'S

Latka

I think these are all macro statistics.

Eg, voters from these few blocks are allocated this particular voting centre. So end of the day, when they calculate the votes, they can at least know how's the general support (PAP vs Opp) for these few blocks of flats. Do it for all polling station, and they can paint a pretty good picture of how's the support like for each area.

But to go right down to the micro statistics like which individual voted for who, takes alot more to do, and not to mention the raw manpower needed.

What if these few blocks all very loyal and voted ruling party but the existing blocks due to change in demographics got more oppo supporters ?

Finally the vote % lower ?

Then these few blocks not yet LUP - die lor ??

If there's anything good abt the PAP,it's the safe environment we have here.

But i am reluctant that it's kept so using money means.

Better policing would do.

I disagree both ways :

Use Money

&

Better Policing.

Both are Handyplast to a cut.

To prevent the Cut from happening is the only solution.

somehow got a feeling the ecrection results will still be the same...singaporeans just too lazy to get out of their comfort zone..

it's still the "i know who you voted" myth that kills, just last nite, was chatting with my sil and her last sentence was like..."no choice, im into business and have to vote for papaya, if not, very hard to do business.., they might find fault with us".... and her business has zilch relationship with papaya, she is into zhe char stall only (business quite good currently..)... [shakehead]

BALLOT SECRECY

There are 2 significant threats in any election where voting is done using paper ballots - ballot box stuffing and undue influence of voters' choices by impersonation.

Counterfeiting of ballot papers and stuffing the lot into the ballot box cannot be completely ruled out. There is also the threat of "chained balloting", where the perpetrator hands a marked ballot paper to a voter to cast and buy a blank ballot paper from the voter on return from the polling station. He then marks the blank paper for the next voter from whom he can buy another blank vote. Finally, there is also the possibility of persons impersonating voters whom they know will not be casting their votes.

Serial number on ballot papers

Having numbered ballot papers is still the best effective method to counter these threats.

The serial numbers on ballot papers enable strict accounting of all ballot papers issued and cast. That way, the number of papers found in the ballot box at the end of the election can be reconciled with the number of papers issued during the poll and the number of papers stocked before the poll began. This is a means to deal with the threat of ballot boxes being stuffed with false ballot papers.

Ballot papers have to be numbered to provide evidence if there is an allegation of impersonation, i.e. that a voter has cast his vote pretending to be someone else. This is done if the court orders so, by matching the suspicious ballot paper with the counterfoil, on which the voter's registration number is recorded. If proven, the vote can then be subtracted from the declared election results. Without the serial number on the ballot paper, it will be difficult to establish such an allegation, and to adjust the declared election results accordingly.

While some argue that it would be better to nullify an entire election if there is any such electoral fraud, calling for a fresh election would be too costly for taxpayers and traumatic for the electorates if there are only a few allegations of impersonation.

So, is ballot secrecy compromised by reason of having a serial number?

Theoretically, it is possible for anyone with access to the ballot papers to identify who cast a particular vote. The link between the ballot paper number and the electoral register through the counterfoil does facilitate tracing from a ballot paper to a voter's identity on the register. However, ballot papers can be examined only under strict conditions, and there are safeguards that make it extremely difficult to find out how any particular voter voted.

After the ballot papers are counted, all ballot papers and their counterfoils have to be sealed in the Supreme Court vault for 6 months, after which all the ballot papers and other election documents are destroyed. During those 6 months, these documents can only be retrieved by court order. The court will issue such an order only if it is satisfied that a vote has been fraudulently cast and the result of the election may be affected as a result. Our courts have issued no such order to date.

The serial number on the ballot paper is to protect the integrity of the democratic process, and not to undermine the secrecy of the vote.

The ballot paper number is still a feature of UK parliamentary and local government elections.

Easy to devise a system that preserves traceability without compromising secrecy. E.g. (my own post) : http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...t&p=3016937

OF course, he wont be a SAF General or MAS head.. but as long as his credentials are ok

wat makes a saf more qualified?? No disrespect intended. If u give me scdf col I respect more. They get their hands dirty with the men. Tat said there r good gen n lousy ones.

Wat??? Void ur vote when election comes every 5 years time? U mean the policies the ruling party sets doen't affect u at all throughout these ~5 years?

Wat the heck!!! I will never allow my vote to be voided...Sorry to say tis...Tat's dumb.

only RP is contesting my area.... and i dont trust them at all... if WP... hmm... and they give speech... telling us what are the items they will deliver... i will consider it seriously...

at the same time.. i'm tired of this $hit.... income gap getting bigger... absurd income on the MIW...FT issue... misc... and also all the stupid remarks made by them...

how can i trust those MIW... i worry about my kid... aka next generation... [mad]

so how... like that my vote goes to who??? [crazy]

wat makes a saf more qualified?? No disrespect intended. If u give me scdf col I respect more. They get their hands dirty with the men. Tat said there r good gen n lousy ones.

is zi??

for me no, i repect SAF head more. you will be surprise by their thinking. very advance.

(talking about those that rise by merits and not those by connection of couse.)

only RP is contesting my area.... and i dont trust them at all... if WP... hmm... and they give speech... telling us what are the items they will deliver... i will consider it seriously...

at the same time.. i'm tired of this $hit.... income gap getting bigger... absurd income on the MIW...FT issue... misc... and also all the stupid remarks made by them...

how can i trust those MIW... i worry about my kid... aka next generation... [mad]

so how... like that my vote goes to who??? [crazy]

'you can rest ensure... this will always happen which ever government is in power

the only thing you can do is try to climb out of it yourself.

as for which parties?? vote for the one that can govern your country according to your ideal.

'you can rest ensure... this will always happen which ever government is in power

the only thing you can do is try to climb out of it yourself.

as for which parties?? vote for the one that can govern your country according to your ideal.

none leh... i'm on my own... LLST lor... [;)]

You infected by Gearoil disease ah ??

Maybe. I am feeling a little under the weather nowadays. His virus must b spreading like wildfire. [laugh]

U must see where our PM came from.

He surrounding himself with his kaki to protect him in case of trouble n rewarding them at the same time.

Is this known as Crony politics?

simple. it is based on voting centres beign tagged to particular zone of electorate.

the trick is to use as many voting centres as possible so that the zone of electorate is sub divded as small as possible.

then would then be able to diferentiate by zones of voters.

so if zone a, d and f has critically high support for op, say 10% of voters from zone, a, d and f will be redistributed say to zone b, c, e which pap has very high support.

this is called the laws of averaging.....

after taking out part of voters in zone a, d and f, the support for op in a, d and f falls below the critical level again

Thank you for explaining.

How are votes counted? If it is done electronically where the party selection is keyed into a computer and linked to the serial number, wouldn't that mean that you can trace the voter without the physical paper later?

vote counting is still manual.

even if it is electronic, as long as they don't record the serial number, it won't be an issue.

the serial number in a way, is to prevent the situation of people planting in bogus voting slips. so with 10000 voters, there will be exactly 10,000 voting slips.

but i just dont agree with the way they place the serial number of the voting slip in the register of voters. it purposely creates the impression to voters that all votes can be traced back to any individual.

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3699588

POWER CORRUPTS. ABSOULOUTE POWER CORRUPTS, ABSOUTELY.

Vote wisely.

The people in the garment are getting paid a salary and it comes from us, our tax money.

none leh... i'm on my own... LLST lor... [;)]

then you go vote as independent and how you get into their position by luck or something.

you will have 15K a month for 5 years liao :ph34r:

then you go vote as independent and how you get into their position by luck or something.

you will have 15K a month for 5 years liao :ph34r:

what u mean... grassroot leaders.. got 15k monthly??? part time / full time??

Vote wisely.

The people in the garment are getting paid a salary and it comes from us, our tax money.

So since we r paying their salary, then we r their boss, right?

But how come it dont feel like that??? [:(]