COE- March 2011 1st Bidding Exercise

Laworder17

What Will Be the Prics of COE for this round?  

77 members have voted

1. 1. Cat A

• Below $35,000
    • $35,001 to $40,000
    • $40,001 to $45,000
    • $45,001 to $50,000
    • $50,001 to $55,000
    • Above $55,000
  2. 2. Cat B

• Below $55,000
    • $55,001 to $60,000
    • $60,001 to $65,000
    • $65,001 to $70,000
    • $70,001 to $75,000
    • Above $75,000

traffic jam can only become worst and not better for now because

a. high coe, less owner change car that are 3/4/5 years old. continue to drive till 6/7/8/9/10 years

b. new car continue to push out of showroom. car population continue to grow, at slower rate

coe that go back to the pool now is from car that is at least 7/8/9 years old where owner don't want to renew coe, right ? i believe these type of cars are limited.

majority of the cars are new .... < 5 years?

It is quite scary for the average peasant like me. Imagine buying a brand new Fluence, Altis or Civic which are considered entry level, or buy a 4-5 year old conti make...both of these types of cars are currently selling 80-90K.

A comfortable level of downpayment for a peasant like me will be in the region of 30K. Minue this 30K still have 60K of loan to take. If I use the installment calculator, and spread the loan over 10 years, the monthly installment is still close to 600buckeroos...scary sia! [thumbsdown]

Which is why buying/owning a car is always only for the rich people. Not for any tom, dick, harry on the street or anyone who is earning $2-3K per mth. Unless you are refering to the car during the super low COE, where new cars price is $35K to $50K, then anyone on the street may still can afford.

But if you refering to cars which now cost at leadt $80K and above, if you are not super cash money or earning very high salary, better don't buy a car.

Edited by 13177

The overcrowded cars that you see on the rd now does not mean the car population is still growing. Most of the cars on the rd now are from the period of super low COE, btw 2005-2008. That's why even the COE back to $60K, the jams still exists. The current high COE price, most probably we can only get to see the effect only 5 yrs down the rd. The jam might be improve since currently there are really not many pple buy car.

so with lesser people buying cars, does this not mean that the new cars industry will be affected?

how does this benefit them and the consumers?

high COE for the sales office means no/lesser buyers.

high COE for the consumer means every year u lose more money. right now 60k COE means every year u already lose 6k.

no wonder singapore dont need to develop or create their own cars, sell paper already equates to the cost of a new car.

is this what we want to see for singapore? cars being driven for over 10 yrs? just renew coe at 100k-150k?

whatever happened to the promise of every family being able to afford a car?

Which is why buying/owning a car is always only for the rich people. Not for any tom, dick, harry on the street or anyone who is earning $2-3K per mth. Unless you are refering to the car during the super low COE, where new cars price is $35K to $50K, then anyone on the street may still can afford.

But if you refering to cars which now cost at leadt $80K and above, if you are not super cash money or earning very high salary, better don't buy a car.

thats singapore style i guess.

well lets hope the COE really hits 100k and see the new cars industry collapse :)

what a nice golden goose this COE is :D

so with lesser people buying cars, does this not mean that the new cars industry will be affected?

how does this benefit them and the consumers?

high COE for the sales office means no/lesser buyers.

high COE for the consumer means every year u lose more money. right now 60k COE means every year u already lose 6k.

no wonder singapore dont need to develop or create their own cars, sell paper already equates to the cost of a new car.

is this what we want to see for singapore? cars being driven for over 10 yrs? just renew coe at 100k-150k?

whatever happened to the promise of every family being able to afford a car?

ai ya, tat promise was made in a Cui Gong Lan Pa Song mood....wind blow, words fly liao.

To be honest, with so many pple like u and me eyeing on COE..

I think it is hard for it to come down.. unless there is another recession where economy is really bad...

Then cars will be last item to get on pple's mind...

historic COE prices do not correlate to the state of the economy leh...

Promise of every family being able to afford a car? Don't think they will allow such thing to happen in sg. Esp when they see that the cars population is getting higher & higher, and they afraid cars population will get out of control. -_- When the COE is super low that time, many family is owning more than 1 car lo, and not one family one car.

So COE isnt a fair system then because it just simply favours the rich.

What is 60k or 100k or 200k COE even to them? Nothing.

But to a guy that has a family, it will mean having a car or not having one.

Want to promote child birth but yet property and car prices are so high.

So families with 3-4 kids how? Take taxi?

Or are these families suppose to just squeeze in a 3 room flat and struggle with public transport?

That is why the quality of life in Singapore is just so poor and really only favours the rich.

So lesson here is dont be poor ....

ai ya, tat promise was made in a Cui Gong Lan Pa Song mood....wind blow, words fly liao.

ya i know, thats why election must choose carefully [laugh]

maybe election period COE will be $1 leh? :D

It is quite scary for the average peasant like me. Imagine buying a brand new Fluence, Altis or Civic which are considered entry level, or buy a 4-5 year old conti make...both of these types of cars are currently selling 80-90K.

A comfortable level of downpayment for a peasant like me will be in the region of 30K. Minue this 30K still have 60K of loan to take. If I use the installment calculator, and spread the loan over 10 years, the monthly installment is still close to 600buckeroos...scary sia! [thumbsdown]

to down 30k in reality is alot cos it means one shd have mayb 50k or more in savings...and then the 60k loan [sweatdrop]

Also ERP was started when COE was low. Like $50 COE in 1998.

So government started to get worried and erected ERP to give themselves an excuse to collect money.

Now more and more ERP but still congested traffic.

So ERP doesnt work, COE also obviously not working since they can miscalculate and then instantly reducing the quota, which just drives prices up.

Just disappointed seeing how we are going backwards creating more hardship in this period.

whatever mistakes the garment made are honest mistakes. you can do nothing about it except during ge. that is the payback time.

I pity those big families who really need just a simple BnB car who need to travel.

govt encourage couple to make baby. but no car, how to bring family around?

take train/bus, nobody give up space.

taxi equally bad service.

its no suprise the population isnt growing

I pity those big families who really need just a simple BnB car who need to travel.

govt encourage couple to make baby. but no car, how to bring family around?

take train/bus, nobody give up space.

taxi equally bad service.

its no suprise the population isnt growing

COE system is just favor the rich.

$100k for them is just nothing. They can spend this amount in 1 night.

To be fair to public, gov should revise the COE system.

Just ballot like BTO lar

COE system is just favor the rich.

$100k for them is just nothing. They can spend this amount in 1 night.

To be fair to public, gov should revise the COE system.

Just ballot like BTO lar

ballot?

then there will be riot+undertable money.

how they decide who gets the COE?

Also ERP was started when COE was low. Like $50 COE in 1998.

So government started to get worried and erected ERP to give themselves an excuse to collect money.

Now more and more ERP but still congested traffic.

So ERP doesnt work, COE also obviously not working since they can miscalculate and then instantly reducing the quota, which just drives prices up.

Just disappointed seeing how we are going backwards creating more hardship in this period.

Govt will tell u ERP does work because if no ERP, traffic will be congested until to a stop completely or speed of cars wld drop below 20km/h! But if ERP erected, although traffic still congested but at least cars are moving and speed of the cars are 40km/h. -_-

When have you ever hear from car dealers say that COE will come down, now is not a good time to buy, please wait a while longer? When COE was low they say better buy now, when COE is sky high they also say better buy now. All BS one lah, I don't even want to waste time hearing their views.

when COE low, they will tell u cannot stay so low for long; sure will go up... pple will grab this low COE n surely will go up

when COE high, they will tell u COE sure go higher, u better buy now before it goes even higher

when COE stagnant, they will tell u COE will jump very soon, probably next bidding, so don't wait

Govt will tell u ERP does work because if no ERP, traffic will be congested until to a stop completely or speed of cars wld drop below 20km/h! But if ERP erected, although traffic still congested but at least cars are moving and speed of the cars are 40km/h. -_-

ERP is just rubbish, its everywhere and just impossible to avoid at all.

The cars got to be on the roads and not like there is an alternatively route to get to town during peak hours.

Unlike places like bangkok, you take the highway, you pay the toll. If you dont wish to pay the toll, there is still another route to destination.

So are the government encouraging people not to work in town by erecting so many ERPs to it and if working in town should just take mrt/bus, so that the ministers can go to work in town smoothly?

Maybe companies in town should change office hours. [:)]