Pokyman 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 For you, knn, to be a good Dad is to learn how to COOK properly so your kids will LOVE your cooking. KNS, roast pork still not yet do again,give up liow. No leh sifu ... i say wanna learn cooking never give up .. going to try again ... coz my oven i try ur hair dryer method cant ... and my sis just got preggie ... so not at home sometimes ... That is why i asked u to teach me Lor Bak in the interim, once i get my oven up again, i will retry the roast pork. U got any contact for the heating coil change? I rem last time i did was 100++, and u told me 70 max nia ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 I learnt this when I was a small kid. Oic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angguguay Neutral Newbie May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 ya... want to go? if more than 2 ppl (not just u n me), I will go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 now i waiting for GS to confirm and i will ask DJ later... you go and apply your leave Half day no need apply lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 I tell you something. There is no BEST, there is no PERFECT. In saying, you cannot please everyone either. If you'd spend time with your kids, going out with them, bonding with them, that is one major attribute all parents lack. I bond well with my kids, even thought I'm damn strict with them before, we will play games, go island camping, joke, even dirty jokes, I'm "like" a friend, but a line drawn, being their Dad. They will tell me they're problems, and I listen and advice back and if need be "sometimes" fight their battles. My boys never forget what I did with them, camping, shooting etc.. Same with me and my Dad, I will never forget when he brought me pistol shooting when I was just 6yrs old, camping at the old Tanah Merah beach, fishing in JB, watching Combat! together, etc... You have to share the interest with your children. I have, I collect toys, and so do my kids, different ones thought, but we can relate to this, and also advise etc.. see what I mean now? I'm not perfect, no one is. i am close to my son too. we do a lot of things - like catch earth worms during rainy days, "roam" around our neighbours looking for stuff, pee on ants on purpose, talk about his school/friends, play PS3 together...and etc. But I want more, that's why i want to go to conference to learn new things Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angguguay Neutral Newbie May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 Oic Asia is the best, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 But we 7 pts, they 2 pts nia. simi pts>? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 ah ball, when is it? I dun mind just going to take a look see ... Friday afternoon which day and where ah next fri. registration starts at 1pm...including lunch. it's $10 only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 Asia is the best, right? But hard to defend (too many area to defend).... Australia the best.... hide there and cramp all ur armies at the entrance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 i am close to my son too. we do a lot of things - like catch earth worms during rainy days, "roam" around our neighbours looking for stuff, pee on ants on purpose, talk about his school/friends, play PS3 together...and etc. But I want more, that's why i want to go to conference to learn new things WTF you all pee on ants for Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angguguay Neutral Newbie May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 But hard to defend (too many area to defend).... Australia the best.... hide there and cramp all ur armies at the entrance. but u will "burst" yr armies. max is 12 piece per country right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 Very good question and here is my answer. Y gen came about when parents needed to work, BOTH to support the family, pay for this and that. Leaving a huge percentage of kids to be... "Latch key kids" They hardly see their parents, apart form the pocket money left on the table, and the parents use MONEY to cover up for their lack of with the kids. OUR days, our parents were very involved in what we did, a bit of news in the "kampong" on some bad deed we did, and it would raise hell with our mums first and when Dad got back, hell number two. Now, you have maids bring up kids, while the parents work, grandparents who dote far too much on the grandchildren, and you often wonder WHY is there such a vast difference, when they used to cane the sh.it out of you, and now, it's "cane no more". I've seen many cases of parents who say they will spare the road, and use LOVE to bring the kids up, up to now, NONE of them have succeeded, and all have the children using foul language on the parents themselves. In short, total disrespect. I'm not bragging, I never spared the rod, my kids got hell and more if they did something wrong. But today, they STILL go out with us, do their chores at home, cleaning etc.. and when I ask them to do something, they do it. Also, they will help their mother and myself with the weekly groceries (a lot ok) and no one will allow the mother to carry any heavy loads. I'm not lying or telling you a story, MO says what is true when MO is dead serious. and in this instance, I don't joke on such a topic. Like I said, spend time with them, play games, not PS3, go for walks, camping etc.,. to get to know them really WELL. every generation is different. the past gen will think they are better than the new. as we complain about the Y gen, they also will have their turns. i don't wish to go in a deep discussion with you... if what you said is true, why then there is a Y gen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 Actually Sifu, i am trying to be like you, in all seriousness ... i grew up distant to my dad.... so i am closest to mum ... and when dad was hospitalised, damn sad, i wsant feeling very worried or sad, just a sense of "i had to do it" ...when i had my kids, i put myuself in my dad's shoes and i would feel sad if my kids were to think the same way ! Now, i spend a lot of time with my eldest, doing things together, (even playing games with him on my lap .. lol .. ) And yea, going to bring him out more often ... I want to be their friend with the line drawn being their Dad .... that is the hard part ... sayang them too much and they will climb over ur head ... How i wished my dad was that chummy with me actually, i was close to my dad. when i was young, he used to bring me everywhere he goes. fishing in singapore...in ahem areas..... fish for snakeheads.... the feeling is damn shiok. he bought me to his work places. so cool..... but sadly, during my teen years, i would rather spend more time with friends. so not so close anymore. but deep inside he is still my great dad i want my son to feel the same feeling too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 thats what happen when we fail to keep an open mind no one can be the perfect father. no one. we can only be a better father Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 if more than 2 ppl (not just u n me), I will go. ok. you set liow. now waiting for GS. anyone has GS' wife number? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 but u will "burst" yr armies. max is 12 piece per country right? Expand out...... move into Asia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 WTF you all pee on ants for he pee lah. not me lah. simulate rain. we caught a few ants for our ant farm but they didn't last. anyone has any idea how to rear ants. or where to buy fire ants? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 You already attended a life lesson, watching how your Dad, he didn't do a good job, so you cannot let that happen to your family now. Drawing the line is never simpler. When you need to punish, do it full force, and not hold back, reason being the child will see it as a weakness and use it against you. Trust me ok, kids are not STUPID. Mien kana 100 pushups until my wife wanted to leave me! Whole floor wet with sweat, 2hrs still cannot recover. Now....she never regretted the hard stance I took to disciplining my boys. Even my old team, (army) all do the same with their kids, knn, see who dare to "Tay Siao" even to the extent, "If you want to try and be funny, I'll bring you over encik's place and see what will happen!!" Faces will turn white. Actually Sifu, i am trying to be like you, in all seriousness ... i grew up distant to my dad.... so i am closest to mum ... and when dad was hospitalised, damn sad, i wsant feeling very worried or sad, just a sense of "i had to do it" ...when i had my kids, i put myuself in my dad's shoes and i would feel sad if my kids were to think the same way ! Now, i spend a lot of time with my eldest, doing things together, (even playing games with him on my lap .. lol .. ) And yea, going to bring him out more often ... I want to be their friend with the line drawn being their Dad .... that is the hard part ... sayang them too much and they will climb over ur head ... How i wished my dad was that chummy with me ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...