What did we really 'gain' in 2yrs of NS??

KARTer

I made some frens whose friendship lasts until today....40yrs later from recruit time... [thumbsup]

Also, my first taste of inefficiency of civil/military service, it was an eye opener for me at 18 [:/]

How to take 'cover' from mistakes, how to keng, how to keng MC, how to pcc in group [lipsrsealed] , learnt drinking, gambling & foul languages and best of all, how to SABO NCO's ....... [rifle][rifle][rifle]

U got it.I also gain more self confidence in the army.I learnt how to fight better on one to one suitation.I also learn where find good chickens from my mates

Edited by Hondacub777

U got it.I also gain more self confidence in the army.I learnt how to fight better

i learned how to go without bathing for a week...

i learnt how to sleep everywhere when you are wearing no4.be with on the grass,sand,soil or hard rocks.

as long as u wear no4 u can sleep on any types of surface.

U got it.I also gain more self confidence in the army.I learnt how to fight better on one to one suitation.I also learn where find good chickens from my mates

Joke aside....

I learnt how to survive by going through survival course. Learnt to survive in jungle by eating wild berries, animals, plants and river or steams like fishes, eels & fresh water prawns ...... [bounce2]

Its really makes me a better man . [cool]

The interaction with people from all walks of life is an eye-opener. My BMT buddy is a guy with ang gong all over his body. Interesting character. Booked in with bruises & cuts on his face & lips. Kena wacked outside by ah long. Other than that, seemed an ok guy. Eventually went out of course dunno for what reason...

Yeah... Got to know a group of great friends who happened to be posted together to the same unit for reservist as well.

Joke aside....

I learnt how to survive by going through survival course. Learnt to survive in jungle by eating wild berries, animals, plants and river or steams like fishes, eels & fresh water prawns ...... [bounce2]

Its really makes me a fabetter man . [cool]

Up till now, whenever I travelled oversea (whether driving to MY or flying), I always carry my 'Swiss Army Knife' with me. Never know when you going to need it. Bought it during army time and with me for the past 30+ years....... [sunny]

Edited by Picnic06

flying can carry swiss army meh?

Check-in inside bag and once reach hotel, I will take it out and put it in my travelling body pouch. [;)][;)]

Edited by Picnic06

learn the art of being 'bangala' - ie. digging ur trenches, shellscrape, even filling sandbags by the thousands doe defence!! (doing even now in ICT)

make new friends/ buddies even now in ICT also.. can learn some $$ making ideas too.. Lol

i learn tat if i think u tot then who confirm and if my sergeant can see me so can the enemy and so if tio spotted by enemy i need to respect the slope and then change change change, waiting for what... squeeze... spread out... and finally that my grandmother can run faster than me...

Edited by Dice