Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 actually your starting post and later comment dont match how come huh? Well, just an opinion I formed based on wat she wrote. I mean, we oso dunno whether she has confinement lady, her parents or her in-laws helping her during 1st 2 months. I mean, to be alone wif a baby while hubby at work is a no no for me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 I dun think she's pampered. But the initial months are tough for 1st time parents, especially so if the baby have complications. That's also why some couples hire a confinement lady. The mother can get more rest but it comes at a cost cos a confinement lady is not cheap. Judging from her baby's complications the parents have already spent a lot on medical expenses. If she's a pampered girl dan it shud be no problem for her parents to help and pamper her all the way. For those who are parents will know how tough it's, the whole experience. The couple themselves find it tough even for their age, how do you think the aged old parents & in-laws will cope? Gov wants ppl to work until age 65 or more...ha. Imagine you are 65, working and have to help take care of a baby. Now you know why sgp got low birth rate. I think Latka spoke too soon. When it's his turn he will know what is jialat and what is pampered. Been thru it oready. My mum in-law helped us out during 1st 2 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Very complicated wor.. Anyway, the first month for mother must really rest well lest for some complication in future. To ask parent for help or not depends on individual, e.g. not in good terms etc... I dun mind having 1 month paternity leave, but to the company, it can be risky too.. not to forget our ICT duty for country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 (edited) Fully understand her but to give the husband 2weeks to 1mth's paternity leave is too much ...maybe the hubby can share the 4 months of her maternity leave.... Been through it before...my parents took care of the kids. It is quite troublesome for old grand-parents to bring a 1mth old baby to the doctor without a car. Need to bring milk powder, hot water, extra diaper, etc...Of coz they can take a taxi but they are old and dont expect them to keep carrying the baby...provided they bring along a stroller...which adds to their load... When a baby has jaundice, the doctor might need to see the baby once or twice a week. Just let the couple decide who to take the 4mth of the mother's maternity leave as some woman cant drive or even cant carry heavy things after giving birth then how to give the 4 onth maternity to he hubby. anyway, 4 month maternity is to encourage breast feeding which is healthier for the babies. personally, i dont think its too much to give the guy 2 weeks. the first 2 weeks, the guy likely no mood to work also Edited March 7, 2011 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Been thru it oready. My mum in-law helped us out during 1st 2 months. Self-Pwned lor ....oh pampered one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 1 month will be very hard.... Our economy depends on MNC to set up shop. Our only natural resoruces are our people and talents. If give paternity 1 month, most companies will not want to set up shop here. It is easy to ask for 1 month paternity and all that, but she never think of the consequences it can have on the economy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 then how to give the 4 onth maternity to he hubby. anyway, 4 month maternity is to encourage breast feeding which is healthier for the babies. personally, i dont think its too much to give the guy 2 weeks. the first 2 weeks, the guy likely no mood to work also Maybe out of the 4 month maternity (3mth fix for mother and the other 1 mth let the couple decide). SO net is still 4mths in total and not so taxing for company who employ the mother...let the father's employer share abit of the cost..hahaha SOmetime woman will have post-natal blue or depression too...when homo change or baby keep crying....think the inital 3mths or so is impt...if not she jump...cry no tears... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Maybe out of the 4 month maternity (3mth fix for mother and the other 1 mth let the couple decide). SO net is still 4mths in total and not so taxing for company who employ the mother...let the father's employer share abit of the cost..hahaha SOmetime woman will have post-natal blue or depression too...when homo change or baby keep crying....think the inital 3mths or so is impt...if not she jump...cry no tears... heard this already mandated. but i still think, give us 2 week madate without taking any away from the mother will be best. heard other country already doing that liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 I thought companies are already giving like 3 days of paternity leave? Or is she asking for 4 months of paternity leave? A lot of 1st world developed countries have much much longer paternity leave...like Germany. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 1 month will be very hard.... Our economy depends on MNC to set up shop. Our only natural resoruces are our people and talents. If give paternity 1 month, most companies will not want to set up shop here. It is easy to ask for 1 month paternity and all that, but she never think of the consequences it can have on the economy. I don't buy this... 1 month should not prevent the MNC from setting up their biz here. Paternity benefits are much better overseas than in S'pore. It may also be co-shared with our dear govt if they are willing... The local SMEs that will be the ones to violently oppose this. They'll have a hard time getting coverage during paternity leave. Bottomline... The govt is not pro family enough to encourage more couples to have more kids... BTW, my childcare centre just wrote us a long love letter justifying their $100 fee increase in May WTF!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Relax, just an opinion that I hv, don't take it so personal lah. peace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 heard this already mandated. but i still think, give us 2 week madate without taking any away from the mother will be best. heard other country already doing that liao. Of Coz I dun mind 2weeks at all... will have 6 days childcare if kids is below 6yr old plus 1-3 days pat-leave when wife give birth...should be ok... anyway they give just take lor...hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Mandatory paternity leave is impossible in SG esp for such a high economy country. This issue can be handle if they plan properly - get help from immediate or in-law parent - employ a confinement nanny - employ a maid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 the childcare leave doesnt apply to father? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 i think what they need is a flexi paternal leave/time-off.. the wife situation can be bad if she is all alone.. no external help and elders too old can't help... post-natal blue can creep up easily. gone thru the stage before.. lucky boss & client were understanding.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 I don't buy this... 1 month should not prevent the MNC from setting up their biz here. Paternity benefits are much better overseas than in S'pore. It may also be co-shared with our dear govt if they are willing... The local SMEs that will be the ones to violently oppose this. They'll have a hard time getting coverage during paternity leave. Bottomline... The govt is not pro family enough to encourage more couples to have more kids... BTW, my childcare centre just wrote us a long love letter justifying their $100 fee increase in May WTF!!! Should never compare other countries with Singapore. The geo-economy situation is different. 1 month paternity leaves are expensive to companies. Don't forget that a lot of high ranking positions still belongs to male and they are extremely expensive to go away for 1 month. So unless the gov is willing to co-fund that, 1 month paternity leave is going to upset a lot of companies. And if the gov is willing to co-fund that, rest assure that they will get it back from some "taxes". Are you then willing to pay higher taxes simply because another 2 million males (who are not your husband) is taking their 1 month paternity leaves? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 those who asking govt to interfere with private practice will see no result... companies that are already in good practice will put that in their HR policies, companies that don't, even if it is mandatory, they will chut pattern just like how they treat pregnant mum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 i think this is up to individual ppl... i had friend's wife who take a 6 mth unpaid leave on top on the maternity leave given to her.. take time she was a highflyer... so u will know financially the suffering she is taking on.. nvr hear them asking government for mandatory paterntiy leave... with the leave, can we really see that increase in birth-rate?? maternity increase from 3 to 4 mth.. that suppose to encourage more birth baby bonus ...also say to do the same.. but after implementing, we still have parent asking for this and that... last time our parent ( in the 60s 70s).. where got these kind of things.. ppl still give birth to 3 or more... so i think is up to individual whether to have children. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...