Qtd Clutched June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 The stock plate provided by MI is the plastic or ABs material that only protects the engine portion from dirt. It does not protect against rocks, hard objects etc. I will take the outback for light offroad and also drive it to thailand so needed the alloy undercarriage plates to protect against hard objects. The gear also exposed .. Will see what i can get and share with you guys in a month or two when i collect my car n also fixed the parts Have a good day ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboForest 1st Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 Bro, u are wrong on this count. FXT buyers know very well the capabilities of what we are buying. for gudness sake, it cant difficult to see the height and bulk of this SUV we are buying. ( dont even need to think abt chasis , suspension etc) ... Furthermore, for those who super gian power , its only about 20k more to get the WRX, and all FXT owners are fully aware of that. The main purpose fo buying FXT is mainly to balance the need for space for family and also have some zoom zoom factor for personal enjoyment. the FXT is growing to be a big group .... and yes we are a fun loving bunch of boys,,, maybe getting a bit too rowdy and have offended u in some ways ? Be big heart and learn to be more tolerant .. a lot of fxt buyers very gian the 240bhp. a lot of them never felt this kind of power before and they think that with this power they end up paying peanuts for a gti killer or a wrx equal. well we all go thru this stage before. Som,e very old also never go thru this stage before so they fxt has some sort of appeal to them. the most bang for buck car. bang for buck on paper but never consider chasis, suspension and transmission. Before they know it the fxt isn't as amazing as what they imagine it to be..... Then comes the next problem. They will base on their only exp driving the 240bhp 350nm torque fxt and tell u that chey cars with 240bhp and 350nm torque are nothing special. everyday cars that feel only marginally quicker. mind u the earlier Porsche cayman is not far from this specs. They will then start to think that the cayman is just a crappy pushover car.....and so it goes. See until don't want to see liao. very soon used fxt will flood the market. again, the best seeling point aside from loan is the 240+++bhp and 350nm torque hee hee........ taobao have I think. doesn't do much I reckon esp not locally. outback already got some basic protection below. in case u want strut bar don't buy taobao. crappy adjustable weak stuff. usa ebay has a one piece solid construction at $159. if die die need strut bar go get that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 (edited) Just like what TurboForest said, we FXT buyers do know what we are buying. The premium we paid over the FNA is not just because of the 240BHP. For me personally, I feel that the low end torque is a big plus especially when u r hauling a big heavy car with fully loaded passengers and stuff. Its takes less effort to drive the car around. The main draw of the Direction Injection Twin turbo engine is the availability of high torque at low revs, akin to a turbo diesel engine, and not so much of high BHP in our local context. This kind of engine is actually very efficient if you drive sensibly and keep the revs low and not keep playing with Sports mode. Achieving 11.5 to 12km/L is possible with mixed city/hw driving. this kind of Fc is already better than most 2.0 or 2.5 NA cars. The upgraded HK system is also a big plus for me. In addition, the premium we pay is also for the stiffer front suspension, bigger brakes, etc. The FXT does handles better and brakes than the FNA. Lastly, we are not so foolish to challenge a Golf GTI/WRX/Evo, etc... we do know our limits as a SUV driver. Btw, I used to own a 200+bhp v6 before, and it doesn't have the low end torque to compete with current generation of force induction engines. The 200+BHP is useless in our context. a lot of fxt buyers very gian the 240bhp. a lot of them never felt this kind of power before and they think that with this power they end up paying peanuts for a gti killer or a wrx equal. well we all go thru this stage before. Som,e very old also never go thru this stage before so they fxt has some sort of appeal to them. the most bang for buck car. bang for buck on paper but never consider chasis, suspension and transmission. Before they know it the fxt isn't as amazing as what they imagine it to be..... Then comes the next problem. They will base on their only exp driving the 240bhp 350nm torque fxt and tell u that chey cars with 240bhp and 350nm torque are nothing special. everyday cars that feel only marginally quicker. mind u the earlier Porsche cayman is not far from this specs. They will then start to think that the cayman is just a crappy pushover car.....and so it goes. See until don't want to see liao. very soon used fxt will flood the market. again, the best seeling point aside from loan is the 240+++bhp and 350nm torque hee hee........ taobao have I think. doesn't do much I reckon esp not locally. outback already got some basic protection below. in case u want strut bar don't buy taobao. crappy adjustable weak stuff. usa ebay has a one piece solid construction at $159. if die die need strut bar go get that. Edited June 9, 2016 by mrhan1982 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WML888 2nd Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 a lot of fxt buyers very gian the 240bhp. a lot of them never felt this kind of power before and they think that with this power they end up paying peanuts for a gti killer or a wrx equal. well we all go thru this stage before. Som,e very old also never go thru this stage before so they fxt has some sort of appeal to them. the most bang for buck car. bang for buck on paper but never consider chasis, suspension and transmission. Before they know it the fxt isn't as amazing as what they imagine it to be..... Then comes the next problem. They will base on their only exp driving the 240bhp 350nm torque fxt and tell u that chey cars with 240bhp and 350nm torque are nothing special. everyday cars that feel only marginally quicker. mind u the earlier Porsche cayman is not far from this specs. They will then start to think that the cayman is just a crappy pushover car.....and so it goes. See until don't want to see liao. very soon used fxt will flood the market. again, the best seeling point aside from loan is the 240+++bhp and 350nm torque hee hee........ taobao have I think. doesn't do much I reckon esp not locally. outback already got some basic protection below. in case u want strut bar don't buy taobao. crappy adjustable weak stuff. usa ebay has a one piece solid construction at $159. if die die need strut bar go get that. Mind to share what car are you driving now ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinweyngee Neutral Newbie June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 a lot of fxt buyers very gian the 240bhp. a lot of them never felt this kind of power before and they think that with this power they end up paying peanuts for a gti killer or a wrx equal. well we all go thru this stage before. Som,e very old also never go thru this stage before so they fxt has some sort of appeal to them. the most bang for buck car. bang for buck on paper but never consider chasis, suspension and transmission. Before they know it the fxt isn't as amazing as what they imagine it to be..... Then comes the next problem. They will base on their only exp driving the 240bhp 350nm torque fxt and tell u that chey cars with 240bhp and 350nm torque are nothing special. everyday cars that feel only marginally quicker. mind u the earlier Porsche cayman is not far from this specs. They will then start to think that the cayman is just a crappy pushover car.....and so it goes. See until don't want to see liao. very soon used fxt will flood the market. again, the best seeling point aside from loan is the 240+++bhp and 350nm torque hee hee........ taobao have I think. doesn't do much I reckon esp not locally. outback already got some basic protection below. in case u want strut bar don't buy taobao. crappy adjustable weak stuff. usa ebay has a one piece solid construction at $159. if die die need strut bar go get that. downside is CVT. Turbo+CVT= failure Try x3, evoque, q3, GLS (heavier, same capacity, very cld bhp/ nm).....u will understand & convince, where is the juice of fxt went to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboForest 1st Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 downside is CVT. Turbo+CVT= failure Try x3, evoque, q3, GLS (heavier, same capacity, very cld bhp/ nm).....u will understand & convince, where is the juice of fxt went to? That the trade off we have to make... The other SUVs are all above 200k .... Q3 is cheaper at around 160k I believe, but cabin size too small.... For the 80k price difference , the FXT juice went into paying for petrol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinweyngee Neutral Newbie June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 That the trade off we have to make... The other SUVs are all above 200k .... Q3 is cheaper at around 160k I believe, but cabin size too small.... For the 80k price difference , the FXT juice went into paying for petrol Right! Value for $$! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 The biggest flaw of the FXT is not having the OB body while the OB biggest flaw is not having the 2.0DiT engine. enjoy the ride.. enjoy the ride.. most important didn't have to pay $56K COE.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboForest 1st Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 The biggest flaw of the FXT is not having the OB body while the OB biggest flaw is not having the 2.0DiT engine. enjoy the ride.. enjoy the ride.. most important didn't have to pay $56K COE.. I dont know yet.. hope SE dont ask me for topup... its a lot of money to own a car..so be it QQ, Vezel or Q7 , mercs, let everyone enjoy their ride and may us be happy and courteous users of the roads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 I dont know yet.. hope SE dont ask me for topup... its a lot of money to own a car..so be it QQ, Vezel or Q7 , mercs, let everyone enjoy their ride and may us be happy and courteous users of the roads mI so far so good.. U shud get it by 3-4 bids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 I had a 3.0 OB . Now that engine is smooth!! N damn quick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WML888 2nd Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 downside is CVT. Turbo+CVT= failure Try x3, evoque, q3, GLS (heavier, same capacity, very cld bhp/ nm).....u will understand & convince, where is the juice of fxt went to? Have you tried Merc GLC, GLE, BMW M50D, Macan S... even more shiok... ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinweyngee Neutral Newbie June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 Have you tried Merc GLC, GLE, BMW M50D, Macan S... even more shiok... ?Gap is too wide to compare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 Bro, u are wrong on this count. FXT buyers know very well the capabilities of what we are buying. for gudness sake, it cant difficult to see the height and bulk of this SUV we are buying. ( dont even need to think abt chasis , suspension etc) ... Furthermore, for those who super gian power , its only about 20k more to get the WRX, and all FXT owners are fully aware of that. The main purpose fo buying FXT is mainly to balance the need for space for family and also have some zoom zoom factor for personal enjoyment. the FXT is growing to be a big group .... and yes we are a fun loving bunch of boys,,, maybe getting a bit too rowdy and have offended u in some ways ? Be big heart and learn to be more tolerant .. oops, sorry if my post did seem I have an issue with any particular car. Just personal opinion. Not the norm. everyone has a right to use the road as they like safely. They do their thing I do mine. Stating from my small talk amongst buddies who seem to find the forester a good value for money buy and when I ask them why so? its always so much power for so little. they will go on telling me how other similar specced cars cost quite abit more. no one irritates me cos even if they do I just let them get on their way since I understand some ppl can be in a hurry. I apologise if my post did seem to portray me as being intolerant or irritated. no reason for me to feel that way. Just like what TurboForest said, we FXT buyers do know what we are buying. The premium we paid over the FNA is not just because of the 240BHP. For me personally, I feel that the low end torque is a big plus especially when u r hauling a big heavy car with fully loaded passengers and stuff. Its takes less effort to drive the car around. The main draw of the Direction Injection Twin turbo engine is the availability of high torque at low revs, akin to a turbo diesel engine, and not so much of high BHP in our local context. This kind of engine is actually very efficient if you drive sensibly and keep the revs low and not keep playing with Sports mode. Achieving 11.5 to 12km/L is possible with mixed city/hw driving. this kind of Fc is already better than most 2.0 or 2.5 NA cars. The upgraded HK system is also a big plus for me. In addition, the premium we pay is also for the stiffer front suspension, bigger brakes, etc. The FXT does handles better and brakes than the FNA. Lastly, we are not so foolish to challenge a Golf GTI/WRX/Evo, etc... we do know our limits as a SUV driver. Btw, I used to own a 200+bhp v6 before, and it doesn't have the low end torque to compete with current generation of force induction engines. The 200+BHP is useless in our context. paiseh didn't expect my post to get so many fxt owners in. I really have to review my writing style. phrase properly before posting. enjoy your car. for me I like Subaru for the ft awd only. the rest does not matter to me much and also another asked me what I'm driving now. outback lor. that's why I post here. quite awhile already. to me good value. abit more than altis. and of course, at his price range the ft awd. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 (edited) Let's enjoy our rides Edited June 9, 2016 by mrhan1982 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WML888 2nd Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 oops, sorry if my post did seem I have an issue with any particular car. Just personal opinion. Not the norm. everyone has a right to use the road as they like safely. They do their thing I do mine. Stating from my small talk amongst buddies who seem to find the forester a good value for money buy and when I ask them why so? its always so much power for so little. they will go on telling me how other similar specced cars cost quite abit more. no one irritates me cos even if they do I just let them get on their way since I understand some ppl can be in a hurry. I apologise if my post did seem to portray me as being intolerant or irritated. no reason for me to feel that way. paiseh didn't expect my post to get so many fxt owners in. I really have to review my writing style. phrase properly before posting. enjoy your car. for me I like Subaru for the ft awd only. the rest does not matter to me much and also another asked me what I'm driving now. outback lor. that's why I post here. quite awhile already. to me good value. abit more than altis. and of course, at his price range the ft awd. Oh OB ... No wonder you know FXT so well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 phrase properly before posting. enjoy your car. for me I like Subaru for the ft awd only. the rest does not matter to me much and also another asked me what I'm driving now. outback lor. that's why I post here. quite awhile already. to me good value. abit more than altis. and of course, at his price range the ft awd. you're not the first new OB owner to diss FXT buyers. why not let everyone be happy with what they buy. one can easily say NA car hard to mod for more power while turbo cars have more gains. But each buyer has his/her own needs/preferences. So just be happy with what you chose to buy. Don't need to make yourself feel good by criticizing others' choices. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear June 9, 2016 Share June 9, 2016 you're not the first new OB owner to diss FXT buyers. why not let everyone be happy with what they buy. one can easily say NA car hard to mod for more power while turbo cars have more gains. But each buyer has his/her own needs/preferences. So just be happy with what you chose to buy. Don't need to make yourself feel good by criticizing others' choices. john, I did not mean to criticise and if u include this msg its a 3rd apology paiseh reply for my less than stellar way of writing. to me car is only means of transport. I was just sharing my personal point of view which wasn't very well phrased. I did not make myself feel good by criticising another. I am neither happy nor unhappy with the outback fxt or any other car for that matter. I don't want to say that you are sensitive but surely 3 apologies for my lousy writing style and clarification would've suffice I assume? don't make me feel worse leh. I bought outback only because I got good discount not because I made any comparison. If any other car had just as good a discount I would've bought it anyway. No such thing as buy one car and laugh at another for making their choice. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...