Copen 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 hm. this age still got use film ah? it's amazing if they do. how they can process all the films from cameras all over singapore and then issue fines. when was the TP visit anw? They came at '08. Not sure how they process the films. But there's was question by them saying why some camera don't flash. Someone answered out of film, and it was correct as per by them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 idk sia. i quite dulan the cameras not working too. there's this old uncle (50-60s) looking sibei sibei ya ya in an old merc. its the kind of face you see liao you wanna slap and spit. seen him with his wife or an old (her age) mistress. so we were at the traffic lights at woodlands ave 3 X woodlands centre road. the timings for the lights have been changed to allow those coming down from BKE to go straight and turn right first. that is to say our side stays red till the opp side clears their right turn. that uncle upon seeing the opp traffic move, immediately made a u-turn. how i effing wish that the lights went off. it didnt. this may be a bug lor. that the cameras at junctions with diff timings may not work towards end of red light. i doubt the camera will capture any car U-turning...it's positioned to catch those cars tat chiong straight, rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 i doubt the camera will capture any car U-turning...it's positioned to catch those cars tat chiong straight, rite? you make me sad. i really dislike his face. haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 Some red light cam is use film one. If no film then cannot capture. yes, i agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 What happen now is the road got sensor.after the lights turn red,think need two touch,as in front and rear wheel go thru then will activate. yes, I can confirm this. once I was trying to tell this female driver that her car headlight is not on, than suddenly the traffic light changed color, I had to e-brake, but my front wheel cross the first line, only one flash, nothing happen, the flash took no pictures. the 2 sensor on the floor will activate 2 flash and take 2 pictures, 1st one take your car in the box, 2rd one take your car leaving the box with the car no plate seen very clearly. so if you can stop in time, got flash no pictures lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 thats a rumor right? who has ever seen anyone service the cameras and add film to the boxes before? I have seen it before, and not once. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 yes, I can confirm this. once I was trying to tell this female driver that her car headlight is not on, than suddenly the traffic light changed color, I had to e-brake, but my front wheel cross the first line, only one flash, nothing happen, the flash took no pictures. the 2 sensor on the floor will activate 2 flash and take 2 pictures, 1st one take your car in the box, 2rd one take your car leaving the box with the car no plate seen very clearly. so if you can stop in time, got flash no pictures lor i remember driving instructor from bbdc tell me before the camera takes 3 shots. The 3 shots is to determine your speed and whether u chiong or is stop after the line. If they determine u got intention to stop den won't summon u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 I was behind this very slow altis along simei ave when I decided to overtake her. I took a short glance and realized she's on the phone with someone. Traffic light turned amber and I slowed to a halt. Maybe she was distracted, she kept going towards the lights at a snail space and beat the red light. AMAZINGLY, the cameras didn't take her offence. she on the phone using handfree or without using handfree? with handfree, really there is nothing we can do.. otherwise, take down her car no and also state the time (detail time).. so the police can check her phone record.. see whether she is online during that said time or not. Dont think u r doing something bad or kapok.. if might save the next "tree truck" that was being drag for 2km. also mention she beat the red light in the report. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 i remember driving instructor from bbdc tell me before the camera takes 3 shots. The 3 shots is to determine your speed and whether u chiong or is stop after the line. If they determine u got intention to stop den won't summon u. not very sure is 2 or 3 shots that they take, so far I only see 2 shots, and the flash is very strong and bright, saw it a few times and I remember only see 2 shots. my friend (ex-TP), told me, first shot take when front wheel cross senor, 2rd shot take when back wheel cross senor, 1st shot take a close up of the car, 2rd shot take a further shot, this is to confirm that the car did beat the red light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 Yes confirm, 2 flashes and it's from the camera at your left-rear, not the opposite or adjacent one. Those who are into photography will know that digital or film, still need flash. Try to capture a moving object at low light conditions with flash even with the largest available aperture like F1.0, see will there be any image capture? The possibility of using infra-red film or digital using infra red flash that's invisible to eye is not really possible for daylight. So when approaching any junction and see a camera at the left better not accelerate and try to beat the split seconds, it's 12 points and $200. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lele2609 Neutral Newbie November 28, 2010 Share November 28, 2010 sometimes i think e cameras are a hoax..everytime i saw e sign speed cam ahead..i will still maintain my speed.. but i heard frens say as long as u dun up to 130 in tat cam area shld b alrite..and the junction cam..i saw quite a few beat red light leh wonder dey ever kena anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rk98 Neutral Newbie November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 I think is a rumour. Cos some they take out the camera thats why no flash. no such thing as they take out the camera... camera is PERMANENTLY there... the thing they take out is film. without the film, the flash is still workable, just that nothing will be captured. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rk98 Neutral Newbie November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 Not sure if it is 2 sec but I know there is a short time after it turn red before the camera is activated cuz i also encounter before someone cross the line just after it turn red but never flash. You are right... there is a short time after the traffic light turn red before the camera is activated. tested before. but how many seconds i cannot confirm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rk98 Neutral Newbie November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 i dislike people talking on the phone or sms while driving. handsfree still acceptable. handsfree can also cause distraction.... the problem with some ppl is once they are on phone, they cannot concentrate on the road well... i am always very annoyed with those on the phone... they just can't concentrate on the road... somemore roadhogging the lane... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rk98 Neutral Newbie November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 Maybe that camera no need flash, cos I had seen it at woodlands ave 12 where T junction with ave 1. I was the 1st stop at ave 1, saw a van beaten red light toward gambas, then I realized no flash but I noticed there was red light blight twice at camera. By right there should flash.. to be exact is 3 flashes to show. the first flash is to show your front wheel just pass the stop line, the 2nd flash is to show your rear wheel just pass the stop line and the 3rd flash is to show your car plate number proving that you have beaten the red light traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 Back then when I just pass, I couldnt gauge the distance and timing properly, then I accidentally beat one red light with camera. But nth happen leh, so I think there is really the 2sec rule. I also read elsewhere that there is 11 or 21 films for those camera using films. I heard that some of the cameras are fake ones that use to scare ppl only leh, anyone can confirm this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dannychan2602 Neutral Newbie November 29, 2010 Share November 29, 2010 dunno what they doing ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...