YOU are only worth this much

Ah_tee

4th Gear

sorry ... i mean local chinese food and CHINA chinese food.. china chinese food is just diff from local( malaysia or singapore) chinese food....

they eat BUN with stir fried seaweed( this sux to the core).. tomato with egg( this 1 i kinda like).. stirfried cucumber...tao gua with dunno wat... their food are more spicy and salty...

i am sure u noe wat i mean....

singapore local don eat these food..

there is 1 popular cafe in NTU call " The Quad" . when i was yr 1 , i use to love their cai fan and laksa.. the locals love to go there to eat even though its abit mroe ex..... but when i yr 2, it seems like the chefs and waitress change to china ppl.. then slowly their cai fan food become china food... now, its populated by the china ppl.. local go there to eat laksa and jap only...

[laugh] I also frequent "The Quad" last time as some of my customers are located nearby. Their 'economical rice' was nice but as you've mentioned, the style of cooking has changed a couple of years ago and my colleague and I had since stopped going there for lunch.

The bun thing can now be found at both NUS and NTU.... [laugh]

i am from NTU too and i am singaporean.. pls la.. dun fang pi here....

singaporean engineering student do not like to do research?? r u sure? its true that more than half of whole NTU populationis foreigner.. this is because the sch invite u all to come to study for FREE and still give u all allowance.

for singaporean, maybe most of our A level or poly grades are not good so alot of the singaporean do not have the chance to study UNI. another way of seeing this is lets say with 1000 slots and 500 slots taken up by foreigners, the singaprean have to have alot better results to get into UNI! last time 3 B or 2 B 1 C confirm can get a slot in engineering.. nowadays 3 Bs oso not confirm have jobs..

and about research students, these are post grad. that means after grad then take masters or phd and stuff.

every freaking singapore who grad owes around 20-30ks of school fees. and once grad, the interest will start. of course everyone will try to find a job to repay the debt. where as those foreigners, they are offered scholarships for masters and PHDs! free masters PHDs with allowance who dun wan????

come on la NTU wat world-class uni? looking at current situation, more like becoming china uni... just go to see the hall canteens.. all selling ah tiong food....

look at the profs... all the freaking china profs... good resume for wat? can u as a china student even understand the china prof?

Universities need millions of dollars a year to run. So besides school fees, university depends on donations, and money from government, which means ultimatley taxpayers money and we are paying large proportions of these foreign students to study here 'free'?

Can we find published statistics of the number of foreign students in our public universities? Make them open the book on the university finances.

Time to highlight to our new team in parliament and cross examine the education minister. Make them release the nos and figures of the current state of affairs. More transparency and accountability! We must change the policies and system! Things must change!

Please mind your words.

For my information, if your average GPA in NTU is above B or B+, you can take PhD course already. In EEE, there's a great shortage for undergrad who want to take PhD specialized in IC Design, which means nearly anyone applied can get. Still there's not enough students. Even I, a PRC student, don't like it since it's a boring 5-year of study.

The foreign students in NTU population cannot be more than 25%, because that's a school policy. There's typo in my previous post: "half of lectures" should actually be "half of Lecturers" are foreigners.

Many PRC in NTU are paying school fees(around 6k per semester). The scholarship is only given to top 1% or 0.5% students in China. In Singapore, I don't know the exact number, but I guess top 50% can guarantee university(pls correct me if I am wrong). If say every Singaporean can go to university, the quality of NTU will indeed drop. I believe that NTU is a world-class university and it is right to set limitation to admission. And also, don't mess up "PRC scholars" with "every PRC", which you mentioned in your post.

Which school are you from? I guess EEE cuz it's quite a mini-China. In my school about 1/5 professors are PRC. Yes Their accent sucks! I know that. But the reason as I have mentioned, not enough PhD, where to hire Professors? Americans don't come. Of course turn to China and India. If you are president of NTU, what would you do? Please tell me.

i am from NTU too and i am singaporean.. pls la.. dun fang pi here....

singaporean engineering student do not like to do research?? r u sure? its true that more than half of whole NTU populationis foreigner.. this is because the sch invite u all to come to study for FREE and still give u all allowance.

for singaporean, maybe most of our A level or poly grades are not good so alot of the singaporean do not have the chance to study UNI. another way of seeing this is lets say with 1000 slots and 500 slots taken up by foreigners, the singaprean have to have alot better results to get into UNI! last time 3 B or 2 B 1 C confirm can get a slot in engineering.. nowadays 3 Bs oso not confirm have jobs..

and about research students, these are post grad. that means after grad then take masters or phd and stuff.

every freaking singapore who grad owes around 20-30ks of school fees. and once grad, the interest will start. of course everyone will try to find a job to repay the debt. where as those foreigners, they are offered scholarships for masters and PHDs! free masters PHDs with allowance who dun wan????

come on la NTU wat world-class uni? looking at current situation, more like becoming china uni... just go to see the hall canteens.. all selling ah tiong food....

look at the profs... all the freaking china profs... good resume for wat? can u as a china student even understand the china prof?

Aren't local graduate students also offered the same financial aid? "Many years ago", their financial aid (1.5k to 2k a month) was even more than that of Chinese students from China. Some doctoral program scholarships (for example, some LKY scholarship thing) gave more, about 3.5k a month. Very few students paid their own fees, unless they were enrolled in non-research programs.

I even managed to save 10-20k from the financial aid. But then, it means I did not attend conferences overseas.

Edited by Hwt

Please mind your words.

For my information, if your average GPA in NTU is above B or B+, you can take PhD course already. In EEE, there's a great shortage for undergrad who want to take PhD specialized in IC Design, which means nearly anyone applied can get. Still there's not enough students. Even I, a PRC student, don't like it since it's a boring 5-year of study.

The foreign students in NTU population cannot be more than 25%, because that's a school policy. There's typo in my previous post: "half of lectures" should actually be "half of Lecturers" are foreigners.

Many PRC in NTU are paying school fees(around 6k per semester). The scholarship is only given to top 1% or 0.5% students in China. In Singapore, I don't know the exact number, but I guess top 50% can guarantee university(pls correct me if I am wrong). If say every Singaporean can go to university, the quality of NTU will indeed drop. I believe that NTU is a world-class university and it is right to set limitation to admission. And also, don't mess up "PRC scholars" with "every PRC", which you mentioned in your post.

Which school are you from? I guess EEE cuz it's quite a mini-China. In my school about 1/5 professors are PRC. Yes Their accent sucks! I know that. But the reason as I have mentioned, not enough PhD, where to hire Professors? Americans don't come. Of course turn to China and India. If you are president of NTU, what would you do? Please tell me.

hmmm i am 100% sure NTU foreign students population is more than 25%... even PRC itselfs is more than 25% liao... r u sure there is less than 25% foreign students in NTU? maybe PR, student permit or wat loop holes i dunno.. any one come NTU will notice that u throw s stone , 60% of the chance will land on ATs...

R u sure many PRC in NTU r paying school fees? it doesnt seems like at al.. top 1 % of china students got how many liao u know not? thans tens of thousands.. those real smart one goes to china qing hua, fudan.. or US , UK uni.. not so smart ones( still v smart compared to singaporeans) comes to singapore.

do u know tat its not because local do not have good prof.. its because NTU wants to pull up their standing in unis.. and one of the way is to increase the no. of research paper and publish papers..

local uni prof can really teach.. but wat they lack is the research skills.. ATs prof cannot teach at all.. they come tutorial flash answer and sit there to wait for u to copy answer. but these AT profs are coming out with lots of research papers... thats y the sch wants more of them.

a uni is a place where ppl come to learn and stuff from the prof.. so wat if u have profs who publish 1 paper a year? they cant teach at all.. it defeats the whole purpose... end up we are the ones suffering...

Aren't local graduate students also offered the same financial aid? "Many years ago", their financial aid (1.5k to 2k a month) was even more than that of Chinese students from China. Some doctoral program scholarships (for example, some LKY scholarship thing) gave more, about 3.5k a month. Very few students paid their own fees, unless they were enrolled in non-research programs.

I even managed to save 10-20k from the financial aid. But then, it means I did not attend conferences overseas.

eh these are not financial aids.. these are scholarships.. there are a few scholarships.. but results have to be like really WOW to get it.. maybe 10% or less of the locals get it.. the rest of us can apply for finacial aids like the 1 i mention above.. its give every year around 800-1.5k depending on ur household income.

Looking b at NTU's history, those days where NTU student organise riot and strikes.. at least they are all singaporean doing some stuff for singapore... nowadays.. i tell u i would say more than 50% all PRC, indian, viets , indons........

most of my singaporean frens dun like to work with these ppl... infront of prof, they r professional and stuf.. behind.. they r just some lazy bum... but then they r really smart ......

singaporean haven no choice but to find a job , settle down for a few yrs before coming b to study part time masters and PHDs... there are alot of night classes in NTU... This shows that singaporean are not LAZY! we need to settle down, build a family, have a stable career before continuing with masters....

maybe its just NTU tat is just tat bad... when i go NUS, i dun see so much china ppl and china food stalls around... if u go NTU, HALL 5 canteen become 1 big china food court where all the 4 food stalls there sells china food.. mind u is china food , not chinese food..

all the other canteen have at least 1-2 china food stall...from all these u can see that there is demand, there is supply.. and boy there is tons of them here to demand those....

One thing I notice, Singaporeans are very hard-working. I am a PRC and my grade is good, but I really am lazy compared to Singaporean students. I am not proud of myself for being lazy. But actually who care if you are lazy or not, boss only cares if you finish the job before deadline.

I have PhD friends. From their experience, doing 5-years of research in LAB is really not as happy as you have mentioned, although the allowance is good. But since you are so into it, I really wish you can get a placement in PhD.

The number of PRC scholar in NTU and NUS is EXACTLY the same, both around 300 per year. Why you get the feeling that NUS got less PRC is because NUS enrolls less fee-paying students, while the number of fee-paying student in NTU, especially Master Courses, is Huge.

Each year, NTU enrolls 4000-5000 undergrad students, among them 300 are PRC scholar, which is around 7%. Others are fee-paying. It's impossible to be 50%, man!

One thing I notice, Singaporeans are very hard-working. I am a PRC and my grade is good, but I really am lazy compared to Singaporean students. I am not proud of myself for being lazy. But actually who care if you are lazy or not, boss only cares if you finish the job before deadline.

I have PhD friends. From their experience, doing 5-years of research in LAB is really not as happy as you have mentioned, although the allowance is good. But since you are so into it, I really wish you can get a placement in PhD.

The number of PRC scholar in NTU and NUS is EXACTLY the same, both around 300 per year. Why you get the feeling that NUS got less PRC is because NUS enrolls less fee-paying students, while the number of fee-paying student in NTU, especially Master Courses, is Huge.

Each year, NTU enrolls 4000-5000 undergrad students, among them 300 are PRC scholar, which is around 7%. Others are fee-paying. It's impossible to be 50%, man!

50% of the seat in NTU/NUS allocate to Foreigner not just PRC. this is confirm by the dean when we go for their recuitment talk for Singaporean.

Please mind your words.

u still dont understand. take PHD course need $$$ brother... take masters need $$$... we singaporean come uni study need $$$.. we are not so fortunate to have sponsors from our MOE to give use $$$ to study degree or masters.... after getting our degree, we singaporean owes alot of $$$ $26k for a EEE course.. thats 130kRMB my dear....

so we need to go out to work to clear our debt first....

if can continue study with ppl paying u to study... who dont want??? come out get even higher pay... but brother... singaporeans are not so fortunate....

bro.. more than 300 la.. u yr 1 look at LKC u see half of LKC PRC liao.. and LKC is big... still got other course de leh.. still got other country de leh.. each course 100 PRC , 100 indon , 100 viet, 100 indian add up there are wat 10 sch in NTU? how many liao... but HSS and NBS have lesser PRC... not forgeting research staff???

though i am very against the influx of FTs, i still treat them like a fellow being and have never look at them with a different perspective.

i was having lunch with a PRC colleague. shes a 24yr old gal who just graduated from NTU and now working in a MNC while waiting for PR approval.

just started a casual topic like, wad do u like about this country and how are u coping

so we get the standard reply. wad stuns me, was the answer to my next question.

me: " so wad makes u decide to come here"

PRC: " i didnt"

me: " wa, ur parents force u here or ur bf is here"

PRC: "neither, ur SG gahment invited us here"

me: " huh, wad do u mean"

PRC: " ur MOE went to our school in our village and told us they URGENTLY need students here, infact they were hardselling the whole scheme and many of us signed up"

me: " huh, wad did they offer"

PRC: " they offer us, ALL Expenses paid for our fees in NTU, including lodging and we even get pocket money"

me: *mouth open

PRC: "on top of that, they have send me the INVITATION letter to apply for PR after we grad"

i seriously begin to wonder the magitude of the FT problem has many more sides that many of us do not know,

i lose my pride as a sgporean after hearing this and i really wonder do they really care ?

if u give a PR who starts a business here and bring jobs to sgporeans, by all means.

BUT if u choose to so-call groom a FT and seemingly used up tax payers money to fund it, i totally do not understand the reason why.

my guess is, they bring in more FTs, give them the candy and they bring in more FTs, which i belive is working because she told her friends about this scheme and many of her friends are here now, at the expenses of home-grown sgporeans.

i myself was deprived the chance of studying in a local U.

but yet a villager from a faraway land with no visible society contributions gets the chance of studying here, all expenses PAID.

are we really worth this much to the gahment ?

is it really we got not enough pple here to study in NTU ? then why are they rejecting sgporeans who meet the pre-requisites ?

FARK!! [rifle] Instead of providing these benefits to signaporeans.. they waste it on some FTs?

bro.. more than 300 la.. u yr 1 look at LKC u see half of LKC PRC liao.. and LKC is big... still got other course de leh.. still got other country de leh.. each course 100 PRC , 100 indon , 100 viet, 100 indian add up there are wat 10 sch in NTU? how many liao... but HSS and NBS have lesser PRC... not forgeting research staff???

bro,

i am fellow NTU grad, civil engineer, the school is going to sh1ts with all these PRCs and it is indeed a pity.

I am doing my own business, established my brand internationally and approached NTU for any help they might be able to render in anyway, got shot down by the a$$hole there. They would rather fund these a$$ licking PRC mofos.

I hope this school burn together with all the mofo ah tiongs ( except the chio PRC girls)

only thing i like abt PRCs are their women ( u know what i mean) and their cheap labour in china.

their students in NTU can kiss my a$$ and f**k off back to China if they are not happy.

the school literally STINKS now.

To the Ah Tiong Fang CB Kia in this thread, for your own good, go back to you QQ and leave MCF to the real singaporeans. no one gives a crap whether you have to pay school fees or have it hard here. Unless you have a pretty sister/ PRC friend who is looking for extra money and is good at giving massages, no point defending your own people here.

Edited by Headshok

Just my honest opinion and I'm 3rd generation Singaporean like most citizens.

Unlike undergraduate studies which needs diversity (which we lack) and balance between education for all and grooming our talents.. graduate candidates (esp. research focus fields) should be selected from the best in the world because this is where we are generating ideas and patents which remains in SG as our intellectual property. I know many people in SG see graduate studies as a means for career advancement but this besides the point.

The key lies in the selection criteria. I've seen really bright students, and also those who just talk their through and thoroughly CMI. I think this is no different from our immigration policies which I don't know of any transparent criteria. Sometimes it seems to be tikam, or subjective decision made by individual officers.

Edited by Acieed

Man, I am a PRC scholar.

We go through all the exams and interview set by MOE, and 25 students selected from my school(in China). The whole China got around 600 students. We fly to Singapore together, and split into half NTU, half NUS. This number no one knows better than me, bro! Because we PRC scholars used to live in the same hostel. (there's different batch, my batch lived near Kovan)

A lot of Singaporeans lacks figure and info about this program, I think this is why I need to clarify. Someone asked " published statistics of the number of foreign students", total number I'm not sure, but as how many undergrad receive scholarship, I am quite sure 300 for NTU and 300 for NUS.

EEE is the largest school in NTU. NTU population each year is 4000+ and EEE alone is 1000. In my school(also engineering), there're 600 students, and 20 are PRC scholars. There's more Indians I think..... yes you guess right I'm from computer school.

FARK!! [rifle] Instead of providing these benefits to signaporeans.. they waste it on some FTs?

and if such they decide to break their bond after getting their degree/masters/phd how the hell can the uni make these farkers pay for what they owe! china damn blardy big and for sure the uni will never be able to retrieve the money owed and wats stopping these guys from jumping to america or europe! somebody is gonna get screwed and its not these prcs. [rifle][rifle]

Man, I am a PRC scholar.

We go through all the exams and interview set by MOE, and 25 students selected from my school(in China). The whole China got around 600 students. We fly to Singapore together, and split into half NTU, half NUS. This number no one knows better than me, bro! Because we PRC scholars used to live in the same hostel. (there's different batch, my batch lived near Kovan)

A lot of Singaporeans lacks figure and info about this program, I think this is why I need to clarify. Someone asked " published statistics of the number of foreign students", total number I'm not sure, but as how many undergrad receive scholarship, I am quite sure 300 for NTU and 300 for NUS.

EEE is the largest school in NTU. NTU population each year is 4000+ and EEE alone is 1000. In my school(also engineering), there're 600 students, and 20 are PRC scholars. There's more Indians I think..... yes you guess right I'm from computer school.

yours totally sponsor right?

there is another batch that is not total sponsor, they paying SAME SCHOOL FEE as local. the only requirement for them is to work in Singapore for 2 to 3 years.

you think its fair?? when we local confirm working in Singapore and likely for life and we are paying same amount.

Edited by Joseph22

Man, I am a PRC scholar.

Fang CB,

We dont give a crap what your explanation is.

you are not welcome here and we dont want you or your kind ( excluding your pretty women) in our society. PERIOD!

your kind is turning our society into a big mess and killing us local born true blood singaporeans who have served our nation for 2.5- 2 yrs.

If one of your conditions of this scholarship was that you need to serve 1 year national service to singapore in any army camp, would you still come? ask yourself this.

Other than the school fees that we have paid, we pay with our blood and sweat for 2.5 years, literally risking our lives. So again, unless your pretty friend or sister can give a good massage and needs some spare cash, just leave this forum. we dont need your kind to explain anything.

bro,

To the Ah Tiong Fang CB Kia in this thread, for your own good, go back to you QQ and leave MCF to the real singaporeans. no one gives a crap whether you have to pay school fees or have it hard here. Unless you have a pretty sister/ PRC friend who is looking for extra money and is good at giving massages, no point defending your own people here.

Hey man, if you are talking about all the PRC, Indian, Vietnum and Indonesia students in NTU go back home, so that engineer students from NTU decreases, engineering student quality drops and all that.... I am sure many MNC will stop operate in Singapore.

Engineer is vital for Singapore. Without engineers, how does companies run?