Tyre issue...

Titanium

Ok... i forgot to do tyre rotation for my 2.5yrs ride (33k mileage) as i didnt go back to the AD for servicing only oil change at outside workshop.

I went to a workshop yesterday and they recommend me to change my front 2 tyres as they worn more than the rear (ok la... i dun think is as bad).

They quoted me 2 x yoko 15" ES501 at $280... i have a few qns.

- Should the new tyres mount to the front or rear?

- Is $280 reasonable?

- Hmm.... is it weird if i chose another brand like GR90?

Thanks!

Always put your best tyres at the back.

So shift the old rear tyres to the front

and mount the new tyres at the back.

This is for safety reasons. :D

It is weird you did not mention how is the tire wear like, nor the current tire in use

Is it weird we can give you decent advice?

Current is yoko es501... how to gauge the wear level???

Thanks.

Always put your best tyres at the back.

So shift the old rear tyres to the front

and mount the new tyres at the back.

This is for safety reasons. :D

What is the logic, may I ask? For fwd vehicles, shouldn't the best tyres be placed at the front?

From what i have heard before, better tires at the back because if the front tires skid, you can still steer the car to gain control.

But if the back wheel skid, it is very hard to control or got no control.

so it is better to put the better tires at the back and the more "botak" tire in the front.

Ok... i forgot to do tyre rotation for my 2.5yrs ride (33k mileage) as i didnt go back to the AD for servicing only oil change at outside workshop.

I went to a workshop yesterday and they recommend me to change my front 2 tyres as they worn more than the rear (ok la... i dun think is as bad).

- Is $280 reasonable?

Thanks!

Although the price of tyres has gone up recently, 2 x yoko 15" market price around

$220 to $230. Let me know if you need contact for tyres shop.

for me i rather change 4 tire @ 1 time.. better than u change 2 tire @ 1 time..

also to maintain a constant tire wear (on 4 tire) is to do the rotation.. i think u already know that..

also can mention the tire size.. course it a cost determinator.

if size 15".. 140.. i think is abit expensive.

for me.. i dont like to mix tire.. dont know why.. maybe just want a uniform set of tire.

There are tyre wear indicators along the tire circumference (that little hump found in between the tread grooves). Usually the manufacturers recommend that the tyre be replaced when any of these wear indicators is worn flush with the adjacent tread (about 1.6mm depth). However, I find it safer to replace if less than 2mm tread left. I hope you find this useful

From what i have heard before, better tires at the back because if the front tires skid, you can still steer the car to gain control.

But if the back wheel skid, it is very hard to control or got no control.

so it is better to put the better tires at the back and the more "botak" tire in the front.

Can share with us how you can still steer the car to gain control when front tire skid? What you mean by skid? To me skid means lost control (car go forward irregardless which direction you steer)

For serious hypermiling purpose, the last paragraph is not applicable. The front tire are different from the rear tire and rotation among them can be dangerous. The tire need to be replaced as front pair and/or rear pair.

If u feel uncomfortable at the wear of the front tyre, then just change a new one.

If u still see reasonable treads in the front tyres, u can just rotate it now to the rear.

Maybe you take some pictures, i am sure the experts here will give u exact answers

- Is $280 reasonable?

Thanks!

the tyre shop talk noncense... unless ur car is rear wheel drive, otherwise, front of cos worn more than rear ... btw, i believe 99% of the car in Sg is front wheel drive...

if ur tyre condition is not that bad, rotate it so that your rear tyre will have the chance to wear faster before it reached its shelf life (some say tyre expire in 3 yrs, some say 5 yrs)..

for a typical front wheel drive car, the front tyre worn around 3x faster than rear, based on the ave singaporean driving style of around 20,000km/yr, the front tyre can last around 2.5 yrs but the rear tyre can last min 6 years if not rotated... so, that means, even if your rear tyre is not worn, u may need to change it cause the rubber alrd harden liao...

Edited by Tigershark1976

Hi all brudders,

New in this forum, already posted a question at Subaru folder, seems very quiet

anyway my ride 2008 Forester TC 2.5 ltr, agent already upgraded the tire to falken

when i collected my car, time to change tire liao as this is my first suv

I would like to seek brudders here who owns a similar AWD or any SUV to guide

me for my next set of tires which i wouldnt want to regret getting.

Falken is out of my range, too noisy 215x55x17 have considered Hankook Ventus Prima

Mostly used in Singapore, ocassional weekends in JB offroad abit to look for good food in JB

(I mean out of town)

Hope to get so valuable inputs from brudders here

Kum sia, Kum sia [wave]

with ur description, there are thousand and 1 choice... u may want to ask yourself, is performance the 1st priority? if yes, wet or dry perfromance is more important? There are also some people choose their tyre based on comfort level, wear rate, or price....

bridgestone GR80 is one of a good all rounders for comfort, quiet and performance. not too sure if they are still producing it. Think it might be replaced by GR90. Could be 1 of a good choice if you really dont know what you need.