Should I migrate?

Vid

How come different? I mean what I see in USA, I see a lot of foreign workers, When I go UK I see a lot of ppl who are obviously from India(especially so when I see so many working at the airport). I think you speak with a certain agenda(political) here. If you want to speak your mind just do so, dun twist the facts here & there. I for one is not convinced with what you said.

Unreal. They're everywhere around the world! 90% of the taxi drivers here are either indians or arabs (nothing against local indians) and they need a gps to get to the airport!

This election has brought many many thoughts. My wife was telling me a couple of days ago if we should migrate and it really set me thinking... Here are the points why we are consdering.

1) Healthcare is too expensive. I want to be able to fall sick and not fear of becoming a heavy burden to my children. Really "can die but cannot fall sick".

2) Housing is too expensive. Although we have our own house, I fear my children will not be able to afford. A new 4 rm flat can easily cost more than $300k. By the time my children grow up, it's probably $900k [:(]

3) FTs have infiltrated our society. Left right centre all flanked by them. And there is no let up on the numbers still on the way. I feel really "squeezed" whenever I out on the streets. I no longer feel at home and that feeling is growing stronger and stronger.

4) Gahmen are still courting for more FTs. How can my children have a future here?

5) Gahmen goes overseas, like China, and give those so called FTs all expense paid trip here. With free education all the way until university. If my children can't get into local university, I have to send them overseas anyway.

6) My children will have to serve NS. I do not want them to hold the rifle while the FTs come here to enjoy the peace and snatch their jobs, their houses and their opportunities. Seriously, I used to think NS will be good for them and hope they will develop into a better person. However, with Singapore going the way it is, that thought vanished.

I will vote on 7 May. Hopefully, I can see a change in the near future. If not, should I uproot my family and move somewhere else?

i had the same discussion with my wife last week.

if Singaporean still don wake up from this election, with so many strong oppo, we will migrate when our kids are going for their degree in a foreign land.

I think you speak with a certain agenda(political) here. If you want to speak your mind just do so, dun twist the facts here & there. I for one is not convinced with what you said.

You beat me to it! It is obviously a tactic to attract flies to buzz in and add shxt.

How I wish this GE quickly get over then there will be much lesser of these political threads. Once in a while nevermind, now want to vomit. Too thi ly veiled alrdy.

MCF should take a leaf from the VAGSG forum- they serve eviction notice when they see obvious threads. Always friendly chat there, almost always.

1) True and worthy contributing factor.

2) Not true. As property price goes up, your salary goes up too. Ask your parents how much are they earning when they first bought their property. I agree that its not a proportional growth but its the same everywhere in the world unfortunately.

To be honest, Singapore's HDB system ensure everyone (within the income threshold) can afford their OWN house instead of renting. The extremely low interest rate is the reason to housing affordability in Singapore. Rather than comparing "apples with apples" (landed and landed) why not compare the norms?

I can give you a very good example. What does an average Singaporean household live in? How much is that property? Do you know whats the average property price in Australia (thats where I'm living now so I cant say for other countries)? My understanding is average household in Singapore lives in 3-4bedroom HDB which can be anywhere between 250-400k depending on varies factors. This figure is slightly lower than what an average Australian household pay for their house. Regardless of apartment, townhouse, landed house in a suburb in Brisbane, the property price can be between 300-550k (for a 3-4bedroom). Now thats not a big difference you would say but now look at the interest rate, I'm currently paying 7.1%, how much are Singaporeans paying? Do you know 3years ago the interest rate was around 9-10%? And more than 15 years ago it was over 13%? Thats mortgage.

What bout eating out? A plate of chicken rice in Singapore would be $3-$4? We're paying $10. Does that mean I need to earn 2-3times of a Singaporean? Unfortunately I'm not.

I can tell you a way of making money from FTs. Assuming they cannot buy HDBs, you can positive gear a property investment in Singapore.

3) Not a reason for migration, you have your family there and its very different living in another country.

4) They will live as you do and adapt.

5) I dont know how this work but every university will need foreigners because the tuition fees paid by local is peanuts.

6) Doesnt make sense. Serving NS is part of being a Singapore citizen. Whats the jobless rate in Singapore?

Seriously the only reason why I choose to stay back after uni is because of the working environment, cheaper cars and I can get PR very easily.

Also, before you say you wanna migrate, maybe check if you are eligible or not to begin with. A lot of people keep saying they wanna migrate like its that simple...

2) so in future COE price will be as high as 500k???? [laugh]

I got 1 question, How come i see old china man who can barely walk able to got SG PR. Really pissed me off, those people cannot contribute anything to our society yet increase our healthcare expenses.

2) so in future COE price will be as high as 500k???? [laugh]

No Idea. I'm sure you can dig up the past COE price and work out a reasonable trend/pattern. Based on that you should be able to make a good guesstimate of what COE price will be in 10yrs time.

lol hopefully next 10 years MRT become world class then dont need to drive car anymore, save money

1) True and worthy contributing factor.wat are the contributing factors

2) Not true. As property price goes up, your salary goes up too. Ask your parents how much are they earning when they first bought their property. I agree that its not a proportional growth but its the same everywhere in the world unfortunately. Wat is the percentage of our parents pays goes to the servicing of the home loan and is there any dofferrent on the duartion of their loans to ours

3) Not a reason for migration, you have your family there and its very different living in another country.

4) They will live as you do and adapt. We have to adapt to them and not vise-versa

5) I dont know how this work but every university will need foreigners because the tuition fees paid by local is peanuts. These foreigners are being sponsored by the government using our money to feed and nurture them. name me one country that does that.6) Doesnt make sense. Serving NS is part of being a Singapore citizen. Whats the jobless rate in Singapore? then why are these foreigners allowed to milk the country and leave as soon they have a small fortune. most of them do not even want to be citizen and ns is becoming a mitigating factor for this choice.

Seriously the only reason why I choose to stay back after uni is because of the working environment, cheaper cars and I can get PR very easily.

Also, before you say you wanna migrate, maybe check if you are eligible or not to begin with. A lot of people keep saying they wanna migrate like its that simple...

5th Gear

境随心转

If your heart is calm, the environment appears calm to you. If your heart is in turmoil, the environment appears turbulent to you.

I have known many people who migrated with the mindset that their problems are with the environment and that shifting away to another country would resolve their frustrations. The truth could not be further from that. After migration, they realised that the problems they had were compounded by the fact that they were in a foreign land and disadvantaged them due to their second-class citizen status.

Only a small group who migrated were happy after their move and that was solely because they moved as part of their retirement plans, are still mobile (flying to and from Singapore regularly) and not to compete with the locals of another country for work/survival.

Very often when we encounter problems, the finger of blame always flies outwards. It is human nature to not want to feel that one should bear the blame for the situation. The feeling of guilt is something that the human mind always wants to free itself from. The most convenient way is to blame someone else but that is simply avoidance and not solving the issues at hand.

It is only when one acknowledges the role that he plays in the situation and it is impossible to attribute fault to a single entity, that one realises no-one is at fault yet everyone is at fault. Instead of playing the point-the-finger game, one then resolves to grow himself emotionally, mentally and spiritually to work with and make the best out of the environment that he is in.

If I go to another country, I am not there to fight with the people over there. I am not there to suppress their wages. I am not there to inflat their housing prices. I am not there to snatch away what they call home or their own heritage. I am not there to infest their country.

Singapore is small with no resources. The only resource Singapore has is people. If Singaporeans are being treated like 2nd class citizens where opportunities are first given to foreigners, then something is very wrong.

Good Carbuyer, a little early to be drunk huh.

Do not worry. Everyday, there are many new discoveries/methods we may not heard of yet. What is impossible to solve this moment, can be easily solve the next moment. Only if we refuse to solve problem/solve them properly, do we end up more issues (like now). I believe if the ruling party return as minority, many corrections/improvements can be forth-coming.

If I go to another country, I am not there to fight with the people over there. I am not there to suppress their wages. I am not there to inflat their housing prices. I am not there to snatch away what they call home or their own heritage. I am not there to infest their country.

Singapore is small with no resources. The only resource Singapore has is people. If Singaporeans are being treated like 2nd class citizens where opportunities are first given to foreigners, then something is very wrong.

You will indirectly fight with the people there, eg, used the road, public transport, eat their food, take up jobs, inflate their property prices, and if more and more people think like you, there will be an assimilation of culture by immigrants. You see, these will happen with or without your willingness. Sooner or later, if you live there long enough and like it there, you are going to call it home. And if there's a war, or if your kids are asked to volunteer to fight in battles campaign front by US Army, will you let him go?

Exactly what you are thinking of foreigners in Singapore.

To me, seriously, unless a person just want to migrate because of career, opportunity, lifestyle, dreams or other personal reasons, there's nothing wrong. Cause it's all about himself or herself.

But migrating because of own country's migration problem, it is just hypocrisy.

Edited by Stanong11

if u can leave ur parents/in-laws slidings, frds here, y not.

its tough competition ahead of us. next generation, will be extra tough, hardship.

not very child can be the top cream of their lot, then how???

wats their future????

life is tough here, enjoy while u can and save enough for urself for old age [:)]

Can vote at GE so that the ruling party becomes minority if they return?

* sorry, only talking about australia.. most my friends have gone there than other places *

i have an ex-colleague migrated solely for their children's future.

one of them was also autistic.

i heard that their public schools and parents are very supportive to children with special needs.. even assigned 1 extra teacher per such kid in class.

their education also focus on the children's development, rather than one-size-fit-all approach.. don't conform, u are doomed with no future.

yes.. my colleague had to downgrade himself from a senior manager he held in sgp.. but the whole family seemed much happier now.

i heard he's still keeping his sg passport though.. to earn rental from his hdb.

btw, i read somewhere that saf don't recognize autistic kids.. these children will suffer most in there through no fault of their own.