Carmour 4th Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 Recently when to Melbourne and rented a car from Hertz. Unfamiliar with the car, so ended up scraping the kerb during parallel parking. Returned the car, and they told me will get multiple quotations from workshops and charge me the exact amount they get charged. End up, they charged me A$230 (S$300) on this scratch on my credit card. I think the charge is pretty excessive. Any gurus care to comment? Any recourse for me? I have emailed them on my thoughts on this matter to try to reduce the cost, but I doubt that I will get a favourable response. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 (edited) With Ang Moh labour rate, 300 is reasonable. Even in SG for deep scratch like that may also cost the same. If you hit someone in SG, even worst, they will change the bumper, at least 700+ Edited October 3, 2011 by Kr_toy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 Depends on what insurance you took with them. If zero excess, you shouldn't have had to pay anything extra, insurance is supposed to cover all. If you took no or minimal insurance, be glad they only charged you for the cost of rectification, instead of "by the book" charging you a few K for the insurance excess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 Which company you rented from ? i remember i rented a Ford Terrioty from Thrifty in Melbourne. Before taking over the car, told them we need to verify on the exisiting car scratches. They say dont bother, small slight scratches are normal. They wont charge for that. When i return the car, i caused 2 additional slight scratches........haha. And they didnt even bother. Just took the keys and park one side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 i think it's a fair quote. Because strictly speaking, to restore the bumper paint, you need to spray the whole bumper, not that portion only. If you ask any spray painter, they will tell you it's not possible to spray only that portion, the color will not blend properly. Spraying a whole bumper in Singapore will set you back about $250. So in AUS, 300 is ok la Have you ever scratch your own bumper and get a quote from painter b4? i doubt you have, usually they will quote you a whole panel, not 1 scratch. Recently when to Melbourne and rented a car from Hertz. Unfamiliar with the car, so ended up scraping the kerb during parallel parking. Returned the car, and they told me will get multiple quotations from workshops and charge me the exact amount they get charged. End up, they charged me A$230 (S$300) on this scratch on my credit card. I think the charge is pretty excessive. Any gurus care to comment? Any recourse for me? I have emailed them on my thoughts on this matter to try to reduce the cost, but I doubt that I will get a favourable response. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thestig Clutched October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 $300 for that kind of scratch is reasonable, be glad that they did not decide to charge you for the time taken to send the car in as well as the downtime in rental. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmour 4th Gear October 3, 2011 Author Share October 3, 2011 Not the response that I'm looking out for, but everyone's entitled to their comments, and I'm thankful you guys took the time to reply. Rented from Hertz. For silver car, actually dont need to respray the whole bumper. A touch up should blend in with the original paint very well. Won't be 100%, but will be at least 80% matching. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 U try lend your friend your own car, he scratch your bumper and he tells u he buy paint from DIY shop n patch it back for u lor. Then he adds on by saying you wont achieve 100% like last time but there is a chance you will get 80% so dont worry. see how u feel ... Not to spill cold water over you but this is how the world works. I once hit a ford on his bumper and he got at 50c dent on his boot. Ended up claiming me $25,000. I write to newspaper, write in forum, find my MP, all useless.... Yours may be on the high side, but its ok la, you win some u lose some. Have a great week ahead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 Not the response that I'm looking out for, but everyone's entitled to their comments, and I'm thankful you guys took the time to reply. Rented from Hertz. For silver car, actually dont need to respray the whole bumper. A touch up should blend in with the original paint very well. Won't be 100%, but will be at least 80% matching. since that is the answer you want. let me tune to Gold 90.5. Sue Hertz and said they cause excess stress with the high charges of AU$230 and ask them to pay you money instead. hope that helps. but from a reasonable point of view, that sum is considered fair and cheap coz they didn't factor the lose in earning when car is in workshop. If you think touch up is do-able, you should go back and offer to do the work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 In Aust, labour is expensive. Therefore $300 is considered reasonable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 A$230 is reasonable, even if they charge you $2000 from your credit card, you also LL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funny88 Clutched October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 In Australia, buying cars are cheap, but repairs are very expensive, it seems reasonable to me. Recently when to Melbourne and rented a car from Hertz. Unfamiliar with the car, so ended up scraping the kerb during parallel parking. Returned the car, and they told me will get multiple quotations from workshops and charge me the exact amount they get charged. End up, they charged me A$230 (S$300) on this scratch on my credit card. I think the charge is pretty excessive. Any gurus care to comment? Any recourse for me? I have emailed them on my thoughts on this matter to try to reduce the cost, but I doubt that I will get a favourable response. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 I think the charge is reasonable, even in Singapore. I do not see any thing excessive. If you scratch a car in Singapore like that & there is insurance claim, I wouldn't be surprise the sum end up more to S$3000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 U try lend your friend your own car, he scratch your bumper and he tells u he buy paint from DIY shop n patch it back for u lor. Then he adds on by saying you wont achieve 100% like last time but there is a chance you will get 80% so dont worry. see how u feel ... Not to spill cold water over you but this is how the world works. I once hit a ford on his bumper and he got at 50c dent on his boot. Ended up claiming me $25,000. I write to newspaper, write in forum, find my MP, all useless.... Yours may be on the high side, but its ok la, you win some u lose some. Have a great week ahead I agree with what you said. Need to respray the whole bumper. Plus labor to take out & put back the bumper, the sum is actually on the low side I think. Many people in Singapore do not take care of other peoples properties, damage liao, just brush off like you mention above. Thats why I try not to lend people my car. Anyway, the 25,000 claim is in Singapore? For this money, you can buy a new ford in US. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwk 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 Recently when to Melbourne and rented a car from Hertz. Unfamiliar with the car, so ended up scraping the kerb during parallel parking. Returned the car, and they told me will get multiple quotations from workshops and charge me the exact amount they get charged. End up, they charged me A$230 (S$300) on this scratch on my credit card. I think the charge is pretty excessive. Any gurus care to comment? Any recourse for me? I have emailed them on my thoughts on this matter to try to reduce the cost, but I doubt that I will get a favourable response. In Australia they bill slobs for the tiniest scratch. I think it is very likely that the A$230 charge was on account of your english. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky3113 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 honestly speaking A$230 for spraying the bumper ( even thought they may spray only half) is considered very compeitive for Aussie standards. eg : before any electrician comes to your house in Australia, they charge you a fee and then an hourly rate after that to fix the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 I agree with what you said. Need to respray the whole bumper. Plus labor to take out & put back the bumper, the sum is actually on the low side I think. Many people in Singapore do not take care of other peoples properties, damage liao, just brush off like you mention above. Thats why I try not to lend people my car. Anyway, the 25,000 claim is in Singapore? For this money, you can buy a new ford in US. Ya lor, it happened in Singapore. I even cried about it here in MCF http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...637416&hl=* Seems like there was nothing much I could have done. The only thing I did not do was to engage a lawyer to fight the case for me. Went for many consultations and realised that my insurance coy already fought the case for me with a lawyers n lost. No point me wasting money n time doing it all over again. I had 2 cars at that point of time. Both NCD drop from 50% and 40% to both 0%. On top of that 1 of the cars is a evo, 1 is a lancer ex. Both premiums increased by 100% and on top of that I am 24 yrs old. Can u imagine the amount of insurance I had to top up on my next renewal. In the end LongPac did not want to renew my evo I had to transfer both my cars to my mum's name and start all over again. Now both car's covernote reflects 2 owners and affect my resale. Hope that driver gets struk by lightning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruriimasu 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 I think the charge is reasonable, even in Singapore. I do not see any thing excessive. If you scratch a car in Singapore like that & there is insurance claim, I wouldn't be surprise the sum end up more to S$3000 +1. i hit and scratched a skoda's rear bumper.. only visible scratches.. he claimed $5000 from me! :angry: count yourself lucky it was only $300. :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...