Subaru Outback ...any comments

Lycanthrope

john, I did not mean to criticise and if u include this msg its a 3rd apology paiseh reply for my less than stellar way of writing. to me car is only means of transport. I was just sharing my personal point of view which wasn't very well phrased.

I did not make myself feel good by criticising another. I am neither happy nor unhappy with the outback fxt or any other car for that matter. I don't want to say that you are sensitive but surely 3 apologies for my lousy writing style and clarification would've suffice I assume?

don't make me feel worse leh. I bought outback only because I got good discount not because I made any comparison. If any other car had just as good a discount I would've bought it anyway. No such thing as buy one car and laugh at another for making their choice.

I almost book the OB, because I really like the BSD, reverse radar, lane departure detection, rear mirror dimmer , much better interior, bigger space etc

but at the end of day... the naughty side won the logical half of my mind.... furthermore, wanted to try own a SUV for first time in my life

I almost book the OB, because I really like the BSD, reverse radar, lane departure detection, rear mirror dimmer , much better interior, bigger space etc

but at the end of day... the naughty side won the logical half of my mind.... furthermore, wanted to try own a SUV for first time in my life

actually If I were paying retail price I would buy nice big mpv. my dream model is the highway star Nissan.

But too good lobang to resist for outback.

if I were not given discounts and same price for fxt n outback I would take fxt since a slightly faster pickup more realistic on sgp road. don't care about omv etc. second car I usually use for ferrying some hardware. makes no diff. fxt makes me look younger and more hip and more accessories.

now outback some more in gold color I feel much older then my current middle age:(

but nothing beats the allure of getting a good deal best deal so outback lor. bloody thing so long. open tailgate kena carpark railing twice liao.

The biggest flaw of the FXT is not having the OB body while the OB biggest flaw is not having the 2.0DiT engine. :a-no:

enjoy the ride.. enjoy the ride.. [drivingcar][drivingcar]

most important didn't have to pay $56K COE.. [bounce2]

Yeah man...spot on. Drop the FXT engine into the OB engine bay and let's see if they still feel the same way about the turbocharged gem.

There's always a trade off somewhere no matter which car we choose. Be it price, value, power, aesthetics, comfort, handling, status etc...

Haiya.. Enjoy enjoy la. Why compare? comparing FXT n the OB is like asking " you want to eat kl Hokkien Mee or spore Hokkien mee"? Both nice la!!

Didnt know that OB owners actually diss FXT ...i envy those who own FXT , but also proud of having the comfort feel of OB. Like the fast grow of Subbie SUV community, all bro bro ler.

Somehow i start to think i should get a WRX io OB

Didnt know that OB owners actually diss FXT ...i envy those who own FXT , but also proud of having the comfort feel of OB. Like the fast grow of Subbie SUV community, all bro bro ler.

Plus I think all Subaru owners can benefit from common info and experiences. If you're still servicing at MI, we're all stuck using the same oil, and often the same parts even. And if you've moved on to servicing at an external workshop, sharing tips and experiences is even more important, and relevant regardless of which model we drive. I lurk in this Outback thread because OBs are almost the same car (internally) as Legacies, so OB info is usually applicable to my Legacy. But I just learned valuable info in the Forester thread about the engine oil MI uses in our car. So I do think we all benefit from sharing as a community. And since we're all getting warm and cuddly, I should add that I envy the headroom and rear storage space you OB owners have. And don't believe any of us NA engine owners would hesitate to pop the FXT's turbo powerplant into our rides if we could.

Good one Muser Bro!

I seriously think we should top for their mutol engine oil option from 10k onwards. Hope it's w30 and not w40. Too thick Liao.

personally, I feel the MIRT is good enough. At minimum, very much better than the shell one. Moreover, they only charged $16 extra from my receipt.

Good one Muser Bro!

I seriously think we should top for their mutol engine oil option from 10k onwards. Hope it's w30 and not w40. Too thick Liao.

personally, I feel the MIRT is good enough. At minimum, very much better than the shell one. Moreover, they only charged $16 extra from my receipt.

Thanks for the info. The motul is w30 or w40?

I'd also prefer 30 instead of 40. Though what I really want is the 0W20 explicitly recommended in my manual. I'd be happy to pay $16 (or more, if really no choice) for an oil upgrade.

u can bring your own oil if u want but no rebates.

For me, agent servicing (nice way of saying change oil only) uses the cheapest oil there is that's decent enough. I'd go and let them do the oil change and afterwards, I just go to my regular ws, drain the oil and fill with my fave and use the correct outback oil filter. I think the outback oil filter in use currently also is a compatible model only. no matter, with k&n oil filters free shipping to sgp at only $7-8 bucks for outback models I'd be glad to use that.

So there u go. I use my own oil and filter. before nxt scheduled free service at MI, I just unscrew oil filter fit their oem one back and repeat.

good 20w oil can be had at amazon w/ free shipping to sgp for as low as $40-$50. We are talking penzoil ultra, euro Castrol and the motul xtended life. All under $50 sgd if u follow the prices closely.

k&n is selling at about $28-$30 at Autobacs for outback but can be had at only $7-$8 at amazon. outback filter same as evo oil filter model. ps1010. can check the k&n website to be sure.

k&n reuseable high end aircon filter just about $50sgd! Add all these in easily more than $125usd for free shipping. Yahoo!

Good one Muser Bro!

just saw the forester thread on mineral oil. need to run in until after 10k? kidding right?

after 1k more than run in liao. u feel the oil on the dipstick before 1k can feel very grainy. like mini shavings.

let them top up mineral oil after 1k. run another 500km I go change my own syntethic liao. I believe its more a business decision rather than an advantage for the engine or the car. Run in 5k already absurd. Must run in until after 10k then use synthetic aiyo.

I'm of the opinion that since its free so use the bare minimum kind of oil.

let them do what they want and I do what I want. I did say before, nxt service just screw back MI oem oil filter lor. damn, the advantages and smoothness and feel of a good synthetic after 1k...........and some still wanna wait till 10k:( I wont wait.

let them top up mineral oil after 1k. run another 500km I go change my own syntethic liao. I believe its more a business decision rather than an advantage for the engine or the car. Run in 5k already absurd. Must run in until after 10k then use synthetic aiyo.

I'm of the opinion that since its free so use the bare minimum kind of oil.

let them do what they want and I do what I want. I did say before, nxt service just screw back MI oem oil filter lor. damn, the advantages and smoothness and feel of a good synthetic after 1k...........and some still wanna wait till 10k:( I wont wait.

Idea sia.

u can bring your own oil if u want but no rebates.

For me, agent servicing (nice way of saying change oil only) uses the cheapest oil there is that's decent enough. I'd go and let them do the oil change and afterwards, I just go to my regular ws, drain the oil and fill with my fave and use the correct outback oil filter. I think the outback oil filter in use currently also is a compatible model only. no matter, with k&n oil filters free shipping to sgp at only $7-8 bucks for outback models I'd be glad to use that.

So there u go. I use my own oil and filter. before nxt scheduled free service at MI, I just unscrew oil filter fit their oem one back and repeat.

Can't fault your logic on the business considerations behind using minimum-quality oils for our free servicing. Bugs me.

I'd be happy to bring my own oil as long as I'm not given any grief about my warranty (which would of course be absurd, but one SA has already told me there'd be trouble).

I hear our oil filters are quite difficult to unscrew (at least in the case of the Legacy), so it might require investing in a chain wrench. Hmm.

Edited by Muser

Bro.. WRX.. Haaaa...I just renewed my COE in March. But don't tell by CO... Edited by BenTong

Bro.. WRX.. Haaaa...I just renewed my COE in March. But don't tell by CO...ððððð. Stil trying to figure

Bro.. WRX.. Haaaa...I just renewed my COE in March. But don't tell by CO...ððððð. Stil trying to figure how to transplant the engine into my OB!!ððð

Ha! Ur a true subarist...envy. Need to work harder to get myself another fun ride.

Keep OB comfort, as it meant ti be ;)

Edited by Vyeron

Idea sia.

Can't fault your logic on the business considerations behind using minimum-quality oils for our free servicing. Bugs me.

I'd be happy to bring my own oil as long as I'm not given any grief about my warranty (which would of course be absurd, but one SA has already told me there'd be trouble).

I hear our oil filters are quite difficult to unscrew (at least in the case of the Legacy), so it might require investing in a chain wrench. Hmm.

I would not waste time bringing my oil there. Frankly you wont even know if they poured your premium motul in. You cant tell motul from the mineral oil just visually. Even if they poured in mineral oil you wont know better. Additionally, we give them cause to make up excuses during warranty claim about that incident where we used our own oil etc.

Legacy filter on top engine bay? Like outback? If brute force cannot maybe just use the circular wrench thing to grip and unscrew.

I would let them do as they wish and get another ws to do a simple oil change. Another $70-$100 (service charges) to prevent confusion and misinterpretation by MI every 5-8k is money well spent. Worth it.

I would not waste time bringing my oil there. Frankly you wont even know if they poured your premium motul in. You cant tell motul from the mineral oil just visually. Even if they poured in mineral oil you wont know better. Additionally, we give them cause to make up excuses during warranty claim about that incident where we used our own oil etc.

Legacy filter on top engine bay? Like outback? If brute force cannot maybe just use the circular wrench thing to grip and unscrew.

I would let them do as they wish and get another ws to do a simple oil change. Another $70-$100 (service charges) to prevent confusion and misinterpretation by MI every 5-8k is money well spent. Worth it.

I have tried motul oil once. Shiok for about 2 weeks or so.. Then no feeling.. But don't mind if TOP up is just $16..