RC, CC, CCC & All Other Cs Didn't Detect Ground Resentment?

Vulcann

the only connection on the ground these ppl have are only with the aunties & uncles....

at least thats what i see at my RC...... [mad]

1st Quintile: Upper Class (household income >>$450K p.a.)

2nd Quintile: Upper-Middle Class (>$200K and <450K p.a.)

3rd Quintile: Middle Class / the 'sandwiched' class (>100K and <200K)

4th Quintile: Lower-Middle Class (>$30K and <$100K)

5th Quintile: Low Income / marginalized (<$30K)

When I started work after leaving school (1978), I was only lingering below 5th Quintile .....

10 years on, still hover around 5th Quintile ....

20 years on, move up 1 notch to 4th Quintile (<$50K) ........

30 years on, still hover around 4th Quintile (<$70K) ......

40 years on, back to 5th Quintile ........

I CAN'T EVEN GET OUT OF MY SANDWICH .......................... [furious]

Its just plain sandwich for me, no filling, no 'PEANUT' butter from starts to retirement ................. [:(][:(]

When I started work after leaving school (1978), I was only lingering below 5th Quintile .....

10 years on, still hover around 5th Quintile ....

20 years on, move up 1 notch to 4th Quintile (<$50K) ........

30 years on, still hover around 4th Quintile (<$70K) ......

40 years on, back to 5th Quintile ........

I CAN'T EVEN GET OUT OF MY SANDWICH .......................... [furious]

Its just plain sandwich for me, no filling, no 'PEANUT' butter from starts to retirement ................. [:(][:(]

Hey! i'm in the same boat too!

1st Quintile: Upper Class (household income >>$450K p.a.)

2nd Quintile: Upper-Middle Class (>$200K and <450K p.a.)

3rd Quintile: Middle Class / the 'sandwiched' class (>100K and <200K)

4th Quintile: Lower-Middle Class (>$30K and <$100K)

5th Quintile: Low Income / marginalized (<$30K)

If the per capita salary distribution for Singaporeans is statistically equally distributed, most of us will fall into the sandwiched, middle class, earning between $100-200K p.a. re family income.

However, I think not.

I believe Singapore's salary distribution per capita is skewed left of the ideal-case median.

That is, the ANOVA curve is heavier toward the lower-income side (<$100K p.a.).

So the sandwiched class effectively begins from somewhere in the lower-middle class(e.g. $60-70K p.a.), and moving all the way up to middle class, up to $200K p.a.

That's why lah, MCF was sounding rather anti-establishment running into the 2011GE [:p][laugh]

It is still a big mystery to me till this day that the ruling party apparently did not detect the so-called ground resentment until it was GE time.

The latest admission came from PMO Minister LHH who had lost her post as a result of being ousted from her Aljunied GRC. She was the latest office bearer who revealed this in a press conference today. Almost every of her cabinet colleagues had already sounded caution of this wave of dissatisfaction of the government just before & after the GE.

The part that puzzles me is that the ruling party MPs serve as advisors to EVERY SINGLE WARD & he or she has an army of helpers, grassroots volunteers & leaders from RCs, CCs, CCCs & whatever Cs to assist him or her in the course of their ground advisory work. These folks apparently also serve as the eyes & ears to alert these MPs of anything that happens on the ground.

I mean no disrespect to these selfless individuals who took time off to volunteer their service to the MPs on a regular basis.

Question is: WHY IS THE RULING PARTY CAUGHT OFF GUARD BY THE GROUND RESENTMENT?

Your views?

They know but it's a matter of want to report or not...

It is still a big mystery to me till this day that the ruling party apparently did not detect the so-called ground resentment until it was GE time.

The latest admission came from PMO Minister LHH who had lost her post as a result of being ousted from her Aljunied GRC. She was the latest office bearer who revealed this in a press conference today. Almost every of her cabinet colleagues had already sounded caution of this wave of dissatisfaction of the government just before & after the GE.

The part that puzzles me is that the ruling party MPs serve as advisors to EVERY SINGLE WARD & he or she has an army of helpers, grassroots volunteers & leaders from RCs, CCs, CCCs & whatever Cs to assist him or her in the course of their ground advisory work. These folks apparently also serve as the eyes & ears to alert these MPs of anything that happens on the ground.

I mean no disrespect to these selfless individuals who took time off to volunteer their service to the MPs on a regular basis.

Your views?

perhaps the top is confident they will win despite the resentment

True, maybe that's also the reason why GCT he is a little disappointed with the result. Although still a win for Marine Parade GRC but he is too over coinfident that he will get better result than that. So good wake up call for most minister I would say.

you see............. every whatever C's members wants to paint a good image of themselves and when reporting to MP's, everything is always OK to the MP's ears ......

One very good example is the MP visit to any hdb blocks or hawker centres, the night before, can see cleaners spray-jet the floor, rubbish bins near the lift cleaned & cleared, lift doors polish from inside & outside and at time, don't know from where, potted plants can be seen.

You will know when someone is coming to visit the area and no need to guess who ........ :ph34r:

So......... with everyone along the chain keep hidding some facts from the one above, the last person to receive the message is "everything is smooth sailing and well taken care off, no complaint, no short-coming, ppls are happy and best of all, Medical & HDB price are AFFORTABLE " ..... [mad]

Your last sentence says it all...

:angry: :angry: :angry:

detect already so wat?

will they stop importing FT? will they cut pay? will they low cpf withdraw age? will they cut gst?

all these they wun do so better dun listen to ground else they have no excuse not to change

Maybe I would like to give one example,

If that member stays at Ave 10 AMK and buy season car park for his car, he will get to park free within AMK GRC right ?

Then, that member like to shop at AMK centre, don't you think he enjoy free parking around the vicinity of AMK HUB (unless he park at the basement car park of AMK HUB where he had to pay).

Then if he like to eat crab bee-hoon at Street 21, AMK, he will get to park free the car park right....... :ph34r:

So, although the member pay for his own car park fee, he get to park free within the GRC ...... [cool]

ordinary residents have to pay for every car park he enter .....

So good?

Can begin to understand why Anakin choose to join the Dark Side.....

I encourage the PAP to continue being disconnected with the people. I hope they bury their heads deeper then the ostrich.

Please continue give stupid and lame excuses repeated with illogical reasoning.

Repeat these attitudes over the next few elections.

I wish to see more GRCs fall and the useless MPs and ministers out of the parliament.

yes, they run us like Singapore Inc.

and worst we are all guilty of it lah.

for example, the relationship between employer &employee/ maid, managers & subordinates, officer/encik & men etc.

MAID example:

The employer, inside their heart, knows must give more freedom, more pay, more feedback, more human rights to the maid, but most of them refused to admit/ face/ talk about it with the maid.

it the end, just follow the standard MOM rules blindly, listening to others (grandparents, kids, neighbours) instead of listening from the maid point-of-view.

WE ARE TREATED LIKE MAIDS, literally!!!

even in cooperate, do you think the CEO or board of directors give a damn on how the store-man or janitor thinks, when they implement policies???

Yeah, but must also remember to look at it another way...

If office far far from MRT, maybe storeman comprain that very hard to come to work, so ask for shuttle bus. Bos say ok, then must buy 5 x shuttle bus (so enough for all staff) + 5 x driver, marney come from where? Because spend so much marney on this, then cannot give year end bonus, so top perfomring staff leave...then sad right?

It is hard to balance between what is good, what is fair, what is in best interests of company and what will make staff feel good.

Your views?

Why ?

Because

(1) Management does not like to hear bad news

(2) No one wants to take the blame for it

(3) It is impossible to please everyone

(4) Only scholars are worth listening to (but scholars also give only good news)

(5) Consensus means the civil service agreeing with whatever the minister says

(6) Success for a civil servant means being obedience and get promoted to superscale salary

(7) Thank you for your feedback. Next, please ....

(8) The civil service is the best/Number1/cleverest/fasterest

(10) Singaporean are champion whiners, ignore them

:D tis is what eunuch way of reporting to emperor [laugh]

Well, if they reported "wrongly" (truthfully) to the emperor, they might be turned into eunuchs - like Sima Qian. [bigcry]

The reality is that it is difficult to match influx with infrastructure, which appears to be the limiting factor and so you let in the people to push for economic growth to catch this good times. Note last year's rebound figures.

Bring in the people, bite the bullet.

The underlying problem is a simple one - our ministers's pay is pegged to GDP growth, not your happiness level.

They have been ignoring ground sentiments throughout the past GEs & thought they could do that again this time.

Unfortunately they realised rather late about the alarming high level of resentment & tried to placate the voters at the very last minute.

Too little, too late regrettably...

Edited by Vulcann