Why do some brakes get rusty ?

Purezazn

What is the reason ? i often saw those cars with rusty brake disk ... from what i know is not cause by rain , else my car would have those rusty brakes too ... someone enlighten me pls ? Happy chinese new year !

definitely will have one lah, i just went to wash my car, after washing the brake disc all rusty. then drive around, the rust all gone after u apply brake which will clear the rust.

So where does the Iron that is part of the Iron Oxide i.e. rust coming from? Not from the brake disc's surface then from air?? [rolleyes]

Like that i build a large condenser unit to collect iron oxide from air and then reduce the rust to produce iron liao lor. makes tonnes of $$$$. [laugh]

bugger probably fail chemistry one [rolleyes][laugh] [laugh]

i do encounter certain rotors that dont rust easily. Previously i change my rotor to slotted type from Jap, it doesnt rust so easily, will probly show signs of rust after 2-3 days of rain if not , will only rust if i didnt drive for 1 week

It's just surface rust for cast iron rotors else it may also be the brake pad material that is bedded onto the rotor surface which is abrasive and probably has metallic content.

ohh , so u mean if u drive and apply the brakes , u can remove the rust ? It isnt a sign of aging of the brakes ?

Are you sure your car bo rust? Everybody else rust, yours dont? It's just surface rust, apply brakes, the friction will remove it la. What aging of brakes? Use the brakes of course age la... :blink:

ohh , so u mean if u drive and apply the brakes , u can remove the rust ? It isnt a sign of aging of the brakes ?

Why you confuse yourself between oxidation & aging of a metal? Any steel base metal (other dan stainless steel) without any surface finishing or coating when exposed to the elements will oxidise or rust. In engineering terms nobody use the word "aging", instead the word metal fatigue is used.

If your car is used frequently there's no worry of your brake rotors rusting beyond usage, if frequently used heat will evaporate the moisture and prevent any oxidation or rusting. It's normal to see rust on the rotors after a car wash or rainy day or the car left un-used for a couple of days.

I think my jazz rotors don't rust.

Even after rain or wash car, the rotors are still rust free. My rotors always very smooth. Honda good design!

I guess it depends on the material of manufacturing.

Depends on the driver I think. My neighbour was just complaining that he went through 3 sets of front rotors on a Stream in less than 5 years.

I think my jazz rotors don't rust.

Even after rain or wash car, the rotors are still rust free. My rotors (stock pads) always very smooth. Honda good design!

I guess it depends on the material of manufacturing.

Why you confuse yourself between oxidation & aging of a metal? Any steel base metal (other dan stainless steel) without any surface finishing or coating when exposed to the elements will oxidise or rust. In engineering terms nobody use the word "aging", instead the word metal fatigue is used.

If your car is used frequently there's no worry of your brake rotors rusting beyond usage, if frequently used heat will evaporate the moisture and prevent any oxidation or rusting. It's normal to see rust on the rotors after a car wash or rainy day or the car left un-used for a couple of days.

And I think it is quite a normal sign or occurrence.