SGP tailgaters, you'f to learn from.....

KARTer

my speed, if not blocked by other cars, was close to that of the top group on NSHwy (ok to say i m haolian coz i am), the reason he could get so close to me is just simply front cars are hogging/blocking me, and the other lanes are full of slow cars which i have the right not to join them...

If you don't want to join the slow cars on the other lane, then don't complain la.

I mean there is a choice for you to get out of your predicament. If you don't wan to take that choice, then why do you complain?

my speed, if not blocked by other cars, was close to that of the top group on NSHwy (ok to say i m haolian coz i am), the reason he could get so close to me is just simply front cars are hogging/blocking me, and the other lanes are full of slow cars which i have the right not to join them...

If you don't want to join the slow cars on the other lane, then don't complain la.

I mean there is a choice for you to get out of your predicament. If you don't wan to take that choice, then why do you complain?

he is risking his life at 140kmh, blood boils & all senses r up 110%, & still some1 want to fxuk his rear, this kind of feeling only a driver can understand another driver, if u think driving is so simple then wait till u go msia. btw my fren say my driving very aggressive yet i very relax, i say thanks to the "training" at msia

TS is just a typical road hogger who will find any excuse to road hog. nothing new. it is these singaporeans who are giving themselves a bad name in malaysia highways.

I wanted to know the reasons why they like to tailgate, that's all.

I am happy to stick to my place in the queue so there's no predicament, maybe you can stop putting words into other's mouth for a change.

If they want to do it, its ok for me as long as they dont expect me to move over for them when they are slower as soon as the road is clear. Do you get me?

Whether or not i complain is none of your business unless you are one of them who tailgate... of course if you insist on posting here to stop people complaining it's your choice... but be prepared to take it if you give it to others.

End of the day, no complaints / predicament on my part........... it's all imagination/fabrication on your part.

Actually my take on this kinda behaviour is that.. knowing there are cars infront of you... they were thinking why u did not pressurize the cars in front of you to give way...so they take it as your fault...so they pressurize you by tailgating you so u either move one side or keep up the pressure to get those cars in front of you to give way.....for me.....i don;t want to die...i will move to the other lane and let the tailgating car to clear the road for me.....then I will move behind him and have a clear road.....best strategy and safest.....

you've got a point [:)]

i guess the culture on NSHwy is what you described.... unlike other contries where tailgating is not the way to push the guys in front, at most they flash headlights or put signal lights to indicate their request for the guy in front to giveway.... [:)]

Which other countries are you referring to that won't have anybody tailgate ? :)

you've got a point [:)]

i guess the culture on NSHwy is what you described.... unlike other contries where tailgating is not the way to push the guys in front, at most they flash headlights or put signal lights to indicate their request for the guy in front to giveway.... [:)]

why you bring Autobahn to NSH?? different road condition lah...

LOL........ this anus got his top and bottom mixed up, swopped place and now thinks and talks thru his anus........... we can just leave him alone [:)]

Long time ago, when was driving my modded WRX, my friend in his STI and I were playing punk all the way back from Sepang to Singapore. Maintained >230 km/hr for long stretches (thank goodness for oil coolers and ZR tyres). Was younger, reflexes were damn good and everything's "heightened" after a track day (trackies will know what I'm talking about).

Nowsadays, hor, when I drive my lau pok Vios up (only car I dare to drive up), I always guai guai keep to middle lane at most, and even when I need to briefly move to right to overtake, I always move back to middle if a fast car comes up behind me. No matter if I think there's a slower car in front of me (almost always a Singaporean) - it's just the expected etiquette up North.

Different situations, different capabilities, different behaviour.

Sorry, Karter, 160+ is absolutely nothing up North. Please keep to the middle lane. I understand the point about not being able to move over immediately if there's a few cars blocking you on the left. The way to defuse the situation is to turn on the left signal immediately to indicate that you're intending to move over when there's a gap (and of course, you should do so as soon as one does open up). I've done this, and almost always, the guy behind backs off a little to give me space and face. It's clear that the guy behind was tailgating just to make sure the car in front gets the message, once he realises the car in front has acknowledged the message, he'll back off.

Maybe i didnt make it clear enough or something:- if i do 160 (slow by NSHwy standard, you're correct) and see a car catching up from behind, i will give way well before he comes closer than 10 car lengths. That's not a problem at all.

If i do faster than 160 and the road is clear (front and back), i will stick to outer lane for a few reasons:-

1. I notice the inner lane is usually more bumpy than the outer (rigthmost) lane, maybe due to heavy use by trucks/buses. So if i am not blocking any one behind and no one is blocking me in front, my prefer lane is the smoother ie the rightmost lane

2. WHen the inner lane is full of slow cars, i try to avoid having to move over from the outer lane to the inner lane (just for others behind to overtake even they are actually slower) then move back, and repeat the same everytime a guy comes tailgating me. Too much work when these tailgaters are actually slower but tailgate when actually I am not the cause of slowing them down but it is the guys in front of me actually slow down everyone else.

u driving a Turbo charged car? What car? Wow 200+ not many car can reach leh. I used to do that in my LGT now also can but not as easy liao

There are quite many NA cars doing 200 easily.......... mine is TC and 260 should be ok but i darent try too often, my skill cant match that on public roads or tracks.

LGT should be able to do above 200 quite effortlessly, its made to do it [:)] ......... maybe you long time never clear carbon and something got choked inside? (joking) [:)]

mine is ah beng e9.... shy [:(]

Had been very regular NSHW user (last passport finish all the pages within 6yrs). I realised on the right lane when u sign right to the car in front, only 2 type of plates willnt give way. One is start with "J", while the other start with "S". For the rest, they will cut to the left, and turn go back to the right lane after I passed them. now with my car at very low top speed, I travel left all the way unless overtaking of whole road no car (travel right cause mostly lane very bumpy). I realise most of the my car respect sg bike very much and will give way when we approach, even at speed like 250, 260, except the J, of course. And its because of this respect, that keep the highway in order. For sg car, mostly don give a dam. and usually we don care much too. signal light 3-5 blink, no response, backside twist left and right and we are clear to go.

Usually when MY drivers see right signal light of the car behind, they will give way. SGP cars are less 'automatic'. You're right, once we know the guy in front ignores the right signal light of mine, if there is a large enough gap in the left lane, we will do the backside wriggling move and get over it within few seconds.... [:)]

Edited by KARTer

TS is just a typical road hogger who will find any excuse to road hog. nothing new. it is these singaporeans who are giving themselves a bad name in malaysia highways.

[sleeping][sleeping]

Which other countries are you referring to that won't have anybody tailgate ? :)

i dont know about you, in my 6 years of driving on AUS roads i hardly came across tailgaters, maybe i was just lucky. UK also, again, could be my luck. What about you? You sound like someone with lots of overseas driving experience.

Edited by KARTer

your cousins in MY..........

on NShwy, i have encountered countless SUPERtailgaters who keep so close to my rear bumper that i could see my car's image reflected on their sunglasses... at 160kmh+ for as long as the cars in front of, and also those on the next lane of, me are still blocking me.....

traffic on NSHwy on certain stretches from Penang/KL/SIN are quite heavy, bumper to bumper, but these MY-boleh drivers are doing SUPERtailgating like no tomorrow even though they can see there are many cars in front blocking me..........

actually after a while i just got used to it and dont bother to look into the mirror...

why do they do it? to tell the front driver they want to over take? but at that speed and with other cars blocking front/sides, there's nothing the front driver like me can do, right?

the best joke is, the same Hyundai 3.5L MPV repeated this even after at a few points when the traffic was clear and i managed to pull away from him to reach 200kmh++ (he was left behind in split second and couldnt match my acceleration especially on uphill stretches) but when he finally caught up again due to other slow cars blocking me, knowing that i dont hog if there's a choice, he would still stick to my bumper and repeat the whole thing......

(maybe he felt humiliated that his brand new 3.5L kena trashed uphill? i dont know)

but he's not the only one as mentioned above... many of such SUPERtailgater-drivers there... maybe they know something we dont?

i try to figure that maybe they hardly see multiple-car pile ups in MY and dont realise that tailgating at such high speed is dangerous? or may be its simply their balls are really BIG??

so close that i didnt even dare tap brakes with left foot to signal them.... [sweatdrop]

That so danger is Malaysian so ego small?

based on what some bros said here, it's not so much their egos, but their driving culture... [:)]

Just give way....move over...problem solved.....no big deal.

In fact it happened to me too...on NS highway as you near or leave a city like KL the traffic has bottle necks. These fellas will talgate me at the congested stretches and I swing left and let them past first. Then I swing back immediately behind them and they do the work for me and clear the lane ahead and I just follow at a safe distance as they force other cars to the lefte lane.

Once the road clears and we have a long empty stretch ahead I open up to 190-200kph and they then let me past....most of the time.

Avoid conflict...just let them pass. Dont road hog...even if you are doing 180-200kph it is road hogging if the fella behind you wants to go faster and you refuse to give way.

Just give way....move over...problem solved.....no big deal.

In fact it happened to me too...on NS highway as you near or leave a city like KL the traffic has bottle necks. These fellas will talgate me at the congested stretches and I swing left and let them past first. Then I swing back immediately behind them and they do the work for me and clear the lane ahead and I just follow at a safe distance as they force other cars to the lefte lane.

Once the road clears and we have a long empty stretch ahead I open up to 190-200kph and they then let me past....most of the time.

Avoid conflict...just let them pass. Dont road hog...even if you are doing 180-200kph it is road hogging if the fella behind you wants to go faster and you refuse to give way.

the thing is after i let them pass, they start to drop speed and do only 160, ended up blocking me and i had to overtake them....... once i am in front of them and some other cars in front block and slow me down, these guys caught up again and started tailgating all over again....

Actually changing lane at very high speed must be careful as the higher the speed, the easier for vehicle to lose control.. so in event of out of sudden when behind car follow very closely and already travelling more than 180km/h exercise caution when changing lane.. do not get too kan jiong to let the driver pass and neglect the changing lane part. As a sudden steering wheel movement in high speed makes a lot of different of the way the vehicle behaves..

Edited by Yewheng