i won a free holiday , just need to attend a sales talk and no question ask. i told her i not interested, to which she sounded surprised and ask me why ? i just tell her, i am not interested, but thanks. just now, hsbc call me again ... haiz. If they call your home or personal HP, do what Seinfeld did. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 I am the one who contacted him to purchase one spare part and after that, he start to email me lor. Keep on wanting to meet me. I have already edited the email so no company details are disclosed. Anyway, he is just one of them. There are many more salesman like him. He's doing his job. You're a customer of his. And now you some more admit that you dd buy something from hs company a spare part. So just tell him, it's not necessary to meet as you've no requirements that you know of now. Or tell him to contact your manager. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alantyc Clutched November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Ya man... for me ah.. i will juz refer any cost related matters directly to the sales manager.. coz if i get involved in cost ah.. my company sure close down liao!! Haha.. Im juz a project guy who oni thinks of getting the jobs run smoothly & complete wif no delays nia... spend how much oso can as long as can run lor.. haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 (edited) Personally, I would've handled it differently. Approach your coy's decision makers privately to ask them if they're the least bit interested. If they are, fwd them the email with a cc note to the salesguy that one of the recipients may f/up if interested. If they're not, then let the salesman know that you've asked around, and your coy's not interested, but *more politely* than you did it. Never burn bridges if you can help it. The salesman wasn't that rude/irritating/persistent from what you posted. You definitely overreacted, and it's never professional to send emails like this in a business context. Edited November 9, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 (edited) BTW, The four technical manager here, three are golden hair and one chinese malaysian(my direct boss). The six project manager here, all six golden hair. The technical director, golden hair. I am the rare breed, Singaporean. Do you even think I can voice my opinions and make it known to them??? Do you think they will listen to my suggestion for new equipment??? My job is, boss say I wana buy a toyota axio. Me go and find all the toyota PI and get the best three quotes for their approval. U think I can tell them toyota axio no good, get the honda civic??? They will tell me go hong kan. you dun understand that maybe he has already approach the bigwigs but they did not want to meet him and instead he thought it could be better to meet someone lower in rank who may entertain him..or it could be that he called up your company and they directed him to contact you because in some companies the way they work is that they prefer vendors to contact the relevant lower rank employee first and after meeting, the lower rank employee would then forward the information to the bosses for their consideration...do you think that if he has the opportunity to meet the decision makers, he would kee siao and insist to meet you?? your email reply to him wasn't at all professional btw...it actuallly kind of reflected badly on yourself.. Edited November 9, 2010 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 (edited) Personally, I would've handled it differently. Approach your coy's decision makers privately to ask them if they're the least bit interested. If they are, fwd them the email with a cc note to the salesguy that one of the recipients may f/up if interested. If they're not, then let the salesman know that you've asked around, and your coy's not interested, but *more politely* than you did it. Never burn bridges if you can help it. The salesman wasn't that rude/irritating/persistent from what you posted. You definitely overreacted, and it's never professional to send emails like this in a business context. actually I thought this is what most people would do from my own experience with purchasers and technical managers...instead of just saying NO means NO without even sounding out the interest of the managers who may actually be keen to explore alternative suppliers.. Edited November 9, 2010 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 ... The four technical manager here, three are golden hair and one chinese malaysian(my direct boss). The six project manager here, all six golden hair. The technical director, golden hair. I am the rare breed, Singaporean. Do you even think I can voice my opinions and make it known to them??? Do you think they will listen to my suggestion for new equipment??? ... So, now, chinese malaysian is also = golden hair?? Wah, their country really lose a lot of talent, man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 And people wonder why u are the target of vandalism. Sheeesh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 BTW, The four technical manager here, three are golden hair and one chinese malaysian(my direct boss). The six project manager here, all six golden hair. The technical director, golden hair. I am the rare breed, Singaporean. Do you even think I can voice my opinions and make it known to them??? Do you think they will listen to my suggestion for new equipment??? My job is, boss say I wana buy a toyota axio. Me go and find all the toyota PI and get the best three quotes for their approval. U think I can tell them toyota axio no good, get the honda civic??? They will tell me go hong kan. You tell them come MCF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 BTW, The four technical manager here, three are golden hair and one chinese malaysian(my direct boss). The six project manager here, all six golden hair. The technical director, golden hair. I am the rare breed, Singaporean. Do you even think I can voice my opinions and make it known to them??? Do you think they will listen to my suggestion for new equipment??? My job is, boss say I wana buy a toyota axio. Me go and find all the toyota PI and get the best three quotes for their approval. U think I can tell them toyota axio no good, get the honda civic??? They will tell me go hong kan. Alot have been said here and there is no need for me to add......the sad truth "Is Singaporeans so lowly educated that even have the so called FT to be our bosses" Even more so when your direct boss is a chinese Malaysian Do you actually think he is any better then you ????? What happen to us as proud citizens of Singapore???? Bottom-line is all Singaporeans especially the Chinese are not united at all, always afraid so much so that SM Goh also said we kiase. We have been stepped upon too many time, it is time for us to stand up for ourselves. Why not look at another point of view, gather your network even if you don't think you need it. One day your boss needs something urgently and don't know where to find, then you remember your salesman friend could possibly help. You put up a suggestion (not recommendation) if it works out, then score point with your golden hair boss. Don't forget even if you have flawless results in your work place, one day they still replace you with F trash according to their whims and fancies. Most of the time it is the friends that you make outside your workplace that can help, even more so in the marine industry. I know because I am in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 My direct boss, the chinese malaysian, has been with the company for a very very long time. This is his first job in his working life. Fresh from uni, he joined my company as cadet engineer. Spent his working life out at sea with the same company until chief engineer and he given shore based job by my technical director and then slowly became my direct boss. Can you imagine sticking to ur first job since u started working??? Thatz why he is one of my director's pet. I used to work directly under my technical director. But this chinese malaysian short of manpower, so my director ask me to help him out. So I am with this malaysian for 2 yrs already. He is a great guy, so is my director. Thatz why I'm in the company for six yrs liao. I have told my direct boss that I would like to move away from purchasing and back to technical jobscope. Thatz the reason my director employed me for my technical past. He is helping me look out for an Assistant Technical Manager post from any of our sub-branches in the world so that I can climb up. The problem is I dont have a COC1 cert, its a marine chief engineer cert which you can only obtain thru sailing. My sailing time with the Navy was not counted, thatz the regret of my life. Should have joined the merchant ships rather than the navy to clock my sea time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 I think he is new to the industry. I am in the marine industry doing sales, normally, I will approach the purchasing manager,supt,fleet manager,GM,technical director. You really understand the marine industry!!! Over here, purchasers do not have any decision making at all. We are here just to completed the paper trail of the purchasing process. I dont control the budget so I got no say to buy or not. The managers are the one who control the budget. When I was working for the shipyard, me too only approach the superintendent to recommend equipments. Would I go to the ship crew and recommend products??? Hell No man. I will be wasting my time. My job as a purchaser is to just complete the paper trail so that it looks good on the audit!!! Manager say buy A product. I will source for three quotes for product A, submit the quotes for approval. Upon approval, create a PO state the time and place of delivery. Ensure delivery is complete. When invoice submitted, ensure price is correct and has a delivery note endorsed by staff of my company. Once accounts made payment, this purchase is complete. So where in my job scope can I recommend product B??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...