Mazda Biante MPV

Swifter78

Hi guys, new biante owner here. Just got my ride late August. Titanium flash mica. So far, loving my ride. Family enjoy the humongous space. Previous ride was Exora and Airwave. Anyone care to share your milage? I got about 500km on my first tank. Hope it gets better after run in. 60% expressway. Also getting use to the istop thingy....

Love:fuel consumption, smooth ride, huge space,unique ride,full Japan made, flexible seating arrangements for all my 4 kids.

Hate: sand colour interior, front passenger cannot wactch dvd unless handbrake applied and not much storage and no auto central lock. When I first heard the stock setting of the alpine HU, I almost fainted... But after some tuning,it is actually not bad especially after downloading some 'expert' tune on alpine apps.Anyone got this random 'beep' sound when listening to radio? Will upload some pics of my ride when possible.

And 1 more other thing, is me being a big size guy or the two front seats are not really comfy for an mpv? I feel that I cant really put my head on the headrest...

Edited by Enamel
↑ Advertisement

Anyone got this random 'beep' sound when listening to radio.

Is due to navigational warning working in the background iirc. Try to play with the navigation setting and should be able resolve.

Thanks bro. Will try it out.

Edited by Enamel

Anyone knows what video format can be play on this Alpine HU? I've tried to burn some dvd R on divx format but got a disc error when tried to play. This HU actually not really user friendly. Would be gd if eurokars give pioneer HU instead.

There is central locking but there is no physical button to activate central lock. You have to manually push the latch on the driver side door to central lock all doors.

Β 

istop feature can disable everytime when car is started via istop button.

But to disable permanently, I have asked mazda before and they refused to do it since this is an advance feature for skyactiv technology.

Thanks. Have went for a test drive. All i can say is wow for the space, height and smooth ride. The i stop din really bother me as it only cut off while i stop the car at traffic junction. Pick up is ok as i dun speed off once the light turn green.

Β 

What i like

- spacious, good height for me ( my height is 1.8m)

- seats customisable esp for 3rd row. Driver can even make way through aisle to 3rd row

- sliding door

- smooth ride, good pick up, feels stable

- comfy seats

Β 

What could be better

- exterior design

Bro, you spot on right. I disabled some of the warnings thing on the navigation and beep sound gone liao....

Someone frrom this forum shared this with me. That is why always good to join an active and relevant forum.

Stepwagon is 1.5 turbo engine. High HP and Torque.

I have no doubt the 1.5L turbo engine is able to pull the ride sufficiently, having owned a 1.4L turbo mpv that can do 9.5s century sprint with 1.5tonne curb-weight. But there is no review yet of actual century sprint figure, so would be interesting to see.

Β 

What I do not like about this ride would be its rear side profile and rear view that reminded too much of a hearse, haha. If this is not a factor, then I would gladly choose this over a Biante if PI factor is not a concern. So 2 factors for me and family to overcome if we are choosing a new mpv again.

Β 

But I always though the waku waku door a silly idea to be frank. Why need to build a side-open door over a rear hatch door that open upwards? I would think a side-open design is more practical and easier to operate, and most owners would have no need to open the rear hatch door. Simply design a side-open bi-fold rear door would be much better than this attempt to be more clever. This design ia already very common among those panel vans from Peugeot and alike.

Biante is super spacious and seats 8 which I like. Just that the price is $13K more than Mazda 5 that I am struggling to accept the price difference. Because the OMV is just a thousand odds more. That should translate to most $3k higher than the Mazda 5.

Β 

The AD is making too much profit out of it. I quite like Mazda cars so far. Now with the skyactiv engine is a plus.

Β 

Unless I can find some good reasons to Biante on price. Otherwise, may have to go for Mazda 5. mazda 5 last row seats are not as comfy as Biante. Still thinking....

Biante is super spacious and seats 8 which I like. Just that the price is $13K more than Mazda 5 that I am struggling to accept the price difference. Because the OMV is just a thousand odds more. That should translate to most $3k higher than the Mazda 5.

Β 

The AD is making too much profit out of it. I quite like Mazda cars so far. Now with the skyactiv engine is a plus.

Β 

Unless I can find some good reasons to Biante on price. Otherwise, may have to go for Mazda 5. mazda 5 last row seats are not as comfy as Biante. Still thinking....

Some questions for you to ponder upon when deciding btw M5 or MB:

Β 

What is the load that you ferry usually? 4,5 or more?

What is the size of the people that you tend to ferry? young kids (<10), teenager or adults or older people?

Β 

I am currently driving a 9yo wish and thinking of upgrading as well. Majority of the time, it is 4 person in the car:

- wife

- myself

- son (11, 1.55m tall)

- daughter (14, 1.7m)

Β 

Occasionally (average 1/month), I fetch my parents out together. Under such situation, my son will go to the rear seat.

Β 

I am at a cross road now....I don't think my daughter will grow any much taller (1.7m is more than enough). When she sits in the 3rd row of the wish, she is like a giant. My son will be growing up in the next 2yrs or so. Looking at his height now, I estimate he will exceed my height easily (1.75m).

Β 

So, what are my options:

Β 

Nissan X trail

Wife love the car and the fact that it is also a SUV with a occasional 7 seat if needed.

However, I cant imagine asking my son or daughter going to the 3rd row when needed because the 3rd row space is worst than Wish

Β 

Toyota Wish (again?)

If I follow my brain and wallet, I should be getting this car.

Β 

Toyota Triplets (Noah/Voxy/Esquire)

Abundant of space. The kids love the space. But it is only from the PI. Do I need such a BIG car?

Β 

Mazda Biante

Abundant of spce. The kids also love the space. But relatively old model and the dashboard is quite dated. Don't really like the rear finishing. From AD. And same question, do I need such a BIG car? Any other alternative? M5 rear seat is smaller than wish. I will not go for it and it is also a much older model than wish that has been facelifted several times.

Β 

Tough decision.....

Β 

What is the size of the people that you tend to ferry? young kids (<10), teenager or adults or older people?

Β 

I am currently driving a 9yo wish and thinking of upgrading as well. Majority of the time, it is 4 person in the car:

- wife

- myself

- son (11, 1.55m tall)

- daughter (14, 1.7m)

Β 

Occasionally (average 1/month), I fetch my parents out together. Under such situation, my son will go to the rear seat.

Β 

I am at a cross road now....I don't think my daughter will grow any much taller (1.7m is more than enough). When she sits in the 3rd row of the wish, she is like a giant. My son will be growing up in the next 2yrs or so. Looking at his height now, I estimate he will exceed my height easily (1.75m).

Β 

So, what are my options:

Β 

Nissan X trail

Wife love the car and the fact that it is also a SUV with a occasional 7 seat if needed.

However, I cant imagine asking my son or daughter going to the 3rd row when needed because the 3rd row space is worst than Wish

Β 

Toyota Wish (again?)

Β 

Abundant of space. The kids love the space. But it is only from the PI. Do I need such a BIG car?

Β 

Mazda Biante

Abundant of spce. The kids also love the space. But relatively old model and the dashboard is quite dated. Don't really like the rear finishing. From AD. And same question, do I need such a BIG car? Any other alternative? M5 rear seat is smaller than wish. I will not go for it and it is also a much older model than wish that has been facelifted several times.

Β 

Tough decision.....

Β 

as long as u done your research, there is no difference between buying from a PI and AD, other than you pay less to get a better car from PI. Good PI also can give you reliable support and after sales service.

Β 

my pick would be Esquire haha ! cos i'v made that choice.

Β 

Β 

- wife

- myself

- son (11, 1.55m tall)

- daughter (14, 1.7m)

Β 

Β 

Β 

So, what are my options:

Β 

Nissan X trail

Β 

Toyota Wish (again?)

Β 

Β 

Mazda Biante

Β 

Tough decision.....

Β 

I am also an ex-wish owner, also ex-stream. I am also at the cross-road. As the kids are growing into young adults, my heart is also for a full size MPV. However, a big MPV will cost more, in terms of capital + running cost. We really have to consider the daily usage. For me, on weekday, my car sits 3. On Sat & Sun morning, the car sits 4. On Sat evening, the car will have 5 person for 2 hours. Hence, on a weekly basis, I do not need a full size MPV. It is only occasionally, say once every 6 months when we go JB/Malacca that we feel that Wish or Stream is too small. If there is a need to rent big MPV for these trips, the extra $1K a year is justified.

Β 

For big MPV, I am considering between Biante & StepWGN. Esquire cost $10K more, which is even harder to justify. Between Biante & StepWGN, my heart is for Biante because it's exterior and interior are more appealing. StepWGN has lower running cost, in terms of road tax and fuel cost. If no time to wait, StepWGN is out because it takes 4 month to deliver.

Β 

For mini MPV, I will only limit to PI-Wish, M5 or Orlando. The others are either too cramp or we cannot accept the look and interiors. Among these 3, Wish is well proven but boring. Orlando looks really nice and low running cost but not sure if it will last 10 years. M5 looks and feel luxurious but high running cost. M5 cost $10K more than Orlando in total ownership cost.

Β 

Among the above, for pure cost consideration, my choice for big MPV is StepWGN, choice for small MPV is Orlando. Both are 1.5T. StepWGN cost $20K more than Orlando, which is $2K/year. If disposal saving can afford $2K/year, the better comfort for the family is well worth it.

Β 

I am also an ex-wish owner, also ex-stream. I am also at the cross-road. As the kids are growing into young adults, my heart is also for a full size MPV. However, a big MPV will cost more, in terms of capital + running cost. We really have to consider the daily usage. For me, on weekday, my car sits 3. On Sat & Sun morning, the car sits 4. On Sat evening, the car will have 5 person for 2 hours. Hence, on a weekly basis, I do not need a full size MPV. It is only occasionally, say once every 6 months when we go JB/Malacca that we feel that Wish or Stream is too small. If there is a need to rent big MPV for these trips, the extra $1K a year is justified.

Β 

For big MPV, I am considering between Biante & StepWGN. Esquire cost $10K more, which is even harder to justify. Between Biante & StepWGN, my heart is for Biante because it's exterior and interior are more appealing. StepWGN has lower running cost, in terms of road tax and fuel cost. If no time to wait, StepWGN is out because it takes 4 month to deliver.

Β 

For mini MPV, I will only limit to PI-Wish, M5 or Orlando. The others are either too cramp or we cannot accept the look and interiors. Among these 3, Wish is well proven but boring. Orlando looks really nice and low running cost but not sure if it will last 10 years. M5 looks and feel luxurious but high running cost. M5 cost $10K more than Orlando in total ownership cost.

Β 

Among the above, for pure cost consideration, my choice for big MPV is StepWGN, choice for small MPV is Orlando. Both are 1.5T. StepWGN cost $20K more than Orlando, which is $2K/year. If disposal saving can afford $2K/year, the better comfort for the family is well worth it.

Β 

I know this is a JAp forum, but how about Sanyong Trivoli or Renault Espace ?

Β 

I know this is a JAp forum, but how about Sanyong Trivoli or Renault Espace ?

Β 

i don't see these models on sgcarmart when I search for MPV leh...

↑ Advertisement