Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 His encounter is scary. If this ever happen to my car, I dont think I wil dare to drive that car anymore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 they replaced the ECU lor... also say they closed one eye bcos the Sub Woofer affected the ECU... :wacko: "LL"... Then ty sud issue a warning either in the handbook or a sticker near the ECU area not to install anything which wil cause heat in that area. Otherwise how r u as a novice driver know such things. What if I ta bao some hot food n place there while driving home n it cause the ECU to overheat n get into an accident? Whose fault? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 If this ever happen to my car, I dont think I wil dare to drive that car anymore. that is why i wonder whether its a locked or just heavy steering. Many younger generations dont even have a chance to drive one without power assisted steering... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 subwoofer built in front??? overheat and caused ECU to fault. Like that ECU must be placed away from the engine cause the engine is hotter than anything else. Should ask for compensation. Thank God you are alright. My car ECU is in the engine bay. Maybe my engine bay not so hot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Find it wierd that the ECU is located below the passenger seat, very unlikely. Reason being, seats are suppose to be detachable item. If people change seats to sport seats, then how? ECU gone?? The seat workshop knows ECU is tied to the passenger seat? I doubt so... People who fix ICE also remove seats to install soundproof and amps, so ECU disconnected, ie, reset when seats are removed?? If I were to design the car, the ECU should be somewhere under the dashboard or inside the side boot area, somewhere which is not "detachable".... I think C&C just gave you a whole lot of BULL, did they? Seems possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 not at the seat... at the passenger side dashboard... below.. Looks like yr ECU very easily affected by minor heat. Maybe u sud do a heat shield in future? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Cant understand modern cars like to built everything electrical driven. We got e-throttle, e-power steeling, fuel injectors and almost everything. Even braking system also electronic control .Some electronic or even software failure, car out of control ? Its the future. Electronic stuff r damm good.............when ty work. Once ty spoil is a real headache. Now many electronic stuff made in China. Even worse. Reliability issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 that is why i wonder whether its a locked or just heavy steering. Many younger generations dont even have a chance to drive one without power assisted steering... Ya possible its just PS motor fail. I know how heavy the steering wil get once PS fail. U wil experience when yr engine stop while u r moving n try to turn steering. Or when the PS belt fail n u try to park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 for power steering, if they fail.. still possible to turn the wheel rite? just abit more heavy.. but EPS, if fail.. may total loss of control... like that better skip those fly-by-wire type of car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Its the future. Electronic stuff r damm good.............when ty work. Once ty spoil is a real headache. Now many electronic stuff made in China. Even worse. Reliability issue. Give the mechanical engineer some respect lah , especially on critical system like steerling and brake . The old hydralic is proven and reliable right , even if it fail still can move steerling and bake properly . 3 yrs back I was driving a Hundai van H100. Coming down the slope inside MSCP , CB brake fail , apply hand brake also no use. In less than a secound hit the wall ! Total damage 7K plus 1 mth MC for a broken leg ! Found out there was a leak in the brake pump later, the van was driving OK the day before , KNS ass luck lor ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Give the mechanical engineer some respect lah , especially on critical system like steerling and brake . The old hydralic is proven and reliable right , even if it fail still can move steerling and bake properly . 3 yrs back I was driving a Hundai van H100. Coming down the slope inside MSCP , CB brake fail , apply hand brake also no use. In less than a secound hit the wall ! Total damage 7K plus 1 mth MC for a broken leg ! Found out there was a leak in the brake pump later, the van was driving OK the day before , KNS ass luck lor ! Thats the trouble with those vans etc. Pple seldom do regular maintenence so quite risky to drive, especially fast. I also prefer the old style systems where even if fail, still can drive. Electronic systems usually when it fails, u cannot drive at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Give the mechanical engineer some respect lah , especially on critical system like steerling and brake . The old hydralic is proven and reliable right , even if it fail still can move steerling and bake properly . 3 yrs back I was driving a Hundai van H100. Coming down the slope inside MSCP , CB brake fail , apply hand brake also no use. In less than a secound hit the wall ! Total damage 7K plus 1 mth MC for a broken leg ! Found out there was a leak in the brake pump later, the van was driving OK the day before , KNS ass luck lor ! Wah you come down MSCP slope so fast one? Car park rally? I thought you should brake even before you do the turn down ramp. Did you shift down to 1st gear...van manual stick one right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 (edited) Wah you come down MSCP slope so fast one? Car park rally? I thought you should brake even before you do the turn down ramp. Did you shift down to 1st gear...van manual stick one right? Not fast leh but the 2 ton van , simply free gear rolling down , no time to act lah . Lesson learn was never free gear on a down slope , must alway check your brake before you move off , especially in the morning . Yes manual gear one maybe auto one will go slow even at the slope . Edited September 24, 2011 by Jasonjst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Thats the trouble with those vans etc. Pple seldom do regular maintenence so quite risky to drive, especially fast. I also prefer the old style systems where even if fail, still can drive. Electronic systems usually when it fails, u cannot drive at all. The thinking is just a cheapo van right ?. Everytime maintenance is chiange EO , top up water , they never check the bake and other system one. Only when fail then LL spent money lor, no such thing as preventive maintenance one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Refresher76 Clutched September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 If the ECU is damage by the heat generated by the sub-woofer. How about those ECU which is located at the engine bay?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 Looks like yr ECU very easily affected by minor heat. Maybe u sud do a heat shield in future? C&C told T.S. that his subwoofer to hot,so cause the E.C.U. to fail,by the way how hot a subwoofer can go.????C&C sevice advisor,just blame on his subwoofer..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear September 24, 2011 Share September 24, 2011 (edited) Hope so. either I buy on my own or others "buy" for me Edited September 24, 2011 by 5936 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...