Mrlancergtx 5th Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 All, Please let me know what you think of this! I used my OPC car on June 17th (which was a friday) during the restricted hours and even passed through a ERP gantry (in CBD of all places) while going to ofice. I forgot to pay the e-day license within saturday 00:00 hours(wifey got sick and was running around to NUH and stuff) and only remembered the mistake on Monday on my way back from office in the evening. Immediately I called the LTA and I told them of my situation and they asked me to send an appeal (everything in Singapore is an appeal eh?) to them indicating that I forgot to pay the e-day license. So on tuesday morning I sent an appeal through the one motoring website explaing that I forgot to pay the e-day license and asking if the fine could be waived off. I was checking the LTA website regularly for offence against my car and there is none registered until today. This was on 21st June and today (after almost a month) I got a call from LTA saying that I need to pay only the e-day license fees of 20$(without mentioing the date). The officer who called me specifically told me that am not being fined anything as they did not register any violation against my car and it was my mail based on which they are asking me to pay the e-day license. So am just wondering how are the enforcing this e-day license thing - seems to me to be very random and if you are lucky enough you can get away with it without paying a single cent? I remember reading in this forum that once you pass an ERP during the restricted hours your car gets tracked if you are an OPC. Looks like that theory is just another unproven myth. Anyways my decision stands - I made a mistake and so am paying up the e-day license to make my conscience clear. Am just thankful that I did not kena any fine for my stupid forgetfullness. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelwong 2nd Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 in the first place, is saving the $20 worth the weeks of stress anticipating whether you will get caught or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu85 Clutched July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 how do we sign up for the payment by sending sms for the e-coupon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memzsa Neutral Newbie July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 To buy e-license via SMS, register an acct at www.mobilepay.sg, FOC ! Been using it and it saves me a lot of time. Best part you can archive via email or SMS when ure using iPhone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memzsa Neutral Newbie July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Ok, here's my experience with LTA. 1.The ERP gantry is one of those capture point but not all ERP activated. The activation is at random, so don't even try to isolate a gantry. 2. Aside from LTA enforcement on the bridges and bus lane doin candid on OPC. LTA have an unmark car that takes any OPCs it sees. Sent back to HQ let some Aunties do video editing. 3. Just sharing an experience going to court (which I was lucky to be dismiss) there is no jokes on the fine. 1 time offender goes court kena 600 to 800 depends on judge mood. 2 time offender 5K to 8K. Got this guy 2nd time kena 8K and he mistakenly forgot the 3rd time and was fine 13K. Work so hard, small mistake cause u so much $ and donate to gov.. Overall, LTA IS VERY SERIOUS with these offense and won't take it lightly after a first time. Appeal only works 3 time after that they sent u court to settle your stories. The judge won't entertain neither would anyone help u. Not worth getting OPC. save 17K u might actuallly pay more than that. Just a story to share.. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondavvvtec 1st Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 buy already no need to worry and stress yourself whether will get caught anot. Dont be like some #$%^&, dont buy get caught then pay n pay to our garment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ordix 2nd Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 tat sms service is f dumb! if u dun use the service for 3mths it wil deactivate your account n u need to go thru the registration again. n the registration n activating is time consuming n a hassle. nevertheless the intention n convenience of the sms service is good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Farking lazy fellow. Tuesday then send the email. Now he feels stupid to have admitted n paid the stupid. $20. I think he will try again next time.....the slack rules gave him the opportunity in try once more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 (edited) Good luck to u. I bought a Kia rio opc for parents. One time forgot to buy The offense came 4 months later. Caught by erp. Same thing. Was told there is no violation in the system. I guess they process it batch by batch. I have changed it to normal plate since then. Edited July 28, 2011 by Friendstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 Last time no coupons in car is the most direct reminder to driver not to drive. Buy many complain post office closed, emergency cases, holidays shops close. So the e-licence was implemented. Now even more easy to forget to buy....n all sorts of reason come up....like the letter writer.....says busy running around NUH etc. Sometimes better to take a taxi in emergency case....saving the $17,000 is silly. I rather get a motorcycle for my work use. And buy OPC for non emergency weekends family use. If real emergency...call cab....no need to worry no parking at NUH!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 1.The ERP gantry is one of those capture point but not all ERP activated. The activation is at random, so don't even try to isolate a gantry. yah..pls do not just associate the radar signal just to ERP gantry... ya can just drive around our little island with a low value cashcard (<$5) and ya will hear beeps now and then...and these r the hotspots i tink... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flykite Clutched July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 yah..pls do not just associate the radar signal just to ERP gantry... ya can just drive around our little island with a low value cashcard (<$5) and ya will hear beeps now and then...and these r the hotspots i tink... these are the ones also tracking your speed... like an invisible speed cam dist btwn ERP transponders = known time to travel them = known speed = calculable based on erp iu they can track you down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlancergtx 5th Gear July 28, 2011 Author Share July 28, 2011 Cool story bro - better luck next time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlancergtx 5th Gear July 28, 2011 Author Share July 28, 2011 Bro Joel - you are novice and your replies kinda imply that. I think you should read the entire incident (or give it a miss if you are too busy to do that!!!) and then comment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 (edited) i think all this post paid method is not doing any good to OPC drivers. they should implement buy first drive later, so no one will forget! best is all opc drivers should deposit $5000 in a "fix" account. so any time any one fogot, direct deduction. after this i am sure most will remember to buy. Edited July 28, 2011 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xremeox Neutral Newbie July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 I agreed with you having a 'fix account' for the deduction, however depositing 5k first, cash upfront is tied down by it? Having CPF tied up already bad enough and now have to put 5k into gov acc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 I agreed with you having a 'fix account' for the deduction, however depositing 5k first, cash upfront is tied down by it? Having CPF tied up already bad enough and now have to put 5k into gov acc? well, even if factor in, opc car is still more economical compared to normal plates. end of the day u get back the money when u sell the car, no need wait till 55yrs old. if 5k too much than 2k? as if we can decide [:p] :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 well, even if factor in, opc car is still more economical compared to normal plates. end of the day u get back the money when u sell the car, no need wait till 55yrs old. if 5k too much than 2k? as if we can decide [:p] :D or can have something like our ezlink card. each opc plate has an account then can top up using credit/paypal etc any amount you want. but if your account less then $20(to purchase 1 e-day license) then will remind you to top up. but if you no money inside account yet still drive then good luck lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...