Watches

Davidklt

My opinion is that watches should be bought because u like it, not because it is meant to be as a status symbol.

although I can't afford all the top notch brands now, if I'd we're to choose given the ability to afford one among the trinity, I'd take the PP Nautilus.

my dream watch is the corum golden bridge. Classy and minimalistic. Although the brand itself is not a tier 1 brand and most won't know the brand, I'd still get it when I can.

True I feel that watches should be a reflection of yourself and what it means to you, be it the looks or the complication and movement behind it. Corum the brand I know ley even though I am still a noobie at watches...

Just like for myself when I bought my watch I was deciding between the explorer, sub and gmt2....all without my budget.....I choose the GMT because I feel that it is the most useful for me since I don't go exploring in caves or diving....and i also like the simple design of it....no one even really recognizes it...so it's an reflection of me...laid back and simple and not over the top attract attention look...

Not saying that you cannot afford to hold, but it is the opportunity cost.

Temasek understands this, that's why they got out of investments that lost money and get the money back into those that they think make money. Nett nett.

They could have stuck to their guns and held on long term to losing investments but ultimately that is a foolish approach. Look at GIC and their long term promise to hold UBS. That is so silly.

I agree with you on this, although not much, I liquidated my 100K in equities few months back taking a loss of 2% instead of holding them on, although my wealth is nutti compared to you or throttle, I am carefully holding my guns for opportunities this time round

Sorry for hi-jacking thread, but since all the watch enthusiasts/pros are here, I'll grab this opportunity to ask something..

Anyone can recommend a watch for my Dad, budget around $600-$700, he doesn't have a watch despite him running around whole of Singapore most of the time. So he will always take out Phone and check. I gave him a $100 Seiko but it broke after dropping on the floor ^_^

I am the worst at this kind of things so it would be great if an experienced watch collector can advice me on where to buy a decent watch at the above budget..

Thanks in advance and Sorry for hi-jacking thread.. [wave]

maybe try swiss army watch..

Not saying that you cannot afford to hold, but it is the opportunity cost.

Temasek understands this, that's why they got out of investments that lost money and get the money back into those that they think make money. Nett nett.

They could have stuck to their guns and held on long term to losing investments but ultimately that is a foolish approach. Look at GIC and their long term promise to hold UBS. That is so silly.

understand your point fully

but thats the difference

temasek is doing it purely for investments so they must watch their ooportunity cost like an eagle.

it is a firm that is establish for that purpose

with regards to property for me:-

I am a human being who seeks certain comfort and peace and convenience

I'm too laid back to watch that like a hawk.

I'm prepared to give up or trade off money for some other little "luxuries"

in other words , not optimise the $$$, it's ok

To me, life is more than just squeezing the last drop of water.

I'm not crazy ambitious kind, always gunning to go up.

In other words, I keep my own pace.

for stocks and other liquid investments, it will then be different again.

Edited by Throttle2

Really $2k? Show me leh?

I dunno...went shopping at paragon in the early part of this year...and think i saw some retail for less than 5K...no?

How about Omega speedmaster Pro? Is it a good watch?

i am no authority on watches.

I can only say if i like it or not.

I only like the Speedmaster moonwatch for it's heritage/ history and evergreen design.

the other speedmasters, are marketing gimmicks just like many of the APs.

understand your point fully

but thats the difference

temasek is doing it purely for investments so they must watch their ooportunity cost like an eagle.

it is a firm that is establish for that purpose

with regards to property for me:-

I am a human being who seeks certain comfort and peace and convenience

I'm too laid back to watch that like a hawk.

I'm prepared to give up or trade off money for some other little "luxuries"

in other words , not optimise the $$$, it's ok

To me, life is more than just squeezing the last drop of water.

I'm not crazy ambitious kind, always gunning to go up.

In other words, I keep my own pace.

for stocks and other liquid investments, it will then be different again.

Good luck bro. You are so rich, you can average down with more properties next year.

Maybe you saw the VC platinum cufflinks lah.

sure or not, they have cufflinks meh, I am a simple man, just use cheap and good raoul cufflinks, or maybe it's fake ones? I am quite sure I see VCs retailing for quite cheap, or is that more than one VC out there? there is also one shop at pennisula shopping centre selling VC ley, I recall it's just a few k....

Good luck bro. You are so rich, you can average down with more properties next year.

That's why he's my idol, if I have a fraction of his wealth I would be very happy leow...

what an idiot I was, it wasa FREDERIQUE CONSTANT i saw, not VC....hahahaha.....this is like expecting Gong Li and getting Viaan Zhang instead...

thank you for seeing me up.

i'm an employee so definitely not considered rich.

just dont want to spend my precious time worrying over too many issue.

life is tough enough already

will look out to buy a third property (meant for my second daughter) as originally planned since some years ago.

in the meantime, i'm looking to get another Rolex sports to thrash around, just cant decide on which one.

i prefer the older models, that come with pinholes.

was thinking GMT master, hhhmmmm, or maybe another submariner?

Edited by Throttle2

thank you for seeing me up.

i'm an employee so definitely not considered rich.

just dont want to spend my precious time worrying over too many issue.

life is tough enough already

will look out to buy a third property (meant for my second daughter) as originally planned since some years ago.

in the meantime, i'm looking to get another Rolex sports to thrash around, just cant decide on which one.

i prefer the older models, that come with pinholes.

was thinking GMT master, hhhmmmm, or maybe another submariner?

sell you my 2 for $5800 la....hahaha........9 years old....

anyway how come some daytonas selling for $11750 and some for $25000 huh....I can't really tell the difference....saw an AP selling for $13800 too....tempting....

I stand firm at $4500 for your GMT master.

anyway Viceroy already offered $4600, which is better than me.

go speak to him or just sell to Peng Kwee loh

I stand firm at $4500 for your GMT master.

anyway Viceroy already offered $4600, which is better than me.

go speak to him or just sell to Peng Kwee loh

Peng Kwee offered me 5K ley....why you prefer master 1 over 2?

Go sgroc n sell lah, if not i sell for u, just send me e pic.

Daytona got afew variants, for preowned, half gold is cheapest compared to ss to wg/yg. then again the old zenith movement with inverted 6 dial also quite sought after.

For AP, depends on which model. ROO scuba can get around $15k. the rest generally 18k n up

Go sgroc n sell lah, if not i sell for u, just send me e pic.

Daytona got afew variants, for preowned, half gold is cheapest compared to ss to wg/yg. then again the old zenith movement with inverted 6 dial also quite sought after.

For AP, depends on which model. ROO scuba can get around $15k. the rest generally 18k n up

Got your message, must register in sgroc to sell, still thinking la, but don't mind keeping it unless someone offers a good price...anyway busy nowadays no time to meet up to sell watches.... [:(] ....

Hmm...it's funny hor, for GMT half gold more ex than SS, for Daytona it's the opposite....so interesting....I am still learning...saw a hermit selling for 7.9K in one of the sgroc dealer links....and also a 2004 version "call for price"....