Lornie Road

Puteh83

only means we not paying enough to attract the best!

must increase their pay!

Car related taxes is among the highest, let’s pay more to the minister for transport like $10mil ....... reckon we have not been paying enough to attract the best man

The North-South Highway is supposed to address this but it's 8 years away.

Have they started on the construction of the NSH?

Actually I feel there is no need for ns expressway already. Cte traffic actually improved as compared to few years ago. Also with government now limit to no new coe quota will be added, it effectively cap on the number of cars on the road.

Plus nowadays the jam is shifted to other parts of expressway like TPE to new upper changi road and the reverse during morning and evening peak hours. Then also kpe is getting more and more jam.

So yeah.. The ns expressway to me will be a big waste of money to build as of current traffic cte condition now.

CTE traffic only improved when the high price of ERP on CTE is turned on, and at certain timing even there is ERP on CTE, heavy and slow traffic still the same on CTE lo. The heavy and jam traffic always happened between AMK to Moulmein on both side.

We like to think that they know best, since we pay world class salaries to ministers, who are supposed to give direction to the workers. But you see some of the decisions made and you really question is this what we get for paying top dollar? Then how come other places pay lesser but can get similar or better quality?

The main problems are the time available to the LTA planners and contractor is very tight plus so many space constraints. 

Paying a person good salary does not mean he can solve the problem for u lah.

Since when ministers come n direct the workers?, they just come down n tell the LTA, go get it done.

Then the LTA planners will go n design n put up tender, but sadly they always award to the lowest. Pay top dollar to the human talent but lowest dollar to the people doing the work. Isnt it twisted??

In Uk, you wanna expand the road they really do 1 temporary road and let you take your own sweet time to expand the road. The contractor can work in peace. In Spore, where to divert sia, all protected trees then LTA, PUB, SP and Nparks all dun tok de. U spend more time clearing authority then actually working !!!

I vomitted blood last time as the contractor rep. So u guyz know how shitty it is

No wonder we have many shitty roads here?! Lol.

Actually singapore road is already very good.

Recently I fetch a couple from London. They was saying with this good condition of road only to London but not outskirts, and the guy then said, yup. Cannot compare..

So well..

Edited by Yewheng

Actually singapore road is already very good.

Recently I fetch a couple from London. They was saying with this good condition of road only to London but not outskirts, and the guy then said, yup. Cannot compare..

So well..

Last year, i was in Mongolia for Bicycle tour.  Roads in Mongolia is so much better than Singapore.

Actually I feel there is no need for ns expressway already. Cte traffic actually improved as compared to few years ago. Also with government now limit to no new coe quota will be added, it effectively cap on the number of cars on the road.

Plus nowadays the jam is shifted to other parts of expressway like TPE to new upper changi road and the reverse during morning and evening peak hours. Then also kpe is getting more and more jam.

So yeah.. The ns expressway to me will be a big waste of money to build as of current traffic cte condition now.

North side has many new housing estates coming up in the next few decades. I doubt the CTE can cope within a few years. 

It's the govt who has the lack of foresight to speed up the infrastructure building due to their greed of more population, which translate in giving such poor planning and stop COE quotas because of their lack of foresight. 

North side has many new housing estates coming up in the next few decades. I doubt the CTE can cope within a few years.

It's the govt who has the lack of foresight to speed up the infrastructure building due to their greed of more population, which translate in giving such poor planning and stop COE quotas because of their lack of foresight.

It can, but I think tpe both directions are the one that should be urgently look into. Look at how much traffic had been become worst and worst during morning and evening peak hours, whereas cte expressway the traffic there still quite consistent and actually dip a little bit as compared to many years ago.

To be honest, 10 years ago roads are way better than today.

The main reasons are:

1. Foreign labour, they are really not as good as those old uncle paving crew, most of these uncle crew old liao all retired or they mixed with foreign labour workmanship suffers quite bad especially at the pavement joint area, rutting occurs to easily then followed by cracking then asphalt chipping away.

2. Curing time, asphalt (W3B and B1) require time to allow it to cool down and gain strength. Ideally its 24hours budden in Singapore, where got the time to wait for you to slowly cure de. abit jam people call 1800-Call LTA liao. then ITSO (LTA commend center) will F the contractor to faster open the road. How can the asphalt cure properly?  Sometime contractor kenna those people wind down window curse and swear at your whole family de. 

3. Tender sum too low, the govt also brainless de like i mention earlier only know how pay top dollar for leaders but bottom dollar for the people doing the job. If you are the maintenance contractor, you want to pave the road often meh? no $$ to earn whom wanna do sia SOR is as good as base sum nth to earn de. I kenna one CAG rep who once told me " your boss earn alot leh, then i told him if dun earn alot how to pay us bonus? no bonus for working under the sun, at night and those god forsaken hours who wanna work for him? If work is tough and you get peanuts, would you wanna work? all of us should just resign and join the govt sector. 

4. LTA is total outsource unlike in the past there is RDC and PWD, they are under govt so if the contractor not obedient gt people can stand in and do. Even LTA is dependent on the maintenance contractor, have we gone backwards in the push to cut cost?

Traffic is supposed to be light today as most working people would have taken leave today for long weekend due to Deepavali tomorrow.

So I had expected Lornie traffic to be light just now. But the heck, still heavy today. Built up all the way to Macritchie/Braddell viaduct.

So at this point of time, the new Lornie is a failure.

Edited by Beehive3783

Although tomorrow is public holiday, still quite crowded on the public transport and on the road.

Anyway, which viaduct that LTA built is not a failure? Noticed another viaduct is totally failure is the junction at Commonwealth Rd and Queenway, the traffic turning at this junction is always long queue and heavy.  [thumbsdown] 

Lornie Highway is basically a straightened-out stretch between MacRitchie and the 2 PIE entrances, so dunno why people are driving at 40 - 50km/h on a 4-lane straight road. 

Maybe navigation maps not updated yet ...  [:p]

Lornie Highway is basically a straightened-out stretch between MacRitchie and the 2 PIE entrances, so dunno why people are driving at 40 - 50km/h on a 4-lane straight road. 

Maybe navigation maps not updated yet ...  [:p]

Thought the old lornie rd speed limit is 70km/h, so this new lornie rd should be the same right?

Yup  [nod]

70 km/h

Still have not ride on the new lornie rd after opening. Still quite confused, can motorist still able to choose to use the old lornie rd to get to farrer rd direction and PIE now? Or old rd already closed?

For now u still can use the old lornie to go farrer via a temp

road connector near sime road. This road connector will bring u back into the new road near the PIE slip roads. However the new road is more straight and easier to drive through now.