Insurance mistake

Kungfu

need advice as cause some insurance mistake

agent helped me to source for insurance...so got the lowest quote from hsbc for $xxx, period starts from 14/1/2012

ltr when cleaning my car then discover i had actually extend my insurance with chartis when converting my car to opc so as to renew road tax, cvrs until 3/6/2012

so faster notify the agent.....she then ltr called to say hsbc can cancel the new policy but must charge $50,and they had already deducted the $xxx from my card

sure suck man....kanna $50 for nothing so i propose the following but dun know if hsbc will buy

what i propose is i promise to renew with hsbc when it is finally due to renew my insurance,hence propose to hsbc to retain the $940.24 and use it to renew for 4/6/2012 onwards. need be i can top up or any excess they can use to extend the insurance(i am willing to top up for any extension)

worse case being the total cancellation under bo pian policy and last of renewing under hsbc anymore as far as i am concerned and she being my agent,even if i need pay slightly more to renew elsewhere.

actually from now till 3rd june is 6 months.

u lose $400+ assuming your insurance is $940 like wat u mentioned. if cancel, u lose $50.

i tink i will cancel and take $50 as a lesson learnt.

or try to seek approval to start the insurance from 4th june instead and continue the policy with them?

i dun quite get it.....my extended insurance with chartis till 3/6/2012......any !!!!!....of cse i will claim with chartis

hsbc if ok.....will only starts 4/6/2012......what's the confusion about????

Wat IF 6 mths later, yr HSBC is much more expensive den whichever other quotes received? Den u will still hv to insure at a much higher premium den e $50 charge?

Tink may b neater to cancel HSBC policy + try whether dey can consider waiver as it was a genuine mistake....who wld wan to insure same vehicle under same owner twice?

Just my tots.

Safe ride

i dun quite get it.....my extended insurance with chartis till 3/6/2012......any !!!!!....of cse i will claim with chartis

hsbc if ok.....will only starts 4/6/2012......what's the confusion about????

if got any claim, your premium will be different

HSBC will still charge you be it you will insure with them later or not. Once the insurance carbon note issued out and later cancel, you have to bear the admin charge. No way they will waive you.

i know if got any claim my premium will be different but similar for all insurers.....this i accept of course....so can save $50

what if no claim..........mine OPC seldom used.............so claim very rare...

eh but insurance can cover double period one meh?

coz last time before i sign up for mine, i tried motorboi for online qoutation..but later i signed with another coy..

but subsequently, motorboi ppl called up asking about the qoutation and also asked whether i have signed up already as from her record, they can see my insurance already extended leh..

i not too sure how motorboi knows that i have already signed but if they can find out i believe HSBC should be able to do so too before your agent process for you too ma...

They all have a shared system that lets them see your insurance coverage and claims made before leh.

So how you can get double cover must be due to human mistake.

or cancel your chartis policy early and get back a pro-rate refund of the amount u paid...

then keep the HSBC policy?