Fcw75 Hypersonic November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 Everyone has their own preferences. No point forcing FB down someone's throat if he dun like it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 I do agree to a certain level, then again, my job doesn't allow such, and I ban users from doing so as well, at ,my workplace. well.. FB has helped me find some of my long lost pri school friends who are spread all over the world and to catch up with them... Furthermore, you control WHAT you post online mah.. I don't usually post about my personal life.. but that did not stop me from going on FB to find out what my friends are up to.. They want to post whatever things online, is up to them.. Just be prepared for any consequences lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 No, server security is of importance to me. Besides, work is for work, not for friendly chatter and after work sessions. Secret Service? Yap, these days, the standard of the agents seems to have dropped. Away from their phone & computer, they cannot tahan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 Many a instances reported on the cyber world of such happenings. People in our industry know only too well. U lock ur profile will be okay if they can penetrate FB security then they are solid liaoz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 I was pretty much ignorant of Facebook until about a year ago. Friendster totally bypassed me! Social networking sites are powerful, now that I know. Found long-lost friends from overseas. Arrange meet-ups, etc. Wouldn't have known what had happened to them, if not for facebook. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 I am an old fart. I don't have a FB account. For me, FB will only be good to link up with long lost friends/classmates. But then I will not be checking up that page frequently since I have no interest in it at all. I used to use my Wife's FB account to play Bejewelled sometimes. Now that I have it d/l onto my HP, no need to use her account already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 (edited) FB can link back all the lost friends, which is good (and bad lah if u have enemies) but i cant stand ppl who are OBSESSED about it. in office, at home keep using fb to update this and that and check on other people's updates.. Worse part of all, still FB-ing on the phone when hanging out with friends / family Edited November 20, 2010 by Lamzh87 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 anything can be good or bad depending on the individual. I think fb is good in the sense for people to find back long lost frens and aquaintances and do a bit of catching up with friends and sharing of some info. it is ridiculous to me only when people starts to get overly obsessed with all the games during and after office hours and any damn thing also want to post for people to see..other than that, I find no harm in FB...I myself have an account but merely uses it to share certain photos and information with close friends..that's about it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 haha...i just deregistered my FB account. I find it no point. signs of getting old? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinydog Clutched November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 FB is wicked sick. latest game to be hooked on - Backyard Monster:D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 (edited) I find it quite boliao. I prefer to keep my life private that's why until now still dun want to setup an account. Today ppl find fb change their life, tmr when smth new comes along ppl will say it revolutionize their life. Say until like can fly. There are many ways of keeping in touch with friends. Some people like to know how their friends, especially those they seldom meet, or very old classsmates doing. Some not so interested. Boliao or not is down to individual lah. Edited November 21, 2010 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 oh ya FB can organise and invite for events meaning no nid so troublesome SMS all ,email or or call all to arrange save alot times and pple just share their views..from there conclude and settle quite good i would say and save alot time n $ lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 i find facebook to be the most boliao and over rated web application. my friend commented that i am from another planet becos i dont have facebook account. might as well start one call 'backside book', more intrigueing. Preciely why I don't have one too. With the search engines able to trawl so much info, I don't understans why people would want to expose their entire personal info in it, especially putting photos. I've colleagues who goes around viewing and saving these photos of their friends and friend's. The security settings are not very effective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 (edited) Facebook......hmmm.... Edited November 21, 2010 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 U lock ur profile will be okay if they can penetrate FB security then they are solid liaoz It's possible to penetrate the FB security. Just get someone who knows or is friend of the target and copy the weblink. It'll be possible to share with others even when these people who are not friends with the target to view the contents like photos. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 the factor that makes it so popular is.. Facebook allows the third party applications, just like iPhone... last time i'm also hooked on a football managing game in fb, to the extent of updating it everyday but i dun like to play games with no objectives so after a while grew sianz and remove the app liao now no more playing fb games And with that Iphone apps, my colleagues have been updating where they check into everytime they move somewhere. Don't know why people would want to inform the whole world where they are and what they are doing. Another colleague would spend most of her time updating her FB with pics and status, everyday at least changing status 4-5 times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 (edited) backend i dun noe,i not really into IT but i tried b4 pple give url to view some stuffs and they do a lock to their info,cannot..no permission.coz even photos u can lock also. for hacking backend , i not very sure but i was told not easy..my colleagues who lecture IT security and some friends in this industry told me like i said if its so easy,FB wont have a team just doing security and hired by such a fat packages and doing hackathon every week ,if they can do it,is very solid and talented to penetrate liao.. anyway those like can just use,dun like to say just dun use...lol Edited November 21, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Preciely why I don't have one too. With the search engines able to trawl so much info, I don't understans why people would want to expose their entire personal info in it, especially putting photos. I've colleagues who goes around viewing and saving these photos of their friends and friend's. The security settings are not very effective. I hav FB & i can't google myself. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...