Watches

Davidklt

this means you must have liked the daytona very much to pay above list to get one!

no right or wrong, you pay what you think its fair.

money is tangible but the satisfaction you get from owning it is not tangible.

those who collect art (or arowana or luohan fish) will concur, i believe.

in those days, a preowned Daytona SS blackdial will be grabbed immediately at $16,500.

and a new one was virtually impossible to get from local AD unless you paid a really huge premium.

all the local ADs quoted me prices in the $18k up and they had no stock...finally Watch Palace had and i grabbed.

now Daytona is a dime 2dozens, price also came off....

wow the price up for this titanium panerai?

it was below $20k some time ago.....

Panerai prices really blew up since Asians took the watch market by storm.

these watch dealers really know how to make money.

Quite true, probably not the dealers but Panerai itself, they adjust their prices upwards every half a year. Luxury goods is like that, despite the price hikes there will still be demand.

Currently list price for my piece at the boutiques is about S$28k up, some discounts probably bring it to around S$26k. BNIB from dealers should be around S$22k.

having owned a panerai myself, i also seriously think pams are overpriced.

anyway, most luxury brands are overpriced in some way.

the amount you are willing to pay depends on the level of attachment you have to it and whether you perceive it to have fair value.

what it's made of (the movement, material etc), isn't the deal breaker.

there's just something about it that draws me to them, which i cannot explain.

and that is why i "stupidly" (from the mouth of a business associate) plonked 5.5k for my watch when the base movement is a workhorse 6497 and can be found in watches that cost in the 1k region..

you paid 5.5k not just for the movement, just like buying a BMW is not just paying for the engine ^_^

in those days, a preowned Daytona SS blackdial will be grabbed immediately at $16,500.

and a new one was virtually impossible to get from local AD unless you paid a really huge premium.

all the local ADs quoted me prices in the $18k up and they had no stock...finally Watch Palace had and i grabbed.

now Daytona is a dime 2dozens, price also came off....

sounds like iPhone or iPad when it was first launched [laugh]

anyway the satisfaction value of owning it first is worth the premium you are willing to pay, nothing right or wrong ^_^

Oh someone in my estate's forum has exactly the same nick as u.

Sorry man, wrong number :)

hmmm.... your estate start with "V"?

having owned a panerai myself, i also seriously think pams are overpriced.

anyway, most luxury brands are overpriced in some way.

the amount you are willing to pay depends on the level of attachment you have to it and whether you perceive it to have fair value.

what it's made of (the movement, material etc), isn't the deal breaker.

there's just something about it that draws me to them, which i cannot explain.

and that is why i "stupidly" (from the mouth of a business associate) plonked 5.5k for my watch when the base movement is a workhorse 6497 and can be found in watches that cost in the 1k region..

Wow, I actually have a watch bought 4 years ago that uses the same workhorse 6497. Momo design Pilot Titanium Mechanic watch for 2k. Didn't know anything about watches then, bought because tio 4D and find the watch nice then.

But I didn't like to wear watch.

sounds like iPhone or iPad when it was first launched [laugh]

anyway the satisfaction value of owning it first is worth the premium you are willing to pay, nothing right or wrong ^_^

Erm , incorrect lah...

Ipad or iphone prices is one way down upon launch as with all electronics

Modern Daytona price is always higher than retail and moves up and down depending on availability or demand factors.

a minty Daytona paul newman which is so old can cost so many multiples of its original price as you know.

Vintage Panerais as well has that effect.

I dispute your analogy there, dude.

[:)]

BNIB

BNIB i not much lobang, the only lobang i have is in sg-roc forum which u can also access. quite afew good grey dealers there.

for AD, my lobang at most 5% for sports model, i think other bro can get more

kapo abit. which particular rolex model are you looking for?

maybe can share prices information together (if basic sport models, exp II, sub, GMTII)

pic taken from internet one rite? sweee...keke

wah... by this statement, u really dunno our throttle much [laugh] [laugh]