What do you guys think about this GE?

VellfireS

GE 2011  

139 members have voted

1. 1. Was the results something you expected?

• YES!
    • No..
    • Huh? Elections over ah?

What i am pointing out is this, the system of having so called MP voted in on behalf of the ppl is already flawed when its base on party. which is why Bush get the call in one of its 4 years incharge, nevermind that their president change every 4 or 8 years. but those damage in itself are already done too deep that the next president had to spend 4 years to repair, and if voted again for another 4 years to implement the change. if he/she is not voted in again, the opposition president will start all the s--t again. how great can this form of government be?

This i am pointing to is the flawed of the system of democracy. though not other form of government can be on par or any better than democracy interms of voice.

the key difference between Bush's case, (which i still don't remember reading about this, but let's assume it was true), is that the American constitution ensures the flaws are corrected over time and true enough, 8 years later, u get a new president.

The flaw in our system is it's controlled by one party and as long as this party calls the shots, that flaw can never be corrected.

you make it sound simplistic but the reality is Sporeans do rate other issues above democracy here because we clearly understand the election is not free and fair. The opposition fights against PAP plus the media, fear, GRC rules. So if Sporeans view democracy with importance, they wouldn't vote for such government. Try this in America and see what happens to the president. Yes, PAP were democratically elected, but the conditions were not democratic to begin with. So in short, it's a farce.

lastly, if you like a dog, you'll have certain attributes, names and so on. it's only normal that either voter will be called names. There's no need to be sensitive about it. For opposition voters, it'll be love for democracy. Pap voters, love for upgrading, Kate Spade and what have you. Which is more sound, which is more shallow, is entirely up to the individual's opinion.

I am among political-illiterates. This GE restored my full citizenship rights to vote. Refreshing to have semi-citizenship barricade removed. I am now more educated on politics, and trying to study each political party's manifesto to gain better politics awareness. .Will participate in future GE if feasible.

actually too much thread liao and most of them calling ppl names like daft and selfish, dont even know which thread is talking about what

Ya lor. People has the freedom to vote the party/candidate they like. But ended up being called idiot, selfish, destroy their children future etc. [shakehead]

Not to worry for them, afterall they were still ministers and they are not like other s'poreans commoner which lose job and might not able to find another one. [rolleyes]

Anyway... at this state of time.. assuming George Yeo retires:

his pension 2/3 x $2.5million = $1.67million p.a.

Not bad la.... I don't mind sipping beer whilst lying on a hammock on a balcony in a Sentosa Cove bungalow, staring at my yacht parked outside my house, whilst $1.67 million keeps pouring into my bank account every year.

Heck, I'll even entertain for free any foreign dignitaries who drop by my house, all in the name of keeping good foreign relations for Singapore. It's the least I could do during my retirement years.

1st Gear

Ya lor. People has the freedom to vote the party/candidate they like. But ended up being called idiot, selfish, destroy their children future etc. [shakehead]

Maybe they don't really understand the meaning of democracy.

My simple observations :

1. PAP overall %age down from 66% to 60%

2. Close calls in several GRCs, around 55% votes only

3. Only place where votes went up was AMK GRC (against newbies) and PP SMC

4. WP did well as they had clear focus and agenda and good candidates

Let's see whether the soul seaching at PAP will yield more citizen-friendly policies and most importantly, leave no one behind on our bus journey.

Anyway... at this state of time.. assuming George Yeo retires:

his pension 2/3 x $2.5million = $1.67million p.a.

Not bad la.... I don't mind sipping beer whilst lying on a hammock on a balcony in a Sentosa Cove bungalow, staring at my yacht parked outside my house, whilst $1.67 million keeps pouring into my bank account every year.

Heck, I'll even entertain for free any foreign dignitaries who drop by my house, all in the name of keeping good foreign relations for Singapore. It's the least I could do during my retirement years.

no worry for george yeo la, u dont be surprise he is the president this coming aug, as the president election is on this year aug

What i am pointing out is this, the system of having so called MP voted in on behalf of the ppl is already flawed when its base on party. which is why Bush get the call in one of its 4 years incharge, nevermind that their president change every 4 or 8 years. but those damage in itself are already done too deep that the next president had to spend 4 years to repair, and if voted again for another 4 years to implement the change. if he/she is not voted in again, the opposition president will start all the s--t again. how great can this form of government be?

This i am pointing to is the flawed of the system of democracy. though not other form of government can be on par or any better than democracy interms of voice.

OMG you are dumber than i thought.

You don't know what the US democratic government is and how it is run and you want to talk as if you know a lot. You don't call something flawed before knowing anything about it.

Please read up before you make any more stupid statements like the above.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_gover...e_United_States

OMG you are dumber than i thought.

You don't know what the US democratic government is and how it is run and you want to talk as if you know a lot. You don't call something flawed before knowing anything about it.

Please read up before you make any more stupid statements like the above.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_gover...e_United_States

i know what it is lah.. i am pointing out the issue with gettin ppl to represent ppl lah. especially if its through a party.

any America can enter the same problem as singapore if both senate and house represented by same party as seen in Bush administration. which all bills are pass almost without question from the senate. very similar to singapore where only 1 party is there. but both are democratically voted. so are you going to say that American at times support totalliant??

you might want to say, at least they have house and senate and can change every 4 years but that is not what i am pointing at.

BTW, calling ppl dumb and posting reference from Wiki is not that much smarter either.

plus, the issue is not on USA ferderal government but on what is democracy. which i am pointing out what is some of the flawed.

Edited by Joseph22

I am an opp supporter but I'm sad that George Yeo is gone also [:(] ,happy for WP elected.

Why must be George Yeo and not MBT and WKS !!

You share the same view of GCT. Apprently GCT is the only one that speak out for GY before the voting days, in the way, he is agreeing with people that MBT & WKS can go instead of GY.

BTW, do tell me, how democratic can it be when they can elect a president who loss popularity vote but win by number of seat in the house because of district?

The fact that you commented about the president and his powers to "change" already speaks volumes about your lack of understanding.

You don't even know about the different branches of government in the USA and their different powers and how they check and balance each other.

The president of the USA is not the emperor. He can be impeached because of the power of the judiciary branch of govt. The president also cannot unilaterally make amendments to the law, as this power is held by the legislative branch of govt, the US Congress. And much more.

Totally alien to singkie like you, right? I implore you to read up before making a fool of yourself.

Wiki has many doubtful stuff but this entry on the US federal govt is 100% accurate as it is not disputed by any American.

How the govt works is the first thing university undergrads learn in Politics 101 or even in high school so if the Wiki entry on the US Fed Govt is inaccurate you can be sure it would have been amended by now by the millions of americans browsing thru wiki daily.

Please dun embarrass yourself any more.

The fact that you commented about the president and his powers to "change" already speaks volumes about your lack of understanding.

You don't even know about the different branches of government in the USA and their different powers and how they check and balance each other.

The president of the USA is not the emperor. He can be impeached because of the power of the judiciary branch of govt. The president also cannot unilaterally make amendments to the law, as this power is held by the legislative branch of govt, the US Congress. And much more.

Totally alien to singkie like you, right? I implore you to read up before making a fool of yourself.

His "understanding" of the US government seems to be "like us, but bigger." I've given up trying to correct people who don't even recognize that their own understanding may be wrong...

Yup a little knowledge is a dangerous thing. This fool is trying to talk politics and criticise democratic govts using rhetoric from his PAPpy masters without even understanding the least bit of what he is saying.

Wiki has many doubtful stuff but this entry on the US federal govt is 100% accurate as it is not disputed by any American.

How the govt works is the first thing university undergrads learn in Politics 101 or even in high school so if the Wiki entry on the US Fed Govt is inaccurate you can be sure it would have been amended by now by the millions of americans browsing thru wiki daily.

Please dun embarrass yourself any more.

you know what is the point of our discussion first or not.

its on how voting for PAP is not consider democracy. and his respond was because then all policy pass got no check and balance.

that is where i point out to him that under bush administration when both house and senate come under republican, how many bills not popular with majority of the ppl is pass. how different does it take?

and he mention 60% vote for PAP but 81 seat won.

bush case more than 50% vote against bush, he won the president.

how different does it make??

point of focus, if this can happen to USA, why when it happen to singapore its not consider democracy??

In retrospect, they should have swapped George Yeo to Marine Parade with TPL in Aljunied...