National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

On 6/21/2025 at 8:49 AM, Beregond said:

When we are in the 20s. The last thing that come to our mind is injuries. 

And damage. 2 days at most recover.

Now I pull my muscles during soccer. Take 2 months at least.

True, when young that time, injuries and fear never come to mind. But now even for flu and cough also need to take many days to even 1 week to be fully recover. 😅

one tekong BMTC bunk burnt to chao tar

On 6/21/2025 at 8:19 AM, Ody_2004 said:

Was selling my foldable bike in Carousell.. then on buyer txt me..

Buyer "I am VERY TALL.. wonder the bike fit me"

Me : "1.9m?"

Buyer "No lah.. 1.75m"

i was like...

Heng i din sell condom.. scare he said he too long and actually only 6.. not inch but cm! whahahahahaha..

I was distributing condoms to my men and they asked me how to use… no Google back then.. luckily the RSM stepped in 😂 

he participated in the hostage situation.. so we said he never fires blanks 😅 

On 6/20/2025 at 6:15 PM, Atonchia said:

I went for selection at Depot Rd CMPB in 1997

Think did the most reps for pull-ups, finished 1st in the run ..... Said I don't mind going CDO, but said got an old ankle injury and also already submitted for pilot trainee....

Went Tekong BMT instead...

Most interestingly is got one SIB Captain knock on my door the night before enlistment, gave me his name card, said if training is too tough I can call him, told me there were a few like me in the company, but no need to ask around. 

Think now parents want sons with suitable physical traits to really toughen up during NS. 

So it changed...

When i went, only needed to do push up and sit up only, followed by a ~5-10-min sit-down 1-to-1 session with a CPT, who started the session with the question

'Do you want to be a commando?'.

i think most if not all will say no, then they (there were 4 of them sharing the load) will spend the next ~5-10 min brainwashing the person to say how good/prestigious CDO is..., and when done, he will ask:

'Now, do you want to be a commando?'

I said no, as did most of those whom i asked... and a few of us went next door (SAF career centre) to sign for pilot, after it was over.

So the 'story' of SIB officer asking recruits to blow whistle is real one... up till now, i tot it's just people anyhow say to frighten the instructors one...

i also want my son to toughen up, but i rather he not have to take excess risks, like what i did...

On 6/20/2025 at 9:57 PM, Mkl22 said:

Just don’t kay khiang and get injured for nothing. I suffered an injury during BMT doing bo liao stuff for POP. Now older, old injuries coming back to tekan me. 

Actually this is worrying...

i had a slipped disc operation a few yr ago. And i'm hearing that quite a few of my platoon mates in combat engineer also have lower back pain...

dunno - and can't prove - whether we had started to injure our back when doing bridging exercises back in those days...

• Sad 1

On 6/21/2025 at 5:33 PM, Atrecord said:

Actually this is worrying...

i had a slipped disc operation a few yr ago. And i'm hearing that quite a few of my platoon mates in combat engineer also have lower back pain...

dunno - and can't prove - whether we had started to injure our back when doing bridging exercises back in those days...

Can prove or not also LLST. 
I tell my nephew don’t kay khiang like his father and volunteer as commando 🤣

unless scholar or got extra sweets drop from the sky… no one actually gives a shit!. 😆

Edited by Mkl22

On 6/21/2025 at 5:39 PM, Mkl22 said:

Can prove or not also LLST. 
I tell my nephew don’t kay khiang like his father and volunteer as commando 🤣

unless scholar or got extra sweets drop from the sky… no one actually gives a shit!. 😆

Who will want to volunteer to go commando siah. Lol.

On 6/21/2025 at 5:26 PM, Atrecord said:

So it changed...

When i went, only needed to do push up and sit up only, followed by a ~5-10-min sit-down 1-to-1 session with a CPT, who started the session with the question

'Do you want to be a commando?'.

i think most if not all will say no, then they (there were 4 of them sharing the load) will spend the next ~5-10 min brainwashing the person to say how good/prestigious CDO is..., and when done, he will ask:

'Now, do you want to be a commando?'

I said no, as did most of those whom i asked... and a few of us went next door (SAF career centre) to sign for pilot, after it was over.

So the 'story' of SIB officer asking recruits to blow whistle is real one... up till now, i tot it's just people anyhow say to frighten the instructors one...

i also want my son to toughen up, but i rather he not have to take excess risks, like what i did...

I actually said I don't mind going commando, maybe they assessed I may not be suitable.. but maybe fitness wise ok to be whistleblower so sent me to Tekong BMT. 

I received confirmation of RSAF posting during BMT so was posted to FTS after BMT. 

From the same cohort, there I hear the story of the CDO,  whole platoon told lie in toilet / shower floor, water spraying at them, use long 4 to "clean" the whole area with leopard crawl position.... Also got one guy tekan to do Jerry-can water parade etc... 

Then I thought luckily I went Tekong 😅. Though we also have some story too, while going field camp, whole company with FBO did around 20 x 5 push-ups, after that rest time, I went to do 5 pull-ups in FBO🤣.

A few change parades during 1st week...  

I believe it's was my platoon that has prior complain, got another platoon mate fitter than me, he ran fastest in 2.4 and SOC. I suspect he's the other person. My nickname was superman bcos did the most pull-ups, we call the other guy Hercules. 

I never call the hotline... I doubt he call too. 

On 6/21/2025 at 6:05 PM, Atonchia said:

I actually said I don't mind going commando, maybe they assessed I may not be suitable.. but maybe fitness wise ok to be whistleblower so sent me to Tekong BMT. 

I received confirmation of RSAF posting during BMT so was posted to FTS after BMT. 

From the same cohort, there I hear the story of the CDO,  whole platoon told lie in toilet / shower floor, water spraying at them, use long 4 to "clean" the whole area with leopard crawl position.... Also got one guy tekan to do Jerry-can water parade etc... 

Then I thought luckily I went Tekong 😅. Though we also have some story too, while going field camp, whole company with FBO did around 20 x 5 push-ups, after that rest time, I went to do 5 pull-ups in FBO🤣.

I believe it's was my platoon that has prior complain, got another platoon mate fitter than me, he ran fastest in 2.4 and SOC. I suspect he's the other person. My nickname was superman bcos did the most pull-ups, we call the other guy Hercules. 

You still remember so vividly. My BMT are all a blur now. Only remember monkey god 2353535 and bits here and there. Don’t remember all the tekan sessions. But I remember unit life. Rather enjoyed going around attached to various units. 

On 6/21/2025 at 6:43 PM, Mkl22 said:

You still remember so vividly. My BMT are all a blur now. Only remember monkey god 2353535 and bits here and there. Don’t remember all the tekan sessions. But I remember unit life. Rather enjoyed going around attached to various units. 

Oh .. Monkey god ....so you were Ngee Soon Camp BMT, I heard that from my friends who gotten enlisted a year earlier than me.... 

The phone very big... very tiring to dial for pizza delivery🤣

4th Gear

Hahaa, monkey god, sound so familiar but forgot how he looks like...

btw, those who went cmpb for the commando selection, do u recall filling a form after the tests? something like filling a list of preferred vocation?

On 6/21/2025 at 9:16 PM, Gunzy said:

Hahaa, monkey god, sound so familiar but forgot how he looks like...

btw, those who went cmpb for the commando selection, do u recall filling a form after the tests? something like filling a list of preferred vocation?

Let me jog your memory - PTI Edwin Ong

image.thumb.png.470fbfbdd303b04bdcfcf92fc13826e9.png

On 6/21/2025 at 5:50 PM, 13177 said:

Who will want to volunteer to go commando siah. Lol.

you'll be surprised. my colleagues/friends' sons chose commando pre-enlistment.

that's why i said earlier now the new gen mindset different from old - my - time... 😆

On 6/21/2025 at 6:05 PM, Atonchia said:

my time got welfare officer (think a CPT) did a short talk during BMT, told us can look for him if got any issue... but heck, that time all just enlisted all kiasi, who dared to go... at the back of our mind was if go liao, later tio marked by instructors, then the 3 mth will be jialat liao...

i went Tekong too. Tough but not as bad as the infamous Gryphon, i supposed. Change parade, all sorts of stand by, all had lah. During the field camp i stepped on a big tree root when running, and sprained my ankle, and was on light duty for a few days.

Never heard of anyone reporting anything, but dunno whether could be we were not privy to any. A year or so later, saw in the local bookshops got one comic book about BMT, and it was actually written by someone who went to the same Alpha coy as i did, cos the names of the instructors were familiar. Now forgot the name of the book already...

On 6/21/2025 at 9:16 PM, Gunzy said:

hmm... i actually can't remember this, but my time only did push up and sit up (1 min each). Didn't have running and pull up - which was mentioned in earlier post - which i think was introduced few yr after my time.

On 6/22/2025 at 11:51 AM, Atrecord said:

my time got welfare officer (think a CPT) did a short talk during BMT, told us can look for him if got any issue... but heck, that time all just enlisted all kiasi, who dared to go... at the back of our mind was if go liao, later tio marked by instructors, then the 3 mth will be jialat liao...

i went Tekong too. Tough but not as bad as the infamous Gryphon, i supposed. Change parade, all sorts of stand by, all had lah. During the field camp i stepped on a big tree root when running, and sprained my ankle, and was on light duty for a few days.

Never heard of anyone reporting anything, but dunno whether could be we were not privy to any. A year or so later, saw in the local bookshops got one comic book about BMT, and it was actually written by someone who went to the same Alpha coy as i did, cos the names of the instructors were familiar. Now forgot the name of the book already...

During our final 24k road march, the Haze level was actually close to 200 psi, but still need to do.... Maybe we were in Tekong so they heck care. 

If it's today's BMT exercise confirm cut. 

At least that guy monetize his BMT memory🤣 by selling books.

Edited by Atonchia

4th Gear

@macrosszero hahaa, still cannot recall, probably cant see him clearly from afar during the tekaning😄

think got another malay pti also quite siao on too

4th Gear
On 6/22/2025 at 11:54 AM, Atrecord said:

hmm... i actually can't remember this, but my time only did push up and sit up (1 min each). Didn't have running and pull up - which was mentioned in earlier post - which i think was introduced few yr after my time.

yep, u are correct, got some other tests also, like balancing test standing tip-toed with eyes closed etc...cant recall all