Conditions of Singapore roads....

Rastaman01

No need to drive round. Just drive over them. Test your dampers and new rubbers. [laugh]

Siao bo.. later rim warp and tyre burst leh. The potholes quite deep lor.

You are right, i remember the LTA officer who replied my feedback seems to hint me that you cannot expect smooth road, there are sure to have some uneveness and hole on the road. LTA stand seems to indicate that they only repair/mend the road only if there is a big hole on the road. -_-

With regard to the uneven patch up after the road is open for underground work, I wrote to LTA, giving exact locations, and added a question that shouldnt LTA inspect the patch up done by the workers/contractors before reopening the lane affected to the motorists? If LTA has inspected the poor uneven workmanship, how come the lane was still open to the public?

(Note: Any party, eg Singtel, Singapore Power, etc who wants to open up public roads to do work, must get the permission for LTA to do so. When the work is completed and patched up, LTA is supposed to check the patch up / reinstatement to see if its done properly. In other words, LTA has control over the quality of the patch up and reject it until its done to LTA's requirement. Maybe LTA has done away with such a normal and standard practice of checking?)

With regard to the uneven patch up after the road is open for underground work, I wrote to LTA, giving exact locations, and added a question that shouldnt LTA inspect the patch up done by the workers/contractors before reopening the lane affected to the motorists? If LTA has inspected the poor uneven workmanship, how come the lane was still open to the public?

(Note: Any party, eg Singtel, Singapore Power, etc who wants to open up public roads to do work, must get the permission for LTA to do so. When the work is completed and patched up, LTA is supposed to check the patch up / reinstatement to see if its done properly. In other words, LTA has control over the quality of the patch up and reject it until its done to LTA's requirement. Maybe LTA has done away with such a normal and standard practice of checking?)

The quality of the roads really dropped over the years man.

So after taking effort and time to feedback to LTA, they seems to indicate we are too demanding on the level of smoothness for the road.

I think it's ok because since F1 cars can race on our roads the standards must be the highest among international standards. But wait...think there are some feedback about the F1 circuits too.

nothing less that we drivers expect from a "1st world country"..especially civil servants with 1st world pay -_-

We should compare Singapore road to other first world countries, not third world countries which the PAP likes to do.

Singapore road is too bumpy and even and even the expressway have small potholes. Also, have a lot of metal covers on the roads which is not even with the road surface, causing much bumpiness. Compared to road in the cities in country like USA, Japan, Germany, etc, we are so far behind.

Not to mentioned, we pay so much tax as well. Where did the taxes goes?

Singapore so small, so many obstruction n working hours is very short unlike angmo country you can close the whole road and do slowly get the best compaction and settlement curing time. In Singapore there is no curing time and ample time to work. Singaporean always complain and only know how to complain, I'm sure someone would have complain to the minister level, why would they not have do anything about it if there is really a problem. There is NOTHING anyone is able to do anything about it unless they close the whole road and give the contractor ample time. Are Singaporean ready for full closure of roads and travel to their destination by a longer way without complaining to the lta hotline? No. Every little thing they complain. Had a discussion with a asphalt specialist (doctorate) from Europe n a high ranking officer from lta, the angmo ask the lta A few question like why are the authorities so afraid of the citizen , you are doing a road for the citizens doing a public service providing good road for citizen, and the lta replied was we cannot afford traffic jams in Singapore and public will complain, and if the public complain to higher up we will be question. All about covering ass holes in govt sector.

They keep digging up the existing roads to lay cables.

You will notice this especially where there is construction nearby.

Then later they will patch back the roads but it will be uneven.

Full of black patches all over the roads on the island.

On many roads, usually the left lane is raped until it's impossible to drive on, unless you like to change suspension every now and then.

We should compare Singapore road to other first world countries, not third world countries which the PAP likes to do.

Singapore road is too bumpy and even and even the expressway have small potholes. Also, have a lot of metal covers on the roads which is not even with the road surface, causing much bumpiness. Compared to road in the cities in country like USA, Japan, Germany, etc, we are so far behind.

Not to mentioned, we pay so much tax as well. Where did the taxes goes?

There is one big factor against Singapore, which is high traffic. It means its harder to do road repair without affecting traffic (basically only can be done at night, so time is limited), & more cars means roads wear faster.

What favour us is we have not as many roads to cover compare to pretty much any countries. Also we have favourable condition for road; very narrow temperature ranges, & no sub zero temperature. If the winter is long & harsh, you can expect a lot of road work in spring to Autumn.

Also, Singapore's tax is really not that high, even factoring COE & Road tax, & ERP compare to many 1st world countries. Indirect tax is high as Singaporeans spend a lot! Most Western European countries have tax around 40-50% range, & GST (VAT) of around 20%. Of course tax in other countries paid towards healthcare, education, retirement funds etc, but my point that people keep saying we pay a lot of tax, but its actually not much more, if at all, compare to other nations.

However, quality of work, & quality of workers can sometimes left a lot to be desired. Its evidenced everywhere, from poorly design Multi-storey car parks, poor blind spot in places, suspicious materials used in patching potholes. Many of the problem can be found, just by doing a trail run with an average car; to see turning radius needed, or if there are blind spots etc. Then again, quality will always be poor when we used cheap labors.

Edited by Kiadaw

Digging the road i still can accept but it is the patching back i cannot accept. They do not have any quality check on the patching, cause 99.9% they do not do a good job, as the patching is often uneveness and poor worksmanship. As a result there are many "humps" on the road.

Edited by 13177

Digging the road i still can accept but it is the patching back i cannot accept. They do not have any quality check on the patching, cause 99.9% they do not do a good job, as the patching is often uneveness and poor worksmanship. As a result there are many "humps" on the road.

You remember the old name for PUB anot? Last time is PWD...Purposely Wan to Dig! [:p] Same sai diff year only lah

Can we comprain to LTA about this?

I've been noticing way too many poor patch jobs.

Am I being fussy about this, or is the situation out of control?

Can we comprain to LTA about this?

I've been noticing way too many poor patch jobs.

Am I being fussy about this, or is the situation out of control?

You can write to LTA, usually they will reply with explanations or even the timetable for repairs

Driving around spore roads is no difference from driving in some malaysia kampong roads. Its really bumpy and the patching work is done very very badly.

wah heng ah... almost started a new thead and got myself a yellow card...

yes.. i want to comprain about the darn F Up quality of sg roads these days... after they dig the road, why the hell they only patch a strip of it? Then when you drive across that newly patched over strip.. it is bumpy like hell. Cant they patch the affected lane as whole ??!! No wonder my suspension arms go up lorry.

wah heng ah... almost started a new thead and got myself a yellow card...

yes.. i want to comprain about the darn F Up quality of sg roads these days... after they dig the road, why the hell they only patch a strip of it? Then when you drive across that newly patched over strip.. it is bumpy like hell. Cant they patch the affected lane as whole ??!! No wonder my suspension arms go up lorry.

I believe LTA tolerant level is very high, that's why they dont find their roads bumpy and uneven. There was once i feedback to LTA on a certain road uneven, and they replied me saying you cannot expect the roads to be super smooth, and different people have different tolerant level, and they concluded that LTA can accept the condition of that particular road. <_<