2 router

Hamburger

Here are the various wireless IEEE standards and the real world throughputs (ball park figure)

1.)802.11b has a theoretical speed maximum of 11 Mbits/sec with a typical transfer rate of around 4.5 Mbits/sec (0.5 MB/sec) with an ideal signal.

2.) 802.11g has a theoretical speed maximum of 54 Mbits/sec, with a typical transfer rate of around 23 Mbits/sec (2.5 MB/sec) with an ideal signal.

3.) 802.11n has a theoretical speed maximum of 300 Mbits/sec, with a typical transfer rate of around 74 Mbits/sec (9.25 MB/sec) with an ideal signal.

Take note, all these bandwidth mentioned here is the maximum that the standards can support. They will drop down to the bandwidth as subscribed in your internet plan. You mentioned that you are interested in streaming media wireless. This is tricky waters. In theory, you now have to look at the actual bandwidth between a wireless client and another client e.g. a Network Attached Storage (NAS) and a computer. In my personal experience, i struggled to get even 15Mbps. Please note that client - client connectivity is different from client - router connectivity. On paper, you need at least 20Mbps throughput to support full hd streaming without jerking and frame loss.

For your case, you have a lot of devices on your WLAN. The primary consideration of your network is whether your router is good at

1.) WAN to LAN throughput

(This is a measure of how good the router is in downlink performance. Down link is referring to router to client. Your router is connected via the modem to the internet. There is a subscribed bandwidth. Lets leave the uncertainties regarding the bandwidth that actually reaches the Starhub cable point /telephone jack/ fibre ONT alone and assume it is perfect. You want a router with good WAN to LAN throughput.)

WAN to LAN performance lineup of routers

2.) Number of simultaneous sessions

(This refers to the max number of connections that the router can support. Whatever you do in networking, you need to open a connection or maybe even more. Some connections are for overheads to initiate even more connections, some are meant for authentication, some are meant for data fetching. When you have many devices on the WLAN accessing the internet, you need to open alot of connections. So if your router cannot take it, your wireless surfing experience on the numerous devices will suffer.)

Total Simultaneous Connections lineup of routers

So a better router with superior performance in these two regards will be better for you.

For wireless 802.11n 300Mbps mode to work, the following must be fulfilled.

1.) Wireless adapter either PCI or USB must be 2T2R (2 antennas internal or external doesn't matter, both antennas are on MIMO Multiple Input Multiple Output, used for transmitting and receiving at the same time.

2.) Channel bonding/Wide Channel Mode/40MHz mode must be enabled

3.) Short Guard interval ie 20ns or Short Preamble mode must be enabled.

4.) No clients on a/b/g/150N must be present on the same WLAN.

Are you sure you are a chem engineer? :D You should be in the IT industry.

But glad you are not, if not I lose my job already :D

Used to conduct trainings in wireless technology in NTU and NYP few yrs back,

I also did not go into such technical details. If not, half the class will fall asleep.

Anyway very nice to have such a helpful MCF forummers like you. :D

Quite impress with your tech knowledge. Let me know if u want to switch career and join the Dark Side. :D

Edited by Mahjong74

erm...bro...whats termination point? :huh:

[laugh][laugh] go talk to their CS in the branch, tell them what you currently have and what you want, ask them to give you the best deal.

Are you sure you are a chem engineer? :D You should be in the IT industry.

But glad you are not, if not I lose my job already :D

Used to conduct trainings in wireless technology in NTU and NYP few yrs back,

I also did not go into such technical details. If not, half the class will fall asleep.

Anyway very nice to have such a helpful MCF forummers like you. :D

Quite impress with your tech knowledge. Let me know if u want to switch career and join the Dark Side. :D

ya agree!

Its like i just attended a "basic IT course" . :D

Especially beneficial for a mechanical guy like me ...I know s--t about IT...Electronics...etc...solved the problems which has been bugging me for quite some time. [thumbsup]

Edited by Baphomet

[laugh][laugh] go talk to their CS in the branch, tell them what you currently have and what you want, ask them to give you the best deal.

haha...if i have the time lor.... nowadays... almost everyday work...

ironic part is...i only have time to surf MCF when Im in office...like now...hahahhaha :D

haha...if i have the time lor.... nowadays... almost everyday work...

ironic part is...i only have time to surf MCF when Im in office...like now...hahahhaha :D

err.....You kidding :o

Ok, Tomorrow PH, hope you get to rest ^_^

err.....You kidding :o

Ok, Tomorrow PH, hope you get to rest ^_^

surprise! Im coming back office tml also!!! 0900 some more....tonite also dun know gonna stay till what time..

In my line...no such thing as public holiday or weekends.....

Ok...starhub confirmed can upgrade..but think need to buy new modem...

erm..one month extra 20 bucks...

but get 3 times faster speed..hmn....all my problem solved...although will still get a wireless router just for the ipad, phones and my kid future laptop..

Don't be fool by the speed as advertised by SH. A piece of BS only. 30Mbps is max possible but actual case, only 1-2 only. Going international traffic, less than 1Mbps. It is very much depending on how many heavy users within your block.

I last time on 30MB SH, on Saturday night, going to asia1.com also can timeout! Now is 200MB fibre from ST. Better but feels like 4-5MB only at night. On weekday, damn fast lah...

For your case, just get a cheap cheap $80-90 wireless router will do. The bottleneck is still SH.

Don't be fool by the speed as advertised by SH. A piece of BS only. 30Mbps is max possible but actual case, only 1-2 only. Going international traffic, less than 1Mbps. It is very much depending on how many heavy users within your block.

I last time on 30MB SH, on Saturday night, going to asia1.com also can timeout! Now is 200MB fibre from ST. Better but feels like 4-5MB only at night. On weekday, damn fast lah...

For your case, just get a cheap cheap $80-90 wireless router will do. The bottleneck is still SH.

Talking about fiber optic lah -_-

isit? that bad? Fibre Optic should be better ba?

Prior to 16Mbps...I was on Surflite...which was like 3Mbps...the difference was very obvious..especially so when I was watching movie streaming..

Anyway, I will most probably get a wireless router and try out first(since no matter what I will need one)..

Thanks!

Edited by Baphomet

Prior to 16Mbps...I was on Surflite...which was like 3Mbps...the difference was very obvious..especially so when I was watching movie streaming..

Anyway, I will most probably get a wireless router and try out first(since no matter what I will need one)..

Thanks!

fiber optic is better.

Thanks!

16Mbps as compared to 3Mbps is hell lot of different.

16Mbps, max upload speed is 1.6Mbp/s

3Mbps, max upload speed is only 300kbp/s leh

Edited by Yewheng

16Mbps as compared to 3Mbps is hell lot of different.

16Mbps, max upload speed is 1.6Mbp/s

3Mbps, max upload speed is only 300kbp/s leh

hahaha..isit? :wacko:

solli la...told u i super IT idiot liao mah

dunno leh.

i never had slowdowns on MOL ultimate since 2002.

no timeouts and all.

only recently i have been getting router auto restarts. :(.

gonna dump starhub liao and switching to M1.

reason?

SH must die die use their huawei router.

M1 no need.

just take their ONT can liaos

finally got myself this .....

post-25943-1319593065_thumb.jpg

its not a homeplug but a Wall-Plugged Wireless-N Extender.

signal strength in my room went from 1 bar to full, if not, 4 bar.

dunno leh.

i never had slowdowns on MOL ultimate since 2002.

no timeouts and all.

only recently i have been getting router auto restarts. :(.

gonna dump starhub liao and switching to M1.

reason?

SH must die die use their huawei router.

M1 no need.

just take their ONT can liaos

he is talking about actual userable speed over the span of 1 month. those data are publish earlier in newspaper which most here dont read.

Also, how come you SH need to use Hua wei Router?? i am on SH using TP link router.

my ST fiber optics can also use other router outside of the 2wire router provided. the only problem is cannot see mio TV if i do that.

there is a WPS(wifi protected setup) button on the gadget itself. whats that for???

most importantly, when using this as a wireless N repeater, can others tap on to my signal and surf the net?

Edited by Hamburger