Little_prince Supersonic November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 You tell them come MCF. white fur!= golden hair wor... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 I am the one who contacted him to purchase one spare part and after that, he start to email me lor. Keep on wanting to meet me. I have already edited the email so no company details are disclosed. Anyway, he is just one of them. There are many more salesman like him. he hoping that u will need more spares mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 When I was working directly under my technical director, my fren who was with a popular marine engine maker introduce me to another fren of his who is a salesman for a propulsion unit company. So I happily spent time listen to this propulsion salesman. What slow speed maneuverability lah, what give good fuel consumption lah and he told me to pass his brochure and contact to my director. So one day, I went to my technical director and spoke to him of this great new propulsion unit for our new vessels we are going to build. He told me directly that these are all gimmicks!!!! He showed me his pile of brochures from other salesman. I quickly excuse myself and went back to my usual work. From then on, I will never want to recommend anything to my director. Any salesman want to chat, please chat with the correct personnel. I dont earn any commission and wouldnt have a comprehensive knowledge within that 1-2hr discussion. So its best for me to mind my own business. You want talk/chat, look for the correct person. Although I am very direct in my emails(my boss also told me I am very direct), I do not lie to you. Thatz why I can never be a salesman. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 You really understand the marine industry!!! Over here, purchasers do not have any decision making at all. We are here just to completed the paper trail of the purchasing process. I dont control the budget so I got no say to buy or not. The managers are the one who control the budget. When I was working for the shipyard, me too only approach the superintendent to recommend equipments. Would I go to the ship crew and recommend products??? Hell No man. I will be wasting my time. My job as a purchaser is to just complete the paper trail so that it looks good on the audit!!! Manager say buy A product. I will source for three quotes for product A, submit the quotes for approval. Upon approval, create a PO state the time and place of delivery. Ensure delivery is complete. When invoice submitted, ensure price is correct and has a delivery note endorsed by staff of my company. Once accounts made payment, this purchase is complete. So where in my job scope can I recommend product B??? sometimes its not wat the manager wants, its wat the customer wants. if the captain ask for danish cheese, do u think he will accept if u send him french cheese? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 sometimes its not wat the manager wants, its wat the customer wants. if the captain ask for danish cheese, do u think he will accept if u send him french cheese? This will already be made clear before any sales contract is signed between the customer and the yard. You think they will suka suka change specs after the contract is signed meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 he hoping that u will need more spares mah When we purchase an equipment, we will ask for three copies of the operation manual and spare parts manual. One copy onboard the ship, one copy in the head office and one copy in the operating office. Whatever spare part I going to order will be from that spare part manual. And it will be the manufacturer's recommended spares. So I cant be ordering more than the manufacturer recommendation. Its like servicing your toyota car. I will definately buy the toyota oil filter from the stockist. Would I want to buy a nissan or honda oil filter for my toyota car??? Toyota manual say replace one oil filter for 10k km servicing, would I buy one oil filter and one fuel filter??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 (edited) sometimes its not wat the manager wants, its wat the customer wants. if the captain ask for danish cheese, do u think he will accept if u send him french cheese? Sorry hor. In modern shipping, the purchasing is thru the office. It is no longer the captain is the king. Watever the captain wants, he has to write in to the managers in the office before it gets approved. Last time when popeye was the sailorman, captain say he wants product A, he gets product A. Nowadays, if the captain cannot agree with the office decision, the captain will be replaced. There are many captains out there waiting to replace anyone. Look at the number of filipino and indonesian captains waiting in line. Welcome to the marine industry. Edited November 10, 2010 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 If I post my internal email correspondence between vessel and office, you will be surprised!!! Captain put in a request for a 26" LCD tv for his cabin. Technical Manager reject I told me to purchase a 21" CRT tv. His reason, the tv console is built for CRT tv, not for a fanciful LCD tv. The captain keep quiet and accept the CRT tv. Captain request for lobster in his provision request. Operations Manager reject and told me to cancel the lobster. His reason, although the captain is an Aussie, they are not operating in Aussie waters. FYI, Aussie Mariner's Union have very strong backing from their government. Vessel with Aussie crew operating in Aussie waters, we have to provide them with lobsters as part of their provisions. They get quite good benefits, that why they prefer to work onboard vessels in Aussie waters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 wah... got lobster soem more?? good life sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 If I post my internal email correspondence between vessel and office, you will be surprised!!! Captain put in a request for a 26" LCD tv for his cabin. Technical Manager reject I told me to purchase a 21" CRT tv. His reason, the tv console is built for CRT tv, not for a fanciful LCD tv. The captain keep quiet and accept the CRT tv. Captain request for lobster in his provision request. Operations Manager reject and told me to cancel the lobster. His reason, although the captain is an Aussie, they are not operating in Aussie waters. FYI, Aussie Mariner's Union have very strong backing from their government. Vessel with Aussie crew operating in Aussie waters, we have to provide them with lobsters as part of their provisions. They get quite good benefits, that why they prefer to work onboard vessels in Aussie waters. Internal email correspondence should always be kept in confidence and not divulged on a public forum. Do be careful on this point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 Internal email correspondence should always be kept in confidence and not divulged on a public forum. Do be careful on this point. I know. Thanks for the reminder. When they investigate TT Durai, they also dig into the internal emails. So if you are an auditor, sure to see lots of juicy correspondence. Over here, ppl email each other for gossip lah, who and who resign, who not happy will who. I just read only and never comment. You will never know who will read the emails, cos its all stored for two years in the server + backup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Sorry hor. In modern shipping, the purchasing is thru the office. It is no longer the captain is the king. Watever the captain wants, he has to write in to the managers in the office before it gets approved. Last time when popeye was the sailorman, captain say he wants product A, he gets product A. Nowadays, if the captain cannot agree with the office decision, the captain will be replaced. There are many captains out there waiting to replace anyone. Look at the number of filipino and indonesian captains waiting in line. Welcome to the marine industry. so i suppose u working for the ship owner then somehow different practice if u are providing the shipping services Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 hey...u need hydraulic pipe bo ?? thinking of going into this area...know a local reputated supplier whom is tyring hard to get into marine but without much luck...if got kan tao...can link up together...ha ha ha...but no worries...i am not the salesman that will haunt you...in fact i am a technical guy...just happened to see what you write and know the trade u in....so see can link bo only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 wah... got lobster soem more?? good life sia Last time purchasing, vessel captain email the vendor directly and cc the manager. I dont see any email correspondence. Now is captain email manager, manager forward email to me to ask for quotes, me email vendor for quotes + order and vessel gets the goods. So I can see all the email correspondence between vessel and office. All these procedures in the name of AUDITING. Thatz the time everyone panic and clear up loose ends. I kena one black mark in this year's audit. Cos I ordered from a Singapore agent instead of manufacturer's appointed Singapore agent. Like that also kena. Pui!!! Stupid Honkie Auditor come question my decision. If I wana eat money from that Singapore agent, u think I still driving a Jap car??? I will be driving a Lambo liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 hey...u need hydraulic pipe bo ?? thinking of going into this area...know a local reputated supplier whom is tyring hard to get into marine but without much luck...if got kan tao...can link up together...ha ha ha...but no worries...i am not the salesman that will haunt you...in fact i am a technical guy...just happened to see what you write and know the trade u in....so see can link bo only... We get our hydraulic pipes from Sunway. But we get our ship chandler to get it for us. Our ship chandler give us the same price as Sunway but provide us with personalised added service. The ship chandler, buy the pipes, give us credit terms, keep in their warehouse and deliver it directly to the vessel when the vessel in SG. If urgent, ship chandler will take ferry to meet the vessel at anchorage or OPL(Outer Port Limits). Normal vendors do not provide such services. So sad to say, we dont deal directly with any hydraulic pipe company at the moment. Cos we dont buy other brands of hydraulic pipe every other day. Only once in a blue moon. 99% of the time we purchase manufacturer or yard purchased hydraulic pipes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 (edited) Last time purchasing, vessel captain email the vendor directly and cc the manager. I dont see any email correspondence. Now is captain email manager, manager forward email to me to ask for quotes, me email vendor for quotes + order and vessel gets the goods. So I can see all the email correspondence between vessel and office. All these procedures in the name of AUDITING. Thatz the time everyone panic and clear up loose ends. I kena one black mark in this year's audit. Cos I ordered from a Singapore agent instead of manufacturer's appointed Singapore agent. Like that also kena. Pui!!! Stupid Honkie Auditor come question my decision. If I wana eat money from that Singapore agent, u think I still driving a Jap car??? I will be driving a Lambo liao. Actually the auditor is right to question that point. It's not about corruption, but more of accountability if things happen to the ordered part. The manufacturer might deny any warranty claim because the part was not purchased from the manufacturer's appointed vendor. Edited November 10, 2010 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 (edited) so i suppose u working for the ship owner then somehow different practice if u are providing the shipping services Yup, we are ship owner + ship management. We manage our own fleet of 70 vessels with 30 vessels still in the building process all over the world. We are one of the world leader in the offshore & marine industry. But locally, we are kind of unknown. There was once I asked my company director, why do we need to subscribe to so many mariner's newsletter and magazine??? Hardly anyone in the company reads them except for a few of the angmo managers. He told me, the subscription is not solely for reading, it is a way to make our company known to the charterers!!! Edited November 10, 2010 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 oh...ha ha ha...u are very direct....so i must be direct also...the brand i am refering to is manuli...if got requirement...just let me know...to match the service of ship chandler may not be a problem....as they are looking at getting into the market... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...